We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistabella

Save Saved
You added Vistabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vistabella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Diaz Pacheco 26, Cala anyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Roses
1 review
“Excellent place to escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife had our ten year anniversary last year. This hotel was on our last leg of our European trip before heading back home, and we couldn't ask for more. Beautiful location, excellent service and food, friendly staff and outside of the city centre.
We booked this hotel because of the reviews and they didn't disappoint. If you are looking for an escape from routine this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear "OwenJessBoll",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    26
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
111
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very charming hotel with wonderful view on the bay. Sunset are marvellous. The staff was very careful and helpful. The only thing we were a little disapointed was the room : old furnished and not the value paid except if you get a recently renoved one which is perfect.
Meanwhile, this stay was very enjoying very far from crowded Roses..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vistabella, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear "ToutouneMontpellier",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella and show you our recently renovated rooms of modern style, which we're sure you will prefer.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichy, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful location, excellent food and staff who were always anxious to please.
The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious and you have to remember to take your own face towel and toiletries.
The town of Roses is rather run down so you have to want to enjoy the hotel, its beach and surroundings.
Lovely sea walks along the cliff edge.
Hotel not suitable for handicapped as stairs on all levels.

Room Tip: Must choose a sea facing room but unless you have unlimited funds the suites are rather expensive an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vistabella, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear "Betty L",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
Our apologies and thank you for informing us about the face towel and toiletries, which should be in the room. We will re-check with the housekeeping not to forget.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

On my arrival in Girona I was the victim of a highway robbery that left me with no money, no credit cards, no passport and no phone. The only thing I was left with was the GPS which had, luckily, fallen out of the bag when the bag and my other possessions were stolen. The GPS led me to this wonderful hotel in Roses, Spain where I was given exactly what was needed, a beautiful room, sympathetic ear and helpful advice. The hotel itself is idyllic with amazing views and large, spotless rooms. But it was much more than this, it was the epitome of excellent customer service where each guest is made to feel as if one is a member of the family.

I arrived at the hotel in quite a state and was assisted at the desk by two extremely professional receptionists. On hearing of my ordeal they not only helped me to obtain some cash (before all my credit cards were cancelled), but also arranged to bring in a translator, on a Sunday, to drive me to the police station, sit through a rather lengthy interview and assist with making the report. I don't know what I would have done without her as am unable to speak either Spanish or Catalan. As my visit was for a business meeting, they also made all the necessary calls to postpone the meeting while I made my way to the American Consulate in Barcelona, two hours away. The front of house team treated me with dignity, respect and compassion and because of their hospitality, turned a nightmare situation into a beautiful dream.

After all that happened in Girona, it would be easy to leave Spain with a negative attitude toward the country, but the beauty and intimacy of the hotel, and the lovely staff, left me longing for a return visit. I cannot thank all at the Vistabella enough, for what turned out to be a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vistabella, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear "DrSMK",

