We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S/C - great to use as a base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macronissos Vacation Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macronissos Vacation Club to your Saves list
Macronissos Vacation Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“S/C - great to use as a base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here in September with friends. On arrival we were checked in very quickly and given a map with directions to our different apartments which were easy enough to find. Rooms are basic, no hairdryer or iron etc but already knew this due to reading previous reviews. As we went self catering we only used the hotel as a base to rest our weary heads in the evenings. Such a lot to see and do around the area we didn't want to be stuck to the hotel for food etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful when needed. Had a few drinks in the bar area which is right next to the stunning pool. As we went in the off season it was pretty quiet but was also nice as it wasn't overly busy either. Would be a nice place to visit again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    176
    78
    32
    19
See reviews for
161
149
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a great relaxing holiday.had a weeks all inclusive for £720 for 2 in all inclusive on a late deal.
Everything great with very friendly and helpfull staff.Food fine.Entertainment ok.but dont expect luxury or you wiil be disappointed.Close to beach and other bays.Fantastic for relaxing break at a budget price. Well done to Kit,Fran all the staff who work very hard including at the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just came back from macronissos and couldnt complain, absolutely amazing, very clean, staff spoke brilliant english, good food and drinks, we stayed in the bungalows couldnt fault them very clean and spacious. The entertainment was also fab day and night. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bungalow 208 great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked a weeks holiday at the Macronissos village 3 days before we left so read reviews after I had booked it . Booked S/C but upgraded to A/I when we got there and it was well worth the money. Accom very clean ,basic and cleaners came in most days.Swimming pool was spotless and cleaned everyday.Staff really friendly and helpful. Remember this is a 3* hotel so you do get what you pay for but it is an excellent 3* hotel . There are some lovely beaches nearby ,and you can jump on a bus into Ayia Napa for 1.50 euros. WaterPark is only 10 mins away. Would we go again? YES.,infact there were families there who go back every year .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I, both in our early 50's, were looking for a relaxing holiday on a budget and booked a late deal to Macronissos from 18th - 25th Sept 2013. We decided to go AI and paid a little over £800 for the week including flights, transfers etc.
We were pleasantly surprised with just how much we enjoyed ourselves.
In terms of the apartment, whilst it was relatively basic it was extremely clean and comfortable.
The complex was also kept clean & tidy. The staff were all polite, helpful and efficient. The food was above average standard and despite being a "fussy eater" I never went hungry. My only real criticism is that the entertainment was rather dull & repetitive.
We believe we actually got more than we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having read some of the reviews prior to our holiday, we really went to Macronissos with an open mind. Once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with what the complex had to offer:

The food was very much catered for the 'Brits', of an average quality. Meals included an English breakfast every morning with little alternative options. Lunch varied from chicken nuggets and chips to pork belly. Dinner ranged from sweet and sour pork to an assortment of fish, for example. The puddings / desserts were not good quality, most of the time I wasn't too sure what it was nevertheless, we tucked in!

The bar staff were all fluent English, very polite and friendly. Even though we were all inclusive, we received table service while at the bar area and during our meal - faultless.

The accommodation was kept clean and tidy at all times.

The location of the resort was approx a 15 minute gentle stroll to the nearest beach, which was beautiful! Walking distance to the Waterpark which was great fun! Easy access into Ayia Napa via the regular bus service.

One negative is that on our second to last night, I saw 2 rats close to the eatery. They appeared fairly tame, as when I reported it to staff, the rats appeared not to run away as fast as what you would expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After booking this holiday last minute with no research, I was wary after reading some reviews on here. I am used to going on holiday with my family and having our own apartment or villa in some nice places......Macronissos was defiantly not a let down in comparison! Me and my boyfriend payed only £235 each for flights and self catering here and we were so pleased with what we got!

The flights both in and out went early and were absolutely fine!

We arrived at Macronissos and reception were amazingly quick at booking you in and helpful!

We stayed in an apartment and had room 506, quite a distance from reception but not a problem! Top floor views which were lovely over the pool area and could even see the sea in the distance! Basic rooms but very clean and pleasant, plenty of space! Cleaned every day we were there....very good service! New towels most days! Very nice friendly cleaners! One of my only criticisms was that twin beds were used for double rooms pushed together....easily move apart and I nearly disappeared between the two a few times!!!

Air conditioning is an extra cost of €6 a day for a minimum of 5 nights, we didn't get this as we were never back in time to get it as they only offer it until mid afternoon! It was cool enough without though as we slept with windows open...a little noisy from the bar and the road behind but nothing too bad!

We were self catering but ate out every night, the rooms are not designed with self catering in mind, kitchen was tiny and only had two electric rings, a fridge, a toaster and a kettle...great for the basic beans on toast for breakfast