We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ AND DECIDE FOR YOURSELF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Horizonte Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fustes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aparthotel Horizonte Bay
Save
You added Aparthotel Horizonte Bay to your Saves list
C/. Isla de Lobos s/n | Costa Antigua, 35610 Fustes, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly La Piramide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fustes
Newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“READ AND DECIDE FOR YOURSELF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Well i I have mant times thought about submitting my comments on various holidays but never got around to it,but our recent trip has prompted me so here goes

We booked this holiday pretty much last moment, just me and the mrs, no kids thats a first.We arrived 8pm and were directed to our room. We dropped our bags so we could make dinner "wish we hadnt botherd" the food that 1st night was awful. But we said it was late and things could only improve WRONG! Next mornind sun shining breakfast the best meal of the stay.
Positives all rooms overlook the pool so do not pay extra some people were charged £50, the rooms were spacious for two of us but no aircon,the pool area is nice along with the pool bar which closes at 5pm.
Negatives this hotel has only just reopened it was formeley the piramede and has mininum staffing levels. The food in a word disgusting warm never hot and various people were ill.the entertainment when available started after the all incl had stopped at 10pm The location isolated 40 mins walk to town across derelict building sites that ceased 5 years ago , a taxi is 4 euroes. Beware of yellow feet no this is not a disease the pool area used to be green but has been repainted yellow this rubs off on your feet hence the reason they do not wash the pool area down for fear that it will end up in the pool. The pool bar does burgers and hot dogs for 1 hour only 1 per person make the most of this as this is the most edible food of the day beware the queues.. We met some lovely people and formed our own entertainment this made our holiday enjoyable laughing at our predicaments. We also suprise suprise ate out a lot in some lovely restaurants The El Patio very good with entertainment. hi too all the escapees from stalag horizonte. If you like us were there for a cheap week of sun then enjoy but go in mind that you will eat out in the evenings. Kids entertainment is nil the best was a parrot show one afternoon . Karioke night has a selection of about 40 songs on 1 dvd we had a laugh that night.Bearing in mind i have always read trip advisor and comments like for the money you pay dont expect 5* Well just dont expect sorry if i have painted a bad picture but iam being honest. When we booked there where no reviews so hope this helps. P.S dont book transfers its 12 euro by taxi again some people where charged £40 each!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    47
    42
    56
See reviews for
44
106
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
neza1306
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have just come back from 2 weeks stay @ Horizonte Bay, We pulled up here, i panicked i thought oh my god where on earth was we, once we arrived we was pleasantly surprised after getting over the shock, we was met by a rude manager (old man) he told us where our rooms was and left us to it, with the old manager very rude! the pool area is lovely (freezing cold water) we met this really strange man another guest (Rambo pmsl) he kept us very well entertained while he was there, this is NOT a 5 star hotel this is a 3 star, the hotel had been shut for over year, it has been open for 9 weeks now, there is a new manager Fernando who is making changes for the better there if you had any problems go to him, the cleaning wasnt the best for the first week we got there, but they left and they employed some new ones they have 5 star cleaning this hotel within the next 6 months will be a lot better me and husband met some lovely people here, We was self catering there are english irish, pizza and other food places walking distant from this hotel the next road, we had a lovely time here and we are booking up to come back for xmas, hope this review helps, THANK YOU FERNANDO, BAR STAFF (POOL BAR) & the ENTERTAINMENT MAN. WE REALLY DID HAVE A BRILLIANT TIME HOW DID I FORGET THANX YOU TO MARIO (security Guard) SEE YOU ALL SOON.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Myself and boyfriend stayed here from the 10th July 2011 for a week.
Upon arrival the hotel itself is nice enough and the reception guy is very friendly. The rooms are very basic but the pool area is very clean.
On the first day (we arrived around 9pm) we found out that the hotel had actually been shut down for a number of months prior to re-opening as Horizonte Bay. Also that it had only been open a few weeks. They are still experiencing all the teething problems you would expect of a new hotel. We booked through teletext and was told it was a 3* but at the minute it is very much a 2*. the food was pretty bad all week. The choices were very limited and with no display cards to tell you what it was proved quite difficult to identify some times. Towards the end of the holiday the food did get better and on the last day we had the best food we had had all week.n So it is improving. The hotel's time keeping is not very good. The breakfast is meant to open at 8am but was usually closer to 8.30. The same with lunch, around half an hour late. The pool bar is open from 10 and closes at 6 when the bar in the reception opens. The All Inc stops at 10pm and even when they are late opening will not serve you drinks after this time unless you pay for them!
The town center is about a 35-40minute walk down the promenade overlooking the sea. Its a nice walk but I would recommend doing it early when it isn't as hot. There is a bus stop round the corner from the hotel which takes you into town for less than €2pp.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel until it has been operating for a few more months. We had no maids in to clean our apartment all week. We had to ask for replacement towels and toilets rolls on a few occasions. They also ran out of beer twice in the week we were staying, and had to buy cans from the local spar! The town centre is much nicer and the beach up there is good so if I were to go back to Fuerteventura I would stay in that area. We ended up spending about £100 on food & drink which is disheartening when you pay to go all inclusive. It has the potential to be a good little hotel but it isn't there yet!

