We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, brilliant food, horrible room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoposa Niu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hoposa Niu Hotel to your Saves list
Hoposa Niu Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cales Barques 5, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, brilliant food, horrible room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has a stunning beach-side location at the end of a pretty bay with great sandy beach and good snorkelling. The outdoor part of the restaurant has terraced views down across the beach and the food is excellent. Unfortunately, many of the rooms seem to be below standard and we saw many people complaining and asking to be moved. Only a few rooms (upper floor at the front) have lovely balconies and sea views, but we were put in a tiny, cramped and dingy semi-basement on the road side of the building which was clearly a converted store-room. Being below ground level all the rooms were damp with wet patches and even the wooden wardrobe frame was starting to rot. The window was right next to the road at hub-cap height, and every morning we were woken at 6am by delivery trucks or refuse lorries turning and banging around. The room smelt musty and the bathroom fittings were old and shabby. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. As everything else about the hotel was great we decided to stick it out for our four nights, but would only go back if we were promised one of the decent upper floor rooms at the front. Such a shame, but surprisingly it didn't outweigh the positives.

Room Tip: Insist on upper floor rooms at the front with balconies and views. All others are likely to be sub-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked a ten day at Niu, arrived 1pm ,unable to park car anywhere near hotel, my husband had to stay in the car as unable to park, i went to check in which was exhausting as there was a large amount of steps leading down to hotel and then flight of stairs up to reception, i was very unhappy about this as nothing was documented about this in any reviews i read before booking this, my husband does suffer with knee problems i knew he would be unable to stay here for ten days. I went to check in, i was given the keys to room which i was also unhappy with, very smelly!!!!! reported back to reception said we cant stay here, staff very unhelpfull!!!! the key was taken away from us, we were stranded!!!! . Our holiday was from tues 11th sept. to 21st sept ,unfortunately we were unable to find accommadation for the duration of our holiday , so home on the 15th sept.so the motto is dont book hereif steps and stairs are not your thing!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOPOSAND, Gerente at Hoposa Niu Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your inconveniences. At Niu we don’t have or offer parking facilities, the hotel is located on a small cliff in Cala San Vicent as documented in our website. We recommend travelers not to hesitate to let us know in advance when having a special request, this is always helpful and allow us to know and fulfill your expectations. It is very unfortunate that you did not have a great time while vacationing, we apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel has a fabulous location, right by a lovely beach. Breakfast is served on the terrace and was a great way to start the day - not just for the view but also a plentiful buffet.

We booked last minute and so weren't given the option of a sea view room. Our room (121) was in the annexe building with no view. It was clean and the bed was comfy - but the room was small, only space for one bedside table and a tiny bathroom and shower. There is a safe but you have to pay a daily fee to use which seems an outdated concept.

We would return for the location - but would make sure we could book into a nicer room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Old four star hotel with sea view rooms that are perfect for a relaxing stay.
Great Wi-Fi. Situated on a beach with a reef that can be explored.
Wonderful restaurant with fantastic friendly staff and great food :)

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic but great shower and breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOPOSAHOTELS, Gerente at Hoposa Niu Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
On behalf of our staff and management we would like to thank you for reviewing Hotel Niu. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Hoposa Niu Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Niu has one of the best restaurants in the Pollensa area. They have superb fresh fish, straight from the fisherman, lovely local wines and a Great terrace overlooking Cala Barques. The service is friendly and efficient. A recent remodelling makes it fresh.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family stayed at the Niu for one weke this August. The location of this small and friendly hotel is superb, just feet from the lovely small cove it overlooks. However, our stay got off to a bad start, when we got there one of the 2 rooms we had booked was unavailable due to plumbing problems. We were offered a room for the first night at the Niu's sister hotel in Playa de Pollensa. This made for a poor start for our holiday as it was about 7 km away from our daughters, so on our first night we were commuting for our meal. We were given a complimentary meal the following night in the Niu, but only after I asked for it - I think this should have ben offered. Plumbing issues continued, as later in the week we were without hot water for 2 days - no compensation for this.

However, the were other plus points as well as the location. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent, certainly kept us going till the evening. We ate out eveing meal in the hotel twice, the food was good if not exceptional. this was not a problem for us as we like eating at different places anyway. One of our rooms was superb (room 110) far superior to our daughters which cost the same but was much smaller with a worse view. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Although our room was over the restaurant this was not a problem and noise was minimal.

Were it not for the plumbing problems this would have been a fantastic stay. Perhaps we were just unlucky. We did not miss the lack of a pool as the beach is so close and lounger/parasol hire very cheap. I would definitely stay at the Niu again.

Room Tip: Get rooms 109 or 110 as these have best views and are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two weeks in the Hotel Niu in Cala San Vincente. We had a superb time exploring the Island of Mallorca in our hire car from Gold Car. We only booked three weeks before the holiday so stayed in room 111 - not a balcony room. We had anticipated a poor view or not view at all but were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent view of the beach and sea. The room is directly above the hotel kitchen and you can hear food being prepared until 22:30 at night and from 07:00 in the morning, not too noisy but enough to be noticed if you are a light sleeper. Room 109/110 seemed to be excellent. The staff in the hotel were brilliant and when we were without hot water in our room for two days they did everything they could to try and sort the problem out. The water issue was sorted after the two days. The restaurant in the hotel Niu serves lovely food and is only beaten by the Modesto Restaurant in Cala San Vincente (you will need to prebook the Modesto in high season, also it was clsoed on a Tuesday evening when we were there). The beaches in Cala San Vincente are great, the sandiest being Cala Mollin, just a short walk from the hotel. We walked from Cala San Vincente to Port de Pollenca - well worth it for the views. Port de Pollenca is a lot busier with more bars etc and only a 13 Euro taxi each way (20 minutes) if you want to leave the hire car at home.

You do share the village with two exclusive hotels that are away from the beach as well as two more main stream hotels - including Don Pedro. If evening entertainment for the kids, burger and chips and a nice pint of beer by the beach are your bag, than Don Pedro is for you!

We will definatley go back to Cala San Vincente but not soon enough!

Room Tip: Book with the hotel directly and ask which room you will be allocated. 111 is above the kitchen but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoposa Niu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Niu Hotel

Address: C/ Cales Barques 5, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cala San Vincente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoposa Niu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hoposa Niu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niu Hotel Cala San Vincente
Hotel Niu
Hoposa Niu Hotel Majorca/Cala San Vincente, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoposa Niu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.