We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de la Platja n. 2, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Roses
newcastle
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Stayed in this hotel, in a superior room with a great view over the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. The choice for breakfast is amazing from fresh fruit and pastries, cold meats, cheese, every variety of breads to hot dishes, with bacon and eggs.
Evening entertainment consisted of a live band and they also had childrens entertainment during the day. Free parking outside the hotel and plenty of bars and restaurants to try out in the locality. Would recommend a boat trip up to coast to Cadaques which is a a quaint little town. Fabulous scenery en route.
The beach are also has jet skis, and speed boats which can be hired out. Its great to be in a spanish resort which doesnt consist of " full english breakfast and sunday roast"
Good Tapas and paella thats what you go to Spain for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
39
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We stayed in the Superior rooms which were on the front of the hotel
The Santa Margarita beach is fantastic and the hotel has a superb position on it
Our room was at the front of the hotel and had a great view and a nice balcony to sit on
There are a number of decent resturants locally
Breakfast was good including hot eggs and bacon, and a large buffet, fresh and well stocked
Parking outside the hotel is free, easy and plenty of it

It was very hot at night and as the room had NO AIR CON, we had to open the window, but the beach area is noisy

This converted a very pleasant stay into an uncomfortable couple of days
I suggest going there out of season

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, price
  • Disliked — NO AIR CON
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, Devon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Great hotel, right on the beach, near to lots of restaurants. Roses is a bit seaside and not much else, but we were meeting friends nearby, so this was a good place to stay. We had no trouble parking our car directly outside the hotel.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — Slightly noisey if you are on the front
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

This hotel is in a great location - right on the seafront with direct access to a very attractive beach. The covered pool is a bit too public for our liking and the lounges are not large enough for the number of people the hotel can accommodate. We stayed late May and it was full to the seams. We had a superior room which was exactly that. "L" shaped corner balcony on the 5th floor, with privacy and great sea views, simply lovely for a pre dinner drink in the evening. But the restaurant is unspeakable. A rabble descends to queue outside before the doors are opened and then its a seething mass of people raiding the buffet. Tables are squeezed together so tightly I wonder they don't try to double deck! And the food quality is v down market. OK if you enjoyed eating in your school canteen in the 1960's. So by all means select the hotel, but eat there at your peril. There are plenty of eating "places" around and a few restaurants too.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — Restaurant and food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monterrey
Hotel Monterrey
#9 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Victoria
Prestige Victoria
#19 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#8 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#13 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#23 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Avinguda de la Platja n. 2, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecarlo hotel is pleased to welcome you on the border of the Rosas Bay, on the northern part of the Costa Brava.It is located right on the Santa Margarita beach, with a direct access to the maritime promenade.For you, we emphasized our services. In the Montecarlo Hotel, you will be welcome with a sincere and personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Roses
Hotel Montecarlo Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.