We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HSM Reina del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HSM Reina del Mar to your Saves list
HSM Reina del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Baleares S/N, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went there with my girlfriend at the end of July. On arrival (took bus 21 for 2.50 each, 20 mins, hotel is about 300m from terminus) were told there was some problem with our room. Were offered different hotel for the night all inclusive and our stay upgraded to full board plus wine and water thrown in. Very nice gesture.

Hotel is older but clean and maintained. Climb from beach is very decent (we're in mid 30's, might talk different in 30 years..). Pool is nice. Food is plenty and good. Noise is problem all over Arenal area, if you like quiet holiday you should choose different area/posher hotel.
Aquapark is mere 10 mins walk which is bonus.

I wouldn't mind to book again if the price is right and I wanted to go to Majorca again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service and our food. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    71
    74
    30
    23
See reviews for
25
104
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stay in Reina del mar in july,and we like it very well.The room was very ok with a big balcony,and we have a room in 9 floor with wiew over the sea.The room was very clean with big mirrordoors.The food was very good and there was plenty of fruits and different bread and cake.The staff was very effective and ther was always food.Every day we go to a nice little beach behind the Nautic club ,we like to take sunbading with the rock.Thursday ther is a big marked uotside the hotel and supermarked with cheap prices.

Room Tip: Higher floors was wery fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice comments and for share your expierences with us. We are glad to know that you liked so much our hotel and specially our good location. We hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and myself booked this hotel last minute. We flew via stanstead which we do quite often only an hours flight from glasgow and works out cheaper.
When we arrived in mallorca my son had already booked the transfers which he didn't realise that we could have got the local bus instead would have been cheaper and quicker. Was pleased to see that it was a mini bus and we didnt have long to wait on the bus before we left for our hotel.
Sometimes you can be waiting on the bus for over an hour for other flights coming in and then your transfer times on top.

We booked the 7th till 14th july
When we arrived at hotel we thought it looked nice, we were given room 817. room was spotless everything you needed.The hotel is on a steep hill down to the beach if you have walking difficulties like i have it would be hard my partner found it hard going so anytime we went out we got a taxi back.

we had booked all inclusive there were only a few people the same the rest were half board so at lunch time there were very few in restaurant. I dont blame them food was awful very little we could eat. When we asked for a snack were told we would have to pay we got them half price but not the point have never had to pay for snacks in all inclusive.

The lifts are needing attention, I got stuck in the lift that goes to the bar on the sunday night. They couldnt get the door open was stuck between floors was really scared. It took a group of germans to eventually get me out.

Not much entertainment an old man playing cds sunday and thursday. Bar empty at night as so few all inclusive. Hotel was very loud with all the young ones coming in from the clubs.

Hotel was lovely and clean and the staff friendly and very overworked.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms which got very hot so found it hard to sleep.

I would not recommend this hotel and we won't be returning.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are glad to know that you liked our staff and our good service.
However, we are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected.
Your opinion about the food and entertainment is very valuable for us, we will try to improve. Thank you.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

When we arrived to the hotel we would been assigned to room 119 and when we asked to top floor to have a chance for sea view, we got it.
Later it turned out even better, since original room would be just above the bar. We had some problems with noisy neighbours at night, in 15 minutes problem was solved.
The breakfast and dinner buffet offers very nice selection of meals,you have to be really picky not to find anything. Kitchen is international with some Spanish influence. The rooms were very clean and even hotel is far from being brand new, things are kept in order. The poolside was nice, it offers 35 beds and few tables, so in peak season could be crowded.
From 12.00 we had sunshine until 20.00 in May. Location is fine - 200-300m from seaside (where there are no showers or toilets), climbing up the hill can be tiring for elder people.
Lot of hotels around and also supermarket, which gives you good prices. On opposite side of street, very cheap car rental. We didn not mind that there is no air conditioning, since we went in May and temperatures were managable.We paid 20 EUR for half board per person, for hostel price, we got really nice hotel experience.
Its not 4-5stars, but those 3 stars are fine enough. For 20EUR we could do even late check-out. We would not mind to stay in HSM hotel again!

