We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quevedo n. 15 | Platja Salatar, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a week touring the Costa Brava. Our first time in Roses, but this hotel was an excellent choice.

The quality and presentation of the public areas are what you would expect from a 4-star hotel. We stayed in a standard room on the 5th floor on the sea-facing side of the hotel and the furniture and fittings were all excellent. The bathroom was especially impressive with a rainfall shower head. Plenty of storage and a 32" LCD TV with three (yes three) English channels!

The balcony was an adequate size with table and two chairs - this side of the hotel gets the sun for most of the day.

The bar service was very good, with waiter service if you required. Our only fault with this hotel is that we did not feel that the restaurant met a 4 star rating. We've stayed in a few 4-star hotels so could compare this to others. The tables were too close together meaning you felt like you were invading the space of nearby tables, and it was difficult to get between tables and chairs when going up to the buffet. The buffet itself was OK, but not spectacular. More like a 3-star than 4-star.

The outdoor area was excellent and we had no problems with getting beds by the pool. There is also a heated indoor pool which was great. There was a really good snack bar near the pool that had a wide selection of snack choices on offer during the day.

The hotel is located back from the beach in a residential area of Roses. The beach is magnificent and there is a promenade that runs all the way from Roses port area through to the marina at Santa Margarita.

Room Tip: The Mediterraneo Park (4-star) has two wings - rooms at the front face the sea. Rooms at the back fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    159
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
163
151
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week as part of a coach group, and had a pleasant stay overall.

The receptionist went out of her way to be helpful, and the staff in the restaurant were hard working, most of them ready with a smile.

The room was a good size, and the bathroom was of very generous proportions. There was an ample supply of toiletries. My room (odd number) was facing the back, overlooking the pool and gardens, towards the mountains (north) and had no sun on the balcony. For the sun, go for even-numbered rooms at the front.

Breakfast was very good - loved the fried eggs, so beautifully cooked - and nicely laid out. Coffee is provided in a flask on the table, and tastes OK. There is the option of using the machines for other types of hot and cold drinks.

The food at dinner was also of a good standard, with plenty of choice. The atmosphere is a bit 'canteenish' and I always had to join a queue for the restaurant.

There were plenty of sunbeds in the pool area, and a bar where snacks are available. There are shaded areas, but no parasols, and judging by the strength of the wind at times, I can understand why. There is a good sized children's pool and play area, a mini-golf course and a place to play football. There is also a small indoor pool, and a tiny sauna which is heated up by request at reception.

The hotel is two or three blocks back from the beach. The resort of Rosas/Roses has a two mile stretch of sandy beach with a marina at the north end. A pleasant stroll can be had along the promenade, with lots of hotels and cafes along the front. The French are the majority holidaymakers here, with the English language relegated to fourth place after Catalan, French and Spanish. The town has a long history, and an authenticity which one doesn't find in purpose built resorts. It is well placed for visits to Barcelona, Figueras and Girona.

Room Tip: For sun on the balcony, go for even-numbered rooms at the front of the hotel (main block). No sun at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We looked for a Spanish resort as far north as possible as we travelled by train in the Eurostar. We found this little gem called Roses and the best hotel there we could see was the Mediterraneo Park. It's a very clean and modern hotel with good food and facilities and the drinks are reasonably priced. It is positioned not too far from the beach, and the beach goes on and on either left or right! The only thing that lets it down is the looky looky men who are trying to sell counterfeit goods, but they do not pester you or pressure sell.
There are lots of really nice restaurants to eat at, although we went HB at the hotel we ate out every lunch and on our last night. It is a Catalan resort so French and Spanish is also spoken, but Catalan is the main language so it can be quite confusing, and not many people speak good English so it makes you practice your language skills, which I enjoyed.
The only thing that let the hotel down was the fact you had to pay for safe hire & pool towel hire, and although they have a sign to discourage people from reserving sunbeds, nobody took any notice so it was if you can't beat them join them, and we were up early reserving beds! They don't tend to have parasols as it can get quite windy so they have wooden pergola's and not really enough of them, so this is the fight in the morning to get some shade.
Air conditioning in room is very good, but fridge not so good. Make sure you buy cold drinks and put them in the fridge, as to but them warm and put them in the fridge to chill can take a good day or two! Complimentary items in the bathroom are very sparse, if you like that sort of thing, but there is a decent hair dryer. There is a flat screen tv showing quite a number of English channels.
Entertainment is ok, but the daytime activities can be a bit loud and irritating if all you want is to chill out
Would possibly stay again, but feel the resort needs a bit if attention, as it is a little scruffy

Room Tip: Pick the deluxe double room, it's bigger and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our first visit to The Costa Brava and everything about it was beautiful, including the Hotel Mediterraneo Park! Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated with all of the modern amenities, even a flat screen TV. The bathroom was also large and very well appointed, we loved the shower! Very comfortable bed and bedding. Our room had a large balcony with seating area and a view of the pool area with the mountains behind (see photo). Location was perfect, just a block from the beach. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The maître d’ and restaurant staff were superb, always making sure we had everything we needed. The food was beautiful to look at and delicious! It was fun to try new things, we probably went back for seconds more often than we should have ;)
The front desk staff were always courteous and helpful and spoke excellent English. They were often busy, but never too busy to help us, we truly were made to feel welcome.
A lot of the guests we spoke to have been coming back to Hotel Mediterraneo for years and knew many of the hotel staff by name. Returning guests and happy staff – a sign of a very well managed hotel! Thank you for making our vacation so special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent five nights during our 25'th anniversary and was very satisfied. Clean and modern room and very helpful staff. They did a really good job at making it a special occasion for us. The breakfast is with everything you can ask for. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaigne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful two nights here driving from southern France. Busy place but food great and atmosphere good. Hotel at the quiet end of the promanade and just one road back from the beach. Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford,England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Annexe of this hotel - just over the road from main building and part of the same.
It was all very good from the moment we checked in. This well run hotel deserves its popularity. The room was spacious with a large balcony. The food was plentiful, varied and nicely presented in the pleasant and well organised restaurant. However,we did think that the tables were a little too close together. We were able to park the car with ease in the adjacent side roads. We came to the area to enjoy the walks and found the coastal paths very beautiful indeed. A very enjoyable 5 night stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Quevedo n. 15 | Platja Salatar, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#2 Family Hotel in Roses
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roses
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotels Mediterraneo wish to offer our guests the highest quality relaxation and entertainment during their stay at the Costa Brava. The hotel complex consists of two buildings, to suit the preferences of all the guests. The 4 star Hotels Mediterraneo Park offers 93 completely new, high standard superior rooms; 105 modern standard rooms as well as 7 spacious and comfortable family rooms in which to spend a pleasant stay with your children.The Hotel Mediterraneo is situated just in front of Hotels Mediterraneo Park. It has 44 rooms is of 3 stars standard and shares all facilities of Hotels Mediterraneo Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Park Hotel
Mediterraneo Park Roses
Hotel Mediterraneo Park And Hotel Mediterraneo Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.