We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position, lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terraza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terraza to your Saves list
Hotel Terraza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de Rhode, 32, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Bedarieux, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent position, lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a seaview room at the Hotel Terraza Spa over Christmas. The room was lovely, modern and clean, on the second floor with a beautiful view of the beach. The bathroom had bath and shower and was up to date and extremely clean. The breakfast buffet was very good with not only the normal pastries, yoghurts and fresh fruit but also cold meats, eggs and cheese, should you want those as well. All the staff were very pleasant and polite. The only slight problem was that the heating was permanently ON, regardless of the thermostat in the room. Apparently, according to the staff, the heating is ON in the winter and the air conditioning is ON in the summer. It was easily remedied by leaving the patio doors to the balcony open all the time. When we booked earlier in the year, we agreed to pay what we thought was actually too high a rate for the room. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the room rate had been dropped and we were billed 50 Euros less per night, so in fact our stay turned out to be much better value than we had expected! We didn't eat in the restaurant because there are so many restaurants locally that we wanted to try several other places. We paid 8 Euros a night extra for our dog and there did appear to be a few dogs staying in the hotel. Apart from the promenade right outside the hotel, we did find several places for dog walking but they were all a short drive away.

Room Tip: We had a seaview double room which had too large singles pushed together. It was on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terraza_webmaster, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terraza, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Google Translation
We thank you the time spend to write your comments / Nous vous agréons le temps dedié à votre commentaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I did not experience any of the 'awful service', nor did I feel that the hotel needed updating, but that could be due to the fact that I had already set my standards on "euro" mode, and was prepared for how different things are compared to the US.
We visited in the height of tourist season (2nd week of August) with 3 kids (ages 5, 3, and 1), so were prepared for crowds, waits and over-worked staff. I still thought the staff did their best, and again, it's Europe so standards of service are different.
We had two sea view rooms, with balconies large enough for 2 chairs and a small table. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The grounds are impeccable: especially nice is the dedicated lounge chair area for hotel guests on the beach side of the promenade...seemed a rare luxury, in comparison to other places to stay. The spa is beautiful (wish I had more time to spend there). The pool in the main area (restaurant and bar tables surround it) is small, and sometimes I felt uncomfortable with the 3 kids there, while other people sat around and ate their lunch, etc.
I thought the breakfast was typical of a European hotel, with lots of fruit, cold meats and cheeses, plenty of bread and pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, cereals.
I wouldn't say that this hotel caters to children, but it certainly accommodated ours, and staff were very helpful in getting us what we needed to make our stay enjoyable.
We were quite pleased with our stay, and would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terraza_webmaster, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terraza, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope see you next time! Thanks for your opinion because we always try to give our clients the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'll spare you the details, but out of 4 hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to Spain and France, this hotel was by far the worst. Service was terrible at both the front desk and especially at the restaurant. Carpet in the hallways leading to the rooms were very dirty/soiled/stained. Not worth the 200+ euros/night we paid for a Junior Suite. Not even worth half that. Checked out after 1 night. Definitely felt like I was treated as inferior because I was an American tourist and not a native Spanish tourist like most of the other guests were. Save yourself the frustrations that come with staying here and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

enjoyed our stay but the price per night B & B is too high. The breakfast was very disappointing and our bathroom was tired and needed upgrading.
Staff very friendly and always courteous. Hotel spotlessly clean. Good location and excellent seaviews. Tapas bar and restaurant also very expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The view from the confort rooms is VERY poor. Was expecting much more.

The spa is nice (very good view) - price not included in all rooms. The fitness is in the basement (no windows), but still OK. The restaurant is very expensive.

Although the location is great, was expecting much more from a relatively expensive 4* hotel on Costa Brava.

Room Tip: don't take confort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

So let's get the bad bits out of the way. The swimming pool is not the biggest and the bed looked comfortable but was very bouncy and not fantastic. That said, this is an excellent hotel run by the same family since 1932. (not the same building of course!) I loved the beachfront location, the breakfast was excellent, hygiene is first class and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people with a passion to serve their clients. The town itself is also interesting and offers a good tourist experience. Muchas gracias a todo en Hotel Terraza y hasta la proxima!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August...we should've stayed for two! We had a glorious lunch on the outside patio, followed by a swim in the Mediterranean on our own walk-out beach. Our water view room had a magnificent view and we took several pictures on the balcony. The room was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, and the town was interesting and fun. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
2.1 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Canyelles Platja
Canyelles Platja
#5 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#8 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#1 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza

Address: Avinguda de Rhode, 32, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#5 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#7 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terraza 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terraza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Hotel Roses
Hotel Terraza Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terraza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.