There were few small things which did not make us happy. At the breakfast and dinner it was hard to find clean cutlery, especially glass for juices, had to do some cleaning. With change of dishwasher, this could be avoided. Nice staff, nice food, its a shame for the dirty plates, cutlery etc. The balconies are really close to each other, so on day 1 some drunk German woman entertained the floor for whole evening. Also people smoke a lot on balconies and with open windows (no AC) the smoke kept coming into our room, which was bad for non-smokers. The walls are not that sound proof, so you have to have some luck with your neighbours too. When young Germans partied at 3am, I went to reception and they solved the problem quickly, so we could sleep again.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending with x14 are next to elevator and have only one room as neighbour. Rooms x15-21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Firat impressions were good. booked in ok late at night and we were given a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the road. because it was so hot we had to keep the patio door open but their was so much noise from traffic and rowdy youths all night until 6 am. we changed rooms next morning overlooking the pool without any problem. Staff are very accomadating. this room also very hot and noisy but no fault of hotel because right near other hotels and residential area.
Food got better and pool is small but adequate.very close to a nice beach with calm sea,ideal for kids. overall not a good place to stay for a quiet peaceful holiday but fair if you like to party.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Nice Hotel and very low price. We had half board included and it was very nice.
Very kind staff all around.
Close to the beach and supermarket around the corner.
We had view to the pool from second floor, but better view from higher floors.
There is a market on thursdays just around the corner where the supermarket is, and it is very nice to visit and do some shopping.
If you go away from the beach, there is a big square. There is a small kebab house. They make the best chicken in oven. Try it.....

Room Tip: Higher floors, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Sorry for the delay! but please read.

My boyfreind and I spent our first holiday together here at Hotel Reina Del Mar. We had an easy enjoyable stay from 14th September- 21st September 2011. We booked through Easyjet and found a good deal for both of us including flights, transfers, half board. We checked in at our hotel in the morning at 10.00 and were pleasantly surprised that we were able to access our room so early :D Great start! We had a balcony that we kindly requested and a sea view.

Our room was a little different than we had expected but it was very clean, and had all the amenties that we required. We had two single beds altough requested double. I think this is the same everywhere though? wardrobe and chest of draws with a big mirror. Dressing table and tv. The tv only managed to get one english channel and we had no controls but we didnt ask for some and it never bothered us as we were hardly in the room and could use the tv to change channels etc..

The bathroom was small and consisted of a shower in the bath, toilet and sink. The bathroom gets very hot but there is fresh linen everyday and soap, cups, shampoo sachets on arrival! Nice touch.

The balocony was a nice size with a table and two chairs. We had lovely views on level 7 of the sea, pool and bar area.

The only downside's we would like to mention is :

The room had no safe, The safe's are located near to the reception at ground level and has a key. We decided not to hire the safe and hide out valuables around the room. We had no problems with this but its personal choice.

Our room had no fan or fridge. We were pretty sure we would't have a fridge but dissapointed that there was no fan because the nights were hot! * You are able to hire both these items at an additional cost. from memory 20 euros for fan per week. 50 euros for fridge per week. The room also had sliding door, curtains and black out curtains so we managed with the doors open to keep the room as cool as we possibly could.

There was a small amount of noise from local neibours. We did hear some cars during the night including horns as the hotel is located next to a road. We also heard two dogs barking a few times during the night from local flats and appartments. and the bins being emptied at 1 am one night. To be honest these things didnt effect us and had no impact on our holiday but we could understand how this may irritate some people.
The hotel facilities were as expected, computer and internet facilities, lovely reception area and lounge. Good sized pool and bar area with a disco some nights. The dining room offered a good selection of food choices for morning and evening meals. Including breads, cakes, fruits, meats and veg options. hot drinks and juices available in the morning but additonal cost for evening drinks. Overall we were happy with the food. You get what you pay for and we considered the food and hotel as we expected. The dining room had lots of tables and was always clean with waiter/waitres's present.

