We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay --I can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rocamador

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badajoz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Rocamador
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rocamador to your Saves list
Ctra. Nacional Badajoz - Huelva km. 41, 6160 Badajoz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Badajoz
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay --I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent an absolutely marvelous, stress-melting weekend at the Hotel Rocamador, just by the little town of Almendral, in Extremadura. The place is simultaneously breathtakingly beautiful, elegant, and also casual in its feel. Every detail is attended to, beautifully; the grounds are lovingly cultivated ...to look and feel pleasingly wild. The furnishings of the public spaces in the hotel are rustic, whimsical, and again of very high quality (and there are numerous rooms and terraces to explore). The staff is friendly, relaxed-seeming, and yet always at the ready to answer to your every need or want. I can't say enough about the bathroom and the bath/shower --heavenly.

To make a splendid stay even better, it might be a good idea to look through the website for the hotel and observe what it is and what it isn't. It is rustic and remote, made for hikers, readers and writers/artists/photographers. There's no urban life, no nightlife, and the guests wear jeans and sweaters, pretty much keeping to themselves. Also: it might be a good idea to do some grocery shopping before arriving. The offerings at Rocamador tend to extremes: sandwich fare, snacks, or very rich, lavish, "new Spanish cuisine" dinner offerings. I wish I'd thought to bring some fruit and some other items along with me. Also: the place can be challenging to find the first time, and my smart phone did not have helpful coordinates when I tried to use it to get there. Look for the kilometro 41.1 marker and the very discreet exit. If you get to Almendral, you've gone too far.

I hope to return to the Hotel Rocamador again and again --I was there with a friend, but the place is *romantic*! So it bears at least one return visit, probably more (nearby towns such as Jerez de los Caballeros and Zafra make Extremadura a great place to visit).

Room Tip: You might ask if you can have a room overlooking the hills, not the car park --but all the rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarifa, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The situation of the hotel was idyllic and the rooms we stayed in were very comfortable (although rather badly lit). It is a peaceful haven in the middle of the country and we went there because of this and also because the food had been classed as “Gastronomic”.

We arrived in time for lunch but despite the many beautifully shaded terraces there were no facilities for eating al fresco. We either had to eat inside in the depths of the restaurant or in the conservatory that was far too hot to even consider – it was such a shame as it was a lovely spring day. Due to this we decided to go and eat at a local venta in the nearby village which rather defeated the purpose of staying in such a wonderful place.

Come the evening we were then very much looking forward to eating in the hotel restaurant next to the beautiful altar. Sadly we were very much disappointed. The menu was rather limited and expensive for what was actually on offer. My father chose a beef carpaccio with foie which would have been lovely had it not been frozen in the middle. The main courses we chose were not available (there was only one other couple eating) and what we did have was very simple and just served with crisps and a grilled pepper. The food was much more like typical Spanish venta food – not bad but not what we had been led to believe was waiting for us.

We ended up complaining three times about the food and in particular the frozen carpaccio, however the only comment we had was that they were sorry. In the end I had to insist that we wouldn’t pay for the starter. It was clear that we weren’t going to be offered any recompense at all.

All in all it was a real shame particularly as we had taken my parents there as a present to them. The setting and atmosphere were wonderful – shame about the food!

Room Tip: Don't know - only there one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

My first tought was "what an incredible place!". At the enda of the stay my fellings about the hotas changed dramatically "so expensive for the service, facilities and location (in the country but need to take car for absolutelly everything! - not even a 15 walk is possible).

relaxing, but for a full weekend / holiday plan is a litlle bit poor.

regards to all friends of tripadvisor

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco bay area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

What a slice of heaven in the Extremadura region of Spain! My husband and I stayed a glorious week at this 16th century monastery turned 5-star hotel. It's a splendid time to visit, as the tourist season hasn't started and one can enjoy the small towns with the locals. Keep in mind that staying here is a splurge-- we had reserved a superior double at 190 Euros/night (the price for a moderate room). But what a room! #32 had a king-size bed with a sitting area and fireplace; a spacious bathroom with full tub and large deluge shower head. A large armoire for your clothes and plenty of space for toiletries in the bathroom (which I always appreciate). Both rooms had exposed walls throughout and 3 wide windows in the bedroom/sitting area which overlooked the valley and meadows. There is a narrow hallway from the door leading to the bedroom, so it was very quiet. British soaps (even a shaver kit and toothbrush set) and large, absorbant Spanish towels are provided. The hotel has many nooks and crannies for curling up with a good book; there is a salon on the top floor with a good view of the resident stork family on their chimney! A small, outdoor swimming pool with a view of the valley is available for the guests; towels are available at the front desk.

