We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, but” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel HSM Reina Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel HSM Reina Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel HSM Reina Isabel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Europa 3, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money, but”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rather clean, but too crowded and too many drunk Russians. In general, Arenal is not the best place at Mallorca, especially in a "hot season". Better to choose hotel in other place than Arenal for better value of money and with better conditions at the East side of the island

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected.
With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    35
    30
    31
See reviews for
12
46
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week break to this hotel, and for the money paid, it was OK. Just!
On arrival, I found a dirty towel on the bathroom floor and a used shampoo sachet in the sink. The balcony looked onto the back of the hotel (bins, staff entrance, rubbish strewn all over the ground, etc) and I asked if it was possible to have another room. Ask in the morning I was told. On returning to my room later that evening, I found a very welcome breeze blowing across my balcony, and on enquiring with the guest on the next balcony, was told it's always like this. I decided since I would be spending minimal time in my room, the breeze would be a welcome addition when the heat reached it's height late afternoon. I'm so glad I took this decision after spending most afternoons cooling off on the balcony!
The room itself was nothing special but kept spotlessly clean for the whole week, and provided a welcome sleep each night, with a good shower and piping hot water at all times. Good enough for the price paid.
Only used the dining room for breakfast and 1 dinner and found breakfast to be pretty good, with plenty of choices. Dinner was the usual buffet food, and not very hot, but again, OK for a 2 star hotel. I like to eat out in good restaurants when on holiday, and this one was no different, but if I had to use the restaurant in the hotel for dinner, then I'm sure I would have been happy enough to do so.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, except 1 small guy in reception. No matter what you asked him, or at what time you asked, his reply was always the same. "You have to come here and ask in the morning"! And this was his reply for EVERY question!
Swimming pool was never busy and I always found a chair or a sun lounger at all times.
Good Points.......location (very close to the beaches and numerous bars and restaurants) bus stop outside hotel for Palma. Good sunbathing area by pool with sun the whole day, plenty seating in public areas, clean, cheap.
Poor points.........drinks quality poor for prices paid, sometimes nobody in bar and wait for up to 15 minutes for service, some noise late at night/early in morning from party goers.
Would I use this hotel again? Yes. It's a good, cheap and cheerful base for exploring the island, and using the beaches and numerous bars and restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.
One tip - if you head to the port and go left instead of right, you'll find a small uncrowded beach and further along some rocks for sunbathing and jumping right into the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good location. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have been lucky enough to travel lots and for last minute deal out of UK at 650 pounds was expecting if not the advertised 4 star at least a livable 3 star. Travelled alone for this trip and as such got treated like I had leprosy, the 'room ' seriously must have just given the brooms a vacation because even the cleaners looked alarmed when there was a. Human. Boxed in there combined with a suitcase- there was room for neither! And no air con but you do get the privilege to rent a fan for 20 euro which merely serves the function of a convection oven and. I thus felt like a cooked sausage roll! When I complained about the room the guy said but you are in SINGLE room! I could give this hovel not hotel yet more money to get treated humanely! The food was inedible! One night was enough and I abandoned my precious spending money to move across the road to the beautiful four Star mediteranean bay hotel for 70 euro a nigh-blissful!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected.
We regret your dissatisfaction but the hotel has 2 stars instead of four as you thought.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I travelled to Majorca alone and usually stay on the east coast, but due to the late booking and time of year I found the Reina available. A short 4 night stay. The hotel caters for school groups. I had a basic single room on the top floor, surrounded by rooms full of said school children, ages 12-18? Late night hammering on doors and giggling tipsy youngsters meant little sleep for me.
The room was very basic and smelt of sewage. The tv did not work. Shower head was useless, but plenty of hot water.
The hotel is up a hill and on a hot day it's quite a trek. There is no free wifi, but there is a pc for use 2 euros for 20 minutes. The lifts are something else.
The restaurant is downstairs. The food was excellent (half board). Plenty of choices and hot.
Did not use the pool, too many school children. I used the beach to the left of the marina, small and uncrowded. The resort is not too clean and is geared towards the German tourists. Nightclubs, bars and noisy youngsters at 5am. Will stick to the east coast in future, despite the hour transfer time. Some sites show the hotel looking as if its beach front...it is not.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, the front of the hotel looks over a main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with my mother in August 2011. The hotel itself is actually very decent. Good value for money. But the manager at the reseption is not nice. Don't even lose your time to negotiate smth with her - you will only waist your energy.

Reception assistants and the staff at the restaurant are very helpful

Food is decent

Very loud at night

Close to the beach - 7 min

The beach is amazing!

The rooms differ - at the lower floors the rooms are not very nice – no chairs, lamps, no view. They are usualy given to Russians (like myself:))) . At the higher floors the rooms are much better, with the sea view

I must say that I don't care to much about the hotel. For me it's really important the following things - absence of insects in the room and basic cleanness

This hotel is for unpretentious travellers

Room Tip: he rooms differ - at the lower floors the rooms are not very nice – no chairs, lamps, no view. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almería, Andalucia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I will give a true and accurate account of our short 4 day break. I read many reviews before I booked this hotel. From one persons review we knew that there was a bus from the airport every 30 mins to Playa de Arenal at a cost of 2 euros each, brill, and was so easy, as you come out of arrivals, cross to the taxis area and wait on a number 21 bus to Aranal, (its the last stop) by the tobacconist to get off, easy.
This hotel took us 9 minutes to walk with hand luggage to the hotel, up a bit of a steep hill, nothing un-manageable and quite pleasant. arriving at hotel (daytime) was told by a very nice chap that they was vacating the hotel due to a pipe leak, a taxi arrived with in 5 minutes to take us to an upgraded hotel further down the hill, infact closer to the beach, brill! A nice hotel, The Reina DelMar couldn’t be happier, food adequate, not luxurious, but adequate, salads were wonderful. They ran out of nothing, so no racing to jump queues (as some do).