The hotel is located opposite a supermarket! a five minute walk down the hill to the beach and shops. Upon the strip/beach front there are lots of bars, resturants and shops offering a wide selection.

We read lots of reviews once we had booked about the staff at this hotel. Everyone we met were very freindly and willing to help. In particular Suzanna stood out to us. She was always smiling and willing to chat to us. On several occasions we asked her to reccomend places to visit and directions etc.. We were very impressed. Suzanna is able to talk english and spanish and remembered our room number- Again a nice touch.

We took advantage of out time here in S' Arenal and explored the local area.
We visited the Water Park - ten minute walk, we hired bikes for 7 euros for the day per bike and cycled to Palma. A beautiful ride with lots to see along the way. We went on boat excursion for 2 hours which was an amaizing experince. Located on the beach frount and at 20 euros the boat had a bar which you paid extra, music and the chance to snorkel half way during the boat trip. There was a good market outside the hotel one of the days and lots to see just a short walk away. A short bus ride away is the Aquarium- worth visiting for a few hours but we had seen enough very soon. ** Lots of vouchers around for discounts- we found 5 euros off on the back of a map which we used to discount our two visits to the water park.

We particularly enjoyed walking to The Beach Club where we were able to play mini golf, listen to live music and enjoy the atmosphere.

We spoke to several couples and it is deff work looking for the cheapest deals often in Lastminute.com Eastjet.com etc.. as the prices differed a fair amount. Half board was great because we had our base for am and pm meals but we felt we would have been tyed down if we had full board. We also paid 20 euros for layte check out as we had a night flight back home. This is something we would deff reccomend we were able to enjoy the last day of our holiday and keep our luggage safely in our room. ( a few times we past the luggage room downstairs and the door was open)


All in all we had a really plesant stay here at Hotel del Mar in S' Arenal and would strongly reccomend this hotel and area for a relaxing cheap holiday!! Thank you for a lovely holiday

Kelly Oxfordshire Sept 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, CUSTOMER SERVICE at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel . See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HSM Reina del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Reina del Mar

Address: C/ Baleares S/N, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Reina del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel HSM Reina del Mar offers good quality facilities and service, as well as a lively and cheerful atmosphere. In the summer, it is popular among young people, who choose this hotel for its good price - quality relation, for being situated close to leisure area and attractive nightlife, and also for its proximity to the beach (300 m). The hotel opens from February to November. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Reina del Mar is situated in El Arenal, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. El Arenal, altogether with Playa de Palma, extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. Its most important features are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (16 km) and the airport (9 km); being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, is ideal to go by tourist train, by bike or simply walking. The famous area of "Bierstrasse" with its vibrant nightlife is only 1,5 km away from the hotel. Impressive marine park "Palma Aquarium", one of the biggest in Europe, is situated 4 km away from the hotel. The water park "Aquacity" is situated 700 m away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 7 km away. At its east end there is sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is only 200 m away from the hotel. ROOMS: The hotel offers comfortable double and single rooms decorated with bright and lively colours. All of the rooms include a bathroom, telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and balcony. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board meal packages. The air conditioned restaurant offers in buffet style a big selection of hot and cold dishes, a variety of dessert and fruit. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: There is a terrace with a swimming pool for adults, that includes a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service is available at the pool. Air conditioned bar indoors. Spacious and comfortable air conditioned common areas. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. Also baby cots and high chairs are available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. Safety deposit box to rent (at the reception). WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area, golf courses close by. Live music various times a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HSM Reina del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Del Mar Hotel
Reina Del Mar El Arenal
HSM Reina Del Mar El Arenal, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HSM Reina del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.