Room Tip: we had to check out at 12pm but were given another room to shower and change in free of charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My mom and myself just go back from the lovely island of Fuerteventura. We stayed in Horizonte Bay for two weeks, located in a small -quite desolate- developing (or so they say) town of Nuevo Horizonte. This town is barely even on the map, and we've experienced enough trouble with the buses on the way -back- to the hotel that we decided to walk back to the hotel from Caletta every day. It takes about 45 minutes by foot if you walk the entire way without taking the shortcut, about 30 if you do. We do recommend walking back to the hotel since the buses,. in our experience, were quite alright from the busstop in Nuevo Horizonte, going every half an hour, but the buses back to Nuevo horizonte went once every hour, is you were lucky!

The hotel, although indeed situated int he middle of nowhere (I do believe there is one bar there called Rumours, but we didn't visit this since we had no idea it was there to be honest) is going through a LOT of changed. There used to be quite a different managament. Our receptionist joked that he was like General Franco (very stubborn and unkind I guess), but he left and in his place is a mostly new crew. There is a fantastic Animation Team and the last week we stayed there we had 2 shows at night by the same team: A bird show and a snake show. Also there was a hilarious Karaoke night which was a nice change of the quiet nights we've had at the hotel the first week of our stay. The food changed as well. It's become more varied and tasty. You do need to watch out what you eat however as we've had one piece of raw chicken amidst the well cooked chicken on our plate. fortunately this was just a one-time occurrence. I would not recommend this hotel for vegetarians because there is few choices of salad every night, although this did seem to get better int hr last week of our stay. They added some coal slaw and corn things. The cook there really worked his as off and was on his own for the first few days of our stay. As of late he has been getting some help in the kitchen however, which benefits everyone. (the food on those days is the best, which is understandable)

The pool are is VERY nice and clean. I've not been in there since I am a bit too shy to jump into the hotel pool, but my mother loved taking a swim after we walked back from the beach in Caletta every day. The pool is open from 10 til 6 every day, but if you want to take a dip after 6 nobody will mind. The only time they did mind was when some drunk Scottish tourist jumped in after 1 am. (the place has a guard walking the perimeters ALL night) I know some people who didn't go to the beach every day and didn't like the hotel and especially the food very much, really enjoyed the pool area.

the apartments are built around the pool area and everyone has a shared terrace. This might seem like you wouldn't get a lot of privacy but this isn't really the case. If you're a bit people shy like me I would actually recommend this hotel above all others since it is a lot more quiet and the pool is in fact far less populated.