Nothing more about hotel as it wasn’t the Hotel Reina Isabel. But we would go there again.

Busses on the sea front run every 10 mins or so and very cheap, dont need to take taxis. We went to Palma on the number 15, 1.25 euro each, one way about 20 mins on the bus, if going in the day for the shops, get off at Plaza de espanya, there is a shopping Mall called Calla Mejor there (good if its raining) if you go in the evening for the night life, get off at the next stop, The Cathedral , here there is a very lively area full of bars in little narrow streets, excellent food choices.
You can catch a number 15 to Palma, get off in the Plaze de Espanya, then catch a number 3 bus to Potopi, there is a wonderful marina there and a huge shopping centre, as you get off the bus, 2 mins walk, follow signs for carafor, hey presto a three fllor shopping centre, good on a rainy or cold day and so easy to travel, buses every 20 mins back to Palma.

A really good night out, catch a number 15 bus 1.25 euro each way, get off at Hotel Playa Golf hotel and you are in the German quarter...and boy can they party!!! its a sight to behold...enjoy!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We nearly changed our booking after reading some of the reviews,this is an honest review.When we got the taxi from the airport 20euro, you can get a bus 2euro from the airport,the bus stop is not far from the marina then its a 10 min max walk up a hill to the hotel.We used the bus back to the airport.The bus stop we used was opposite the TABACOS shop on the front. We had a meal in the CHINO SHANGHAI RESTAURANTE very good,ask for the set menu,this is also opposite the bus stop. We then caught the bus which runs every 30 min, 20past and 10 to the hour.Only takes 20 minutes drops you at the terminal.Back to the hotel, when we arrived DAVID was at reception very helpful,after reading reviews I asked for quiet room.He put us on the 9th floor sea view,the room was very clean bed sheets crisp and white.During our 6 night stay our room cleaner kept our room very clean.Although it was hot no air con, we knew this before we booked, we hired a fan from reception 10euro per week good value.When we got back to the room after a day on the beach we would open balcony door and room door the draft soon cooled room.We had no problem sleeping.We took ear plugs after reading some of the reviews we never used them.I am not sure if the hotel have policy of couples and familes in higher floors,on our floor it was all familes and older couples no problems what so ever with noise.The food was also of good standard.The breakfast had cereal, toast ,cheese,meats.eggs etc plenty of choice.and Coffee and fruit juice.Dinner was also good, a seletion of hot and cold.The staff would replace empty dishes straight away.For a 2 star it was very good, the staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel did have young people they were No problem what so ever, we enjoyed our stay.I think you have to remember this is a 2 star hotel not 4 star.We hired a bike from the front, a flat safe cycle path to Palma there is a bike park near Cathedral.You can stop on the way( it takes about 1 hour to get to Palma) there are some lovely bars and coves on the way..A nice evening is catching the beach train from Arenal to Can Pastell (cost 4 euro return) have a drink at Can Pastell then get off the train half way back and take a stroll back and enjoy the street acts.If you want a nice cup of tea the Encant Hotel which is on the front is what you need.The beach in Arenal is fantastic you can swim along the bay and its safe for children.Lots happening all the time I have no problem that the resort is mostly German and Spainish..

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on 9th or 10th floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM CUSTOMER SERVICE at Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad yo know that our Staff has treat you so well and that you liked our good location.

See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel HSM Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HSM Reina Isabel

Address: Avenida Europa 3, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel HSM Reina Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 2* hotel HSM Reina Isabel offers a great location in one of the most popular and lively resorts in Majorca, as well as its good price - quality relation. Friendly and lively atmosphere, its proximity to the beach and water park "Aquacity" (500 m away) and its staff's friendliness are the hotel's biggest advantages. The hotel opens from June to September. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Reina Isabel is situated in El Arenal, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. El Arenal, altogether with Playa de Palma, extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. Its most important features are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (16 km) and the airport (9 km); being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, ideal to go by tourist train, by bike or simply walking. The famous area of "Bierstrasse" with its vibrant nightlife is only 1,5 km away from the hotel. Impressive marine park "Palma Aquarium", one of the biggest in Europe, is situated 4 km away from the hotel. The water park "Aquacity" is situated 500 m away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 7 km away. At its east end there is sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is in front of the hotel. ROOMS: The hotel offers cosy double and single rooms. All of which include a bathroom, telephone, satellite TV and balcony. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The air conditioned restaurant offers in buffet style a big selection of cold and hot dishes, variety of dessert and fruit. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: There is a terrace with a swimming pool for adults, surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service is available at the pool. Air conditioned bar indoors. Spacious and comfortable air conditioned common areas. CHILDREN: Baby cots and high chairs are available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. Safety deposit box to rent (at the reception). WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area, golf courses close by. Live music various times a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel HSM Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel El Arenal
Reina Isabel Hotel El Arenal
Hotel HSM Reina Isabel El Arenal, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel HSM Reina Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.