We thank you for your kind word about our property. We hope that everything is fine now about the nightmare situation and that you are well. Please do not have negative thoughts about Spain.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've been lucky enough to have traveled to many 'corners of the world' and stayed in some ultrachic, 5 star resorts, etc. We think Vistabella tops our list of Hotel Favorites! We have traveled many times to Spain and this Resort far exceeded our experience for hospitality, great service and natural beauty. The intimate size of the Hotel made our stay unbelievably relaxing as the staff go out of their way to be helpful and gracious. The 4 Restaurants provide any choice of cuisine you might wish with superb food. When enjoying the breakfast buffet on the Balcony - the view of the ocean reminded me of a scene from the movie, 'To Catch a Thief'. Our room was simply heavenly. I could relax in the soaking tub in the bathroom and view the ocean. We relaxed on the lounge beds on the balcony, enjoyed the little cove beach and swam in the Mediterranean. We think this is the perfect hotel for any one traveling to Catalonia and hope everyone is able to experience all the things Hotel Vistabella has to offer. Again, all of the staff went out of their way to be welcoming, friendly and helpful during our visit - a rating of 5+ stars....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vistabella, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear "Natureis4me",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We atayed at Vistabella during July 2012. We booked on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and the hotels on marketing which suggested just what we wanted - relaxing, peaceful and tranquil. Sadly our 4 night stay was far from this - we endured THREE parties during stay. The first was a "blue and white" party we are encouraged to attend. We endured a team of people bustling around us all day making the preparations (actually making us feel in the way) then on attending the party found it was a pushy promotion of very expensive wines and we were clearly not popular for not being prepared to spend lavishly on something we didn't want - there were no complimentary drinks or nibbles, just hard core very loud house music (with a saxaphone player joining in randomly!) - we retreated to our room where even with both sets of doors closed the music was still far too loud to be bearable. The second party wa a private party which comandeered the dining room - fine - we should have booked sooner - but we were woken by fireworks at midnight with no prewarning exploding actually ON our balcony. With no warning this was both frightening and dangerous. The third party was a Piper Heidswick champagne party which attracted a mass of visitors, who drank all afternoon while really loud (house) music blared again and when we sat down to dinner had our starters arrive to the accompaniment of a woman being sick below us, another falling into the sea drunk and splitting open her head, and 10 men on a motorboat moored just off the jetty dropping their shorts to moon everyone before a pole dancer arrived to entertain them - all this to the accompaniment of stacks of jetskis roaring around below us showing off their tricks. We are not killjoys but we really did need some quiet downtime and this was so far from that - such a shame as this is a lovely hotel with a great setting but it does seem to have a huge identity crisis on its hands. We wrote all this down for the hotel and asked it be given to the manager - we remain disappointed that no effort has been made to contact us since to offer any explanation or apology, let alone any suggestion of recompense. We have returned to Scotland almost more tired than when we left - if you want Ibiza style partying, hard sell and non-stop noise you'll be fine here. Breakfast was great & the staff very friendly but unfortunately that's where the compliments end.

Room Tip: Room 114 has lovely views but does, bizzarely have a large arched window beside the bed looking stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistabellaHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vistabella, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear “bluebellbabe”,

Thank you for your recent stay at Vistabella. We deeply regret we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay.
After receiving your letter addressed to the management, the night before your departure, we have taken the necessary steps to analyze the points that did not satisfy you. We have replied to your letter a few days back and should receive it shortly by mail.
We are sorry that exactly on the weekend of your stay there were three different parties happening. On Friday afternoon during summer the hotel organizes the “blue & white” party for the guests to enjoy live chillout music to spend an enjoyable afternoon with the great views from the terrace. We understand that you did not feel comfortable to relax on the beds on the main terrace while the preparations were made, but since it was at one area of the hotel, our staff fell short in recommending you other terraces to enjoy and retreat from the preparations and noise, such as the rooftop terrace. We are sorry you felt that the bar staff was trying to sell you expensive wines, they just failed in being at your service accordingly, since you’re not required to have a drink while being there.
The Champagne party, which happens from 5pm to 8pm on Sundays, at the beach bar, is open to all persons (hotel guests or not), and unfortunately the hotel is unable to restrict their entrance by Spanish law (public ground). We would like to excuse for the behavior of these certain persons, since we are unauthorized to take action outside the hotel area.
The front-desk staff tries to inform guests about these events happening at the hotel, which amount a total of 6 hours per week divided into two afternoons during summer. The rest of the week is quiet and peaceful. We believe we should’ve advised you better.
We take your complaint seriously as to improve our guest satisfaction. Hoping to welcome you another time in the future at Vistabella and better meet your expectations.
Thank you for your time and participation to share your opinions.

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place- the views from anywhere were spectacular. The staff gracious and helpful. The food excellent but pricy. Try to get a deal that includes breakfast or it's 28 e. but acuately worth it!! Hated to leave after our three days. Be sure to catch the walk above the beach north to the next beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear "DrjessB",

We thank you for your kind word about our property.
We would be very happy to welcome you again at Vistabella in the future.

Kind regards,

The Vistabella Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vistabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistabella

Address: Av. Diaz Pacheco 26, Cala anyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#5 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vistabella 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vistabella is situated on top of a small cliff in the bay of Roses, between Canyelles and the Bonifaci beach. The last one receives its name from the calm waters that are protected from the “Tramuntana” (strong North wind).The placement is magical, its distance from the city center creates an unthinkable peacefulness during the summer months. It is the ideal hotel for a quick getaway or to spend your holidays. “In Roses the best sunsets of the whole country can be seen…”, wrote Josep Pla, a famous writer. These sunsets together with the spectacular views of the Gulf of Roses award a unique environment.The gastronomy is very privileged in the hotel, with a wide offer, where the client will find different restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vistabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistabella Hotel Roses
Vistabella Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.