We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vistabella

Save Saved
You added Vistabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vistabella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Diaz Pacheco 26, Cala anyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Roses
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice room, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vistabella. Since we were traveling with our 15 month old daughter, we elected to stay in a oceanfront suite, so as to have a separate sitting area for us when the baby was sleeping. Overall, the suite was spacious, with a small kitchenette in the living room portion, and a large bathroom. The rooms are a bit dated, and from our experience, star ratings in Spain sometimes correspond to the size of rooms in a hotel rather than quality per se. That being said, there was a wonderful view of the ocean from our balcony, and we spent several nights sipping wine and watching the moonlight shining down on the ocean. There are at least 3 restaurants, although some close on random days. We only ate at the Tapas restaurant which was generally ok, but nothing special. There is a small beach, but while the water is calm, it is rocky in the ocean, and a bit difficult to navigate in bare feet. Having a car is a must in my opinion, partly because it is an almost 2 hour drive to Costa Brava from Spain, and also because the hotel is a decent distance from the downtown portion of Roses where the restaurants can be found. We also found time to take a day trip to a beach town in south France (1 hour trip). Fortunately, valet parking at the hotel is included for free, as is WiFi (although it is quite slow). If you are looking for a better beach experience, I would suggest trying the Roses beach near downtown which has calm waters as well, but less rocks. The included breakfast buffet had a large variety and good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear "John P",

We thank you for reviewing our property and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We would like to inform you that we have a total of 8 different room categories to choose, which sometimes makes it difficult to choose the right option for your stay. The rooms are mainly divided into the traditional Mediterranean style rooms and the Modern style rooms.

Room prices vary a lot depending on the season, July and August being the peak season.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future; maybe you can try our Modern (renovated) rooms, which we believe will make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    26
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
111
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's clearly the best located hotel in Roses, with a stunning view from the terrace, and direct access to the see.
However the rooms are very disappointing with almost no furniture and poor lighting, especially the ones that are facing the parking and don't have see view. They are not worthy of a 5 stars hotel, and the overall hotel facilities were a little bit weak too when i stayed in May 2012.
The food at the Els Brancs restaurant is brilliant though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear "Alexis M",

We thank you for reviewing our property and enjoying partly your stay with us.
We would like to inform you that we have a total of 8 different room categories to choose. The rooms are divided into the traditional Mediterranean style and the Modern style rooms.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella, maybe you can try our Modern (renovated) rooms, which we believe will satisfy you better.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Hotel Vistabella recently. We were two adults and three children and we took two rooms. The hotel has a spectacular setting overlooking the sea, with steps down to a small beach.
Our only reservation about this hotel is that the rooms are not 5-star standard. The rooms were spotless and well equipped, but they were on the small side, and the furniture was cheap-ish. We paid over Euro1000 for two rooms for two nights (bed and breakfast). This is not cheap, and for this price I expected a better standard of room.
As I said, the location was spectacular, and the staff of the hotel are both efficient and courteous - they certainly d offer 5-star service. There is a Michelin-starred restaurant in the hotel, but we preferred to go out. Breakfast was very good, and we also ate in the tapas bar which was also worthwhile.
All told it was a very enjoyable stay and family-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear "John P",

We thank you for your kind word about our property we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Vistabella.
About the rooms, we inform you that we are renovating them step by step and therefore invite you try out our modern style rooms on a future visit. We inform you that some customers do prefer the Mediterranean style over the Modern style depending on their preferences.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

some rooms are dated - from 1980's decor or so. Gorgeous views of Med. Modern tub, spa was delightful. Enjoyed champagne on balcony with delicious fruit plate (uncut - so needed better knife).

No blackout shades if you don't like morning sun

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear “stephaniep7856”

We thank you for your kind words about our property.

We would also like to inform you that at the hotel we have a total of 4 restaurants with different cuisine styles. First of all, our Michelin starred restaurant “els Brancs” which offers you a creative cuisine of Catalan inspiration. Then our “Balcó de mar” which is a Mediterranean restaurant specialized in fish and crustacean. Our 3rd restaurant “La Tapa” is our typical Spanish tapas restaurant, and lastly our beach club “el Pirata” located right by the sea (open from mid-June until mid-September).
In every room we do have sunshades on the terraces in order to protect you from the sun whenever needed. On the main terrace of the hotel we also have “sail” sunshades covering the sunbeds, we believe you stayed during the exact two days were they were getting fixed due to the strong winds of the days before. We apologize for that inconvenience if it was the case.
Regarding our rooms we inform you that we do have some rooms with Mediterranean style and some of a modern deco.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved our stay and the setting at Vistabella. The hotel is located on a waterfront location a few minutes drive to Roses. There is small beach with clear aquamarine water a few steps down from the hotel terrace. The staff is exceptional: hospitable , friendly and efficient. We booked a renovated room with a view. Spacious, very zen and sleek design with quality finishes. Definitely worth the extra money as the older rooms are furnished in a very dated style. The breakfast buffet was excellent , the highlight for me were the beautiful fresh fruits , and good choices for quality breads and jams. We used the fitness room , the equipment is a bit old but adequate and better than not having any gym facility.
The hotel offers comfortable outdoor lounges and day beds to relax and enjoy the beautiful sea views. Highly recommend this hotel and will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the renovated rooms with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear "Chantal D",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very charming hotel with wonderful view on the bay. excellent service, and food, friendly staff , beatifull place. very romantic. rooms are big and lovely. we like the furnisher. the stay was very enjoying ...

Room Tip: rooms in front the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear "rosi330",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife had our ten year anniversary last year. This hotel was on our last leg of our European trip before heading back home, and we couldn't ask for more. Beautiful location, excellent service and food, friendly staff and outside of the city centre.
We booked this hotel because of the reviews and they didn't disappoint. If you are looking for an escape from routine this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear "OwenJessBoll",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vistabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistabella

Address: Av. Diaz Pacheco 26, Cala anyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#1 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#5 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vistabella 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vistabella is situated on top of a small cliff in the bay of Roses, between Canyelles and the Bonifaci beach. The last one receives its name from the calm waters that are protected from the “Tramuntana” (strong North wind).The placement is magical, its distance from the city center creates an unthinkable peacefulness during the summer months. It is the ideal hotel for a quick getaway or to spend your holidays. “In Roses the best sunsets of the whole country can be seen…”, wrote Josep Pla, a famous writer. These sunsets together with the spectacular views of the Gulf of Roses award a unique environment.The gastronomy is very privileged in the hotel, with a wide offer, where the client will find different restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vistabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistabella Hotel Roses
Vistabella Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.