The all inclusive runs from 10 am til 10 pm and is usually pretty good. Service CAN be slow at times, mostly because they don't have the (fantastic) regular barman on at every hour of every day, so they have the Animation Crew fill in instead. Some of the new staff are very...new...and can be quite frustrating, but thankfully you won't have to deal with them very often as the experiences crew is almost always around.

the rooms get cleaned twice a week and ours was just fine. We did have some ants ont he balcony which in our second week went on to make little babies which got quite frustarting when you wanted to sit out on the balcony. Fortunately we wrre only bothered by them a few times. They WON'T come in if you don't leave old cups with sweet drinks or other food inside the room, so make sure to dispense of everything as often as you can. (rinse out cups with water in the kitchen area, which every room is supplied with, etc) I can't vouch for other rooms. as two of the people we met there had not quite as good an experience. They somehow managed to break the drain in their bathtub but the hotel staff quickly gave them another room, which unfortunately ended up smelling like rotten eggs because of a bad plumbing problem. I'm sure they would have been relocated once again if they had asked, the hotel staff really are very friendly.
The beds aren't very good and there is absolutely no airconditioning. you do have a big window in the bedroom however and I found it almost made up for the lack of airconditioning, except for nights where the wind didn't blow as much as usual.

We loved our holiday and we loved this hotel. every day we went to the beach in Caletta which is quite lovely. I know most people say take a walk to the other beaches situated beyond the first beach you encounter, because they are sandier and easier to walk into, but we found those beaches to be quite boring. We liked the small beach at the harbor, although we have to warn you about the Whale Watching trips advertised int he harbor, as they cost 40 a person, are short, and have a VERY RARE success rate of actually spotting anything other than the odd flying fish. We didn't go on this trip because seeing whales is a very rare occurrance, and the people who offer the trip try to convince you that it is nearly guaranteed, but it's really not. Don't fall for it. I'd love to actually be able to see a whale one day, but it wouldn't be on one of those trips for sure.
Instead, try the excursions you can book from the hotel. You can do some boat excursions which cost the same but last you all day., and have a much larger succes rate of spotting the local marine life.

Beach at Caletta: reccommended
Horizonte bay: Reccomended if you're not a fussy eater, enjoy quiet and some pretty cool animation shows in the evenings (although you shouldn't count on them. We've only had them during our last week) The new staff are simply lovely people.
Bring your own pillow!!

Walk from Nuevo Horizonte to caletta or back: Highly reccommended as it is very beautiful and you should at least try it once. One tip: Either go in the morning or after 5, otherwise it can be very hot. Buy some peanuts and try to find some interested chipmunks (they are the cutest but require some patience. Best chance is in the mornings)
Small tent ont he beach run by a very friendly local: Highly reccommended. Try the garlic bread and the goat cheese with jam and enjoy the music and the atmosphere.
sunbeds + parasols: 1 sunbed costs 3 euros, 2 cost 6 euros and 2 sunbeds with a parasol cost 9 euros. The parasol is very much worth the price as the sun is very strong. Also use a lot of sunscreen. the sunbeds also protect you from the flying sand when the wind gets too strong on some days.

