We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyelles Platja

Save Saved
You added Canyelles Platja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canyelles Platja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Diaz Pacheco, 7-9 | Platja de Canyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 hotels in Roses
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the canyelles platja for four nights when we travelled around Spain this summer. We loved the hotels location and the views were great from our balcony. We booked half board which can be a bit of a gamble with some hotels but the food was good in the evening. The reception bar area was lovely and relaxing although you can wait a bit for a drink. The pool was small but ok for a small hotel, when we stayed there the was quite a few kids splashing around so we used the beach which was lovely. We would return and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
72
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This 3 star hotel has some excellent features, and some disappointing ones! The breakfasts were really good, lots of choice and excellent fruit. They had Nespresso coffee too.
The room was fine but the air con did not work as well as in our 1 star hotel. It is in a lovely situation, on a beautiful cove . All of this area was very busy in July school holiday period, and if you did not get to the beach before 11 am there was little chance of getting a sunbed.
The pool area is very very small and has 8 reclining sunbeds and 3 - 4 parasols. It would be fine for children but too exposed if you were not wanting an audience.

I don't know why some hotels do not have some info on meal times, air con operation, beach charges, etc in each room. It would be very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We booked a sea view, i haven't seen the other non sea view rooms but would definitely book a sea view room again. The balcony was the perfect size for 2 guests. The rooms were quite basic in a way but were done up very nicely, the bed was nice and large and was very comfortable. It was quite noisy in the room sometimes but oddly was never woken up by noise in the night. The restaurant had good food, not the best choice of menu but was good. There isn't a great deal in walking distance but is close to other places by car. The beach is beautiful and the pool looked lovely. We stayed in April, over Easter and didn't pay for the hotel parking as there was always a space on the streets close enough by. The breakfast was also lovely. Would have liked some tea/coffee facilities though ideally. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while working away along the Mediterranean and I loved it. The hotel itself is a little ways outside of Roses which means its a quieter beach, at least towards the off-season. There is a beautiful walkway from Canyelles Petiites into Roses that will take you maybe 30 minutes, but is an easy walk. The lobby was beautiful, we stayed in a mountain view room, so we were looking at some other buildings mostly. The rooms weren't as updated as I would have expected, but were nice and comfortable. The restaurant was good, but a little spendy. All the staff we met was very helpful and nice. There is also a little market next to the hotel which is great for stocking up on some snacks if you are on a budget or want to picnic at the beach.

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms were noisy with some construction going on in town. A beach view might be a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had booked for a room with a mountain view as we were too late with our booking for a sea view.but were given the only room with a double bed on ground floor (back) .the view was of the wall 2 metres from the patio window !! Pretty claustrophobic! Room was pretty basic. However
Location was good. Right in front of the beach in canyelles. If you are happy with the noise of young children early early morning then this family hotel is convenient. You need a car to get around but parking was difficult. But just make sure you pay the top rate for a sea view. Clean with nice staff.

Room Tip: Book early to get a sea view.not worth it otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zambia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a good hotel with nice small beach across the road. I much prefer it to the large blocks of hotels on the main Roses beach but if I went back I would spend a little more and stay in Cadaque. We drove there and it was beautiful, well worth the extra I think. But if you are on a budget this is a good alternative.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was treating some friends to a visit to the Dali Museum in Figueres and home in Port Lligat so it seemed Roses was the best bet for a hotel somewhere between the two. We happened on this one and were thrilled that we did. Away from all the bustling crowds of Roses and the myriad generic restaurants, this little bay is glorious. The hotel is clean, marvellously efficient and every single member of staff, across the board, was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was excellent and the beach bar/beach easily accessible through an underground tunnel. We found a restaurant further up the beach (Restaurant Gua Gua) that served the most delicious fresh fish dishes and again were super friendly with it. If I had to pick one thing to complain about in the hotel it was the internet service; it doesn't work in the rooms, only in the lobby--not the end of the world but it could be if you have to check in with your office or expecting an email! Next to the hotel is a little shop that sells everything you could want, like a mini supermarket, but with fresh baked goods too, foreign newspapers etc. All in all we really loved it and the rates were fantastic for mid-July. We were a singleton and a married couple and this hotel is brilliant for families but we were never bothered by all the children, they all seemed to be having a great time and were probably too exhausted from having fun to be annoying!!

Room Tip: Probably the ocean view rooms to the East are quieter as the Western-most ones are over the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyelles Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyelles Platja

Also Known As:
Canyelles Platja Hotel
Canyelles Platja Roses
Canyelles Platja Hotel Roses
Canyelles Platja Roses, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: Avda. Diaz Pacheco, 7-9 | Platja de Canyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#4 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyelles Platja 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Canyelles Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyelles Platja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.