We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good by US Standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terraza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Terraza to your Saves list
Hotel Terraza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de Rhode, 32, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Central NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good by US Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I did not experience any of the 'awful service', nor did I feel that the hotel needed updating, but that could be due to the fact that I had already set my standards on "euro" mode, and was prepared for how different things are compared to the US.
We visited in the height of tourist season (2nd week of August) with 3 kids (ages 5, 3, and 1), so were prepared for crowds, waits and over-worked staff. I still thought the staff did their best, and again, it's Europe so standards of service are different.
We had two sea view rooms, with balconies large enough for 2 chairs and a small table. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The grounds are impeccable: especially nice is the dedicated lounge chair area for hotel guests on the beach side of the promenade...seemed a rare luxury, in comparison to other places to stay. The spa is beautiful (wish I had more time to spend there). The pool in the main area (restaurant and bar tables surround it) is small, and sometimes I felt uncomfortable with the 3 kids there, while other people sat around and ate their lunch, etc.
I thought the breakfast was typical of a European hotel, with lots of fruit, cold meats and cheeses, plenty of bread and pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, cereals.
I wouldn't say that this hotel caters to children, but it certainly accommodated ours, and staff were very helpful in getting us what we needed to make our stay enjoyable.
We were quite pleased with our stay, and would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terraza_webmaster, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terraza, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope see you next time! Thanks for your opinion because we always try to give our clients the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
83
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'll spare you the details, but out of 4 hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to Spain and France, this hotel was by far the worst. Service was terrible at both the front desk and especially at the restaurant. Carpet in the hallways leading to the rooms were very dirty/soiled/stained. Not worth the 200+ euros/night we paid for a Junior Suite. Not even worth half that. Checked out after 1 night. Definitely felt like I was treated as inferior because I was an American tourist and not a native Spanish tourist like most of the other guests were. Save yourself the frustrations that come with staying here and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

enjoyed our stay but the price per night B & B is too high. The breakfast was very disappointing and our bathroom was tired and needed upgrading.
Staff very friendly and always courteous. Hotel spotlessly clean. Good location and excellent seaviews. Tapas bar and restaurant also very expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The view from the confort rooms is VERY poor. Was expecting much more.

The spa is nice (very good view) - price not included in all rooms. The fitness is in the basement (no windows), but still OK. The restaurant is very expensive.

Although the location is great, was expecting much more from a relatively expensive 4* hotel on Costa Brava.

Room Tip: don't take confort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

So let's get the bad bits out of the way. The swimming pool is not the biggest and the bed looked comfortable but was very bouncy and not fantastic. That said, this is an excellent hotel run by the same family since 1932. (not the same building of course!) I loved the beachfront location, the breakfast was excellent, hygiene is first class and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people with a passion to serve their clients. The town itself is also interesting and offers a good tourist experience. Muchas gracias a todo en Hotel Terraza y hasta la proxima!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August...we should've stayed for two! We had a glorious lunch on the outside patio, followed by a swim in the Mediterranean on our own walk-out beach. Our water view room had a magnificent view and we took several pictures on the balcony. The room was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, and the town was interesting and fun. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The hotel is right on the beach - so views are fabulous. There's an attractive promenade to walk to the town or to Santa Margarida in the opposite direction. Rooms well equipped, beds a little bit firm. Excellent breakfast, lovely staff and dinner good the couple of times we had it., Vert few Brits in Roses - so no English rbeakfast or fish anad chips. Nearby restaurants incredibly cheap - try the Panoramic or Nit I dia - three courses can be as little as 10e and the food is well cooked. Only thing that we did n't lkike was group of Czech children who monopolised the pool with large floating toys and were very loud. There is a spa but it is outrageously expenisve so we did not go in.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza

Address: Avinguda de Rhode, 32, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terraza 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terraza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Hotel Roses
Hotel Terraza Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terraza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.