The staff was friendly and professional; very understanding of our destruction of Castillian Spanish! We had 4 breakfasts and 3 dinners during our stay; the food was impeccably prepared and delicious. The main dining room is an enclosed courtyard with natural lighting; another dining room is in the former chapel. There is also dining available on the second floor which overlooks the courtyard. Note that the restaurant is open to the public. Our last meal was their fixed-price 9-course Spring offering; expensive but worth the variety of flavors and visually stunning. The Iberian ham and pork filets are divine!

Room service is available; we tried their cheese plate and it was lovely. Their wine list is very reasonably priced and has local and Rioja regions represented. They also provide laundry service (which is not readily advertised).

We didn't have a problem locating this gem; it's about a 4-hour drive from Madrid. My suggestion would be flying in to Seville or Badajoz, which cuts down on the driving. Do visit the larger cities of Merida and Caceres; we did day-trips to both. And the best thing to do is explore all the roads around Rocamador and say "hi" to the famed pigs of the Region.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante (Spain)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

I've been ther with my wife last easter holidays, we've been in a superior room (nº23) 190 euros per night breakfast not included. The room was close to the reception, noisy and very dark. The breakfast is really expensive, is a menu breakfast and a simpli juice it costs from 3 euros. The hotel is in the middle of the nature, the view is wonderful, but is impossible to do some trecking or to have just a walk. There's only a little road the go to the nationl road where you can have a walk, all around are private zone really closed.

The dinner was good, a little bit expensive, we taste it 1 time, then we've been in other restaurants in Olivenza (very good) and other cities, close to Almendral there's a restaurant for Tapas and Barbecue called "La Fabrica" that is cheap and good. Finally I thinkl that the first problem on this hotel is that the owners are never on spot, and there are many persons coming to stay in this hotel just to say: "Ive been in the hotel of the sister of Miguel Bose".

Good to try, but too expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2004

This 16th century former monastery, now a unique luxury class rural hotel with 31 guest rooms and an outstanding restaurant serving exceptional local cuisine, can be found just off the highway at Km marker 41, a short distance down the road from the village of Almendral and a short drive south of Mérida. It is an extremely quiet location in the countryside, the perfect get-a-way and a destination for many of those in the know from Madrid and Sevilla. Owned by Spanish actor Carlos Tristancho and his wife Lucía Dominguín, the daughter of renowned matador Luis Maguel Dominguín, the Rocamador offers a level of service unsurpassed. We stopped by to check it out and have lunch on the 27th of March, not really knowing what to expect, but where immediately impressed with everything we experienced. The staff is outstanding and the lunch was on a par with the best nuevo regional cuisine Extremadura and the Basque Country have to offer, especially when you consider that the chefs (a husband and wife team) got their training at Arzak in Donostia-San Sebastian.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2004

I've been to many five stars around the world, and Rocamador was one of the most divine experiences. The room was cosy, bathtub huge, the bed gigantic and the countryside around it beautiful. The restaurant in the hotel is Michelin starred and yet they had a wine list that included dozens of bottles for less than twenty euros. One word of caution, as they seem to make little attempt to advertise, it's very difficult to find unless you pay very careful attention to their directions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rocamador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamador

Address: Ctra. Nacional Badajoz - Huelva km. 41, 6160 Badajoz, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Badajoz
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Badajoz
Also Known As:
Rocamador Hotel Badajoz
Hotel Rocamador Badajoz, Spain - Extremadura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rocamador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;