The first beach (the only one we really liked) at the harbor can be quite tricvky to get into when the sea level gets low as there are many rocks. so if you don't have tough feet i'd advice to buy some water shows in the shops. Otherwise we though it was the best beach as it is much less apparent how man-made it is and you can watch novice-surfers get lessons and fall off their boards. The airplanes passing overhead are entertaining for the first couple of days as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted with "welcome to hell" by the resident rambo wannabe! I have to say the resort itself needs some work. But caleta de fuste just up the road is nice. The pool area is one of the nicest pools I have ever been at. Although the water itself could of had icebergs floating on it was that cold. The hotel has recently reopened after being closed for twelve months. Unfortunately you could tell. The place was under staffed and needed work doing. The jacuzzi did not work. The sauna did not work. There is no air conditioning anywhere. The receptionist is very strange and rude lady. Don't dare ask her a question as she is not there to answer questions! On there other hand, the barman, javide, works tirelessly! He is a real asset to the hotel and a good man. He literally works 16 hours a day with no help and is always helpful and pleasant. The food was not great, although we always found something to eat. Just check what your eating is cooked first!
The entertainment was non existent early part of our week. But the last couple of nights had entertainment arranged. Snakes and eagles. Not great I know but kids enjoyed it. Including a big Scottish kid. Hey Kenneth! Ha ha.
All in we met some great people, and had a laugh. The hotel could be so much better, and I think given time it will be. The manager dealt with a lot of complaints over one thing or another. And looked ready to cry at times. But in his fairness he done everything he could to appease people and was trying his best along with the barman, and the rest of staff didn't give two hoofs, including the cleaners who appeared to walk out the morning we where leaving.
As said all in all we had a great time, but do not book this hotel expecting 5 star treatment and food. It's 2 star at best. The drinks are fine. The snacks are fine. The breakfast is good, even proper English sausages on our last day! Lunch was ok and evening meal poor most days.
As said the manager is listening and trying to make things better.
We enjoyed the whole faulty towers aspect of it.
L & R from Liverpool.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed at his resort on a short trip we found the food edible but not much choice, and the poor lady chef worked so hard ad was a very pleasant lady, drinks were fine however the waiting time could be very long due to one person serving and had to do everything fetching and carying the guy who worked on the poolside bar worked so hard and then most nights worked the bar inside, the lady rceptionist had a very strange personality and I found her to be (ignorant0 as she wanted to understand what she wanted to answer to, on the final day of our trip we checked out at noon as requested, and this lady receptionist cut off my partners wrist band and we were not leaving until 7.30pm I have never in all the years doing all inclusive as this happened although we did pay up until leaving, this I will be taking up with travel company, no enertainment at all although this was displayed on the board in the bar excuses every evening as to why no entertainment, bar closed at 10pm and you could not order a couple of drinks only one per person at any time, and one snack between 4&5 this Hotel will not survive unless improvements are made with how it is run it is not a school meant to be a holiday, also surrounding area not good looks like trying to bulid area up but sadly has not happened maybe due to recession who knows, however pool area was really nice and especially in the evening when it was all lit up next resort is very nice caleta de fuste about a thirty miute walk and 5 euro in a taxi, will not be returning felt for people who were on holiday there for a week plus. J Liverpool

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We (finally) arrived at Horizonte Bay after driving round and round in the shuttle as the driver did not know where it was, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist only problem was her english was terrible and she could not answer simple questions, the bar and pool area are beautiful and clean however thats where the praise ends, me and three other guests found a hair in the 'chicken' first night, i showed this to the chef and he said it was from the spinach on my plate have cooked spinach many times never come across a curly black hair before the scariest thing was the chef was bald, food was same as for us as others have said above although got better towards the end of the holiday,the owner was always around and friendly until you were negative then he would avoid and ignore you, bar was always running out of drinks and most of the time there was a long wait, service was awful bar maid spoke awful english and got a bad attitude with you if she did not understand you also she would ignore people who she really copped the hump with and serve everyone else instead, was almost a riot one night when she had lots of people who had been waiting 20mins+ for a drink then started asking for money for the drinks dead on 10. Everywhere was accesible and its a beautiful walk into town also a local strip of bars and resturants, not in the most spectacular spot but the food is good and the people who work/own bars are very friendly and helpful, we got alot of advice from local brits living in the area on what to do/see.
The gym had one machine, was there 2 days before they got the sauna and jacuzzi working, sauna was fine however the jacuzzi was half full and freezing cold.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but thats prob more to do with the other guests rather than the hotel and staff, we werent expecting anything spectacular for what we paid but basic hygiene and manners dont cost a thing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fustes
0.3 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
3.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa
Geranios Suites & Spa
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Horizonte Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Horizonte Bay

Address: C/. Isla de Lobos s/n | Costa Antigua, 35610 Fustes, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly La Piramide)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Fustes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fustes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Horizonte Bay Hotel Fustes
La Piramide Hotel Fustes
La Piramide Fustes
La Piramide Fuerteventura
Aparthotel Horizonte Bay Fuerteventura/Fustes, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Horizonte Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.