We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy in Costa brava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carmen Hotel to your Saves list
Carmen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinitat 41, 17480 Roses, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy in Costa brava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel Carmen comes highly recommended for it,s efficient staff( manager Rudi and articulate Chef Arthur who speaks 5 languages and does great eggs for breakfast). The location is terrifc and we luckily had glimpses of the Mediterranean from our terrace.Car parking is secure and very near by.We were also able to do some clothes washing in the hostel laundry next door( for a small fee) .
Only 60 metres to the beach and it,s cool clear waters and loads of shops and gelaterias to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    53
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great rooms, good location, friendly staff with a great value breakfast making a good value deal. Local shops and places to eat were close by and also good value.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a large balcony........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Breakfast good, had clean room with large balcony.friendly helpfully staff would use again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is in the old town, near the waterfront. It has a lockable garage nearby at EUR 10 per night (you need to book this in advance). The bed was very comfortable and the modern bathroom had high quality taps and fittiings. All spotlessly clean, with a good breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Carmen Hotel is beautiful and very well decorated throughout. Our room 104 was average sized, with a large comfortable queen bed and a modern glass bathroom. The window looked onto the cute interior patio/garden.

But upon entering our room, we were greeted by a blast of warm air. Nothing a little A/C couldn't fix, or so I thought. I turned on the air conditioning, but it didn't seem to do much even though the room is not very large. Finally I opened both windows completely and left them open. We had to sleep that way the entire night and while I appreciate a light breeze to sleep, two windows fully open is too much and I'm sure my sore throat would say the same.

Later I read in the welcome pamphlet that the air conditioning is only active from mid-June to September. So I would only recommend going in those months. Upon checkout, I was told that 3 more guests complained of the heat problem that night.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic with strawberries, champagne and lots more. The entire old center of Roses has very narrow streets which can be difficult to drive down, never mind park. Use the free parking on Avinguda Tarragona to avoid hassles.

Room Tip: Room 104 was a furnace without A/C. Maybe a room on a higher floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmenroses, Director General at Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for bringing up this issue. As described by this guest, we had a problem with the temperature of Hotel Carmen on May 5, 2012.

The bathroom towel warmer had been turned up a bit during the month of April due to colder weather than usual for that month. However, in early May although still fresh, the temperatures rose compared to April and we did not react on time to lower the strength of that towel warmer... (which in a small room can heat more than necessary).

From early-mid June until mid-end September we usually operate on cold air mode. But we obviously can control this and for example we had an extremely hot month of March and we switched some days into our summer mode.

We apologize again for the inconviniences caused to our guests on that night. Needless to say, in the future we will be more precise with the regulation of our inhouse temperature to keep achieving optimal sleeping conditions.

Best regards from Roses to all travellers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were looking for a good hotel as a starting point for some excursions in the costa brava region. We booked the junior suite to have some extra luxuries.

The room was spacious with a very nice terrace. I liked the tile floor, as it feels cooler under your feet. The bathroom was very comfortable and nice looking. Also, the available shampoo, soap, shower gel and hydrating gel all smelled really good.

At night, the room was quiet, even with the window opened as the hotel is located in a small street without a lot of bars or shops. The small street is also a minor inconvenience as you cannot park your car in front of the hotel to do some (un)loading. Well you can, but you block the street while doing so. Parking is available from the hotel (paid), but is not next to the hotel. You can also park for free at a 5 minutes walking distance, which is what we did.

The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the chef at breakfast. He was also the one that spoke very well English and French. The other staff spoke English well enough, except for one girl.

The WiFi access was not free, but not expensive either. I only used it for looking up the weather, so I cannot comment on the speed.

Breakfast was very nice, and had more than enough choice. Rolls, toast, bread, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, ... I can also recommend the coffee, which was very good!

All in all, we liked this hotel. The room was modern looking, spacious and quiet, and we very much liked the breakfast!

Room Tip: The junior suite is well worth its money! Especially if you plan on staying longer, so you can enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have just returned from 4 days in Rosas at the Hotel Carmen & were certainly not disappointed, both with the warm welcome & helpfulness of the staff, & the quality of everything that we experienced in the hotel. Bed linen & bathrooms are top quality.
Copious breakfast, which included a cooked option, made a great start to the day. All the advice offered was excellent eg where to eat, visit etc which all added up to a great break away.
Deserves all the good comments & will certainly be returning for another visit this year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
1.8 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
1.6 mi away
Canyelles Platja
Canyelles Platja
#5 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#7 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Almadraba Park Hotel
Almadraba Park Hotel
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Address: Trinitat 41, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#1 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen is a tribute to Carmen & Josep, who first started welcoming travellers in their humble home in the early 1950's. The three buildings that make up the property have been recently refurbished and turned into a contemporary mediterranean hotel with a peaceful and delicate design that evoques those times. The house is located in the center of town among locals and their daily lives, and just 50m from the beach and Roses' magnificent sunset promenade. There are various rooms types available for guests, ranging from large rooms with balconies and terrasses, to smaller ones with windows. What all rooms have in common are great ergonomic mattresses & pillows, WiFi, a laptop sized safe, minibar, satelite TV, plus l'Occitane amenities and a haidryer in the bathroom. All rounded up with a nice breakfast with plenty of local products and freshly made coffee. For travellers arriving by car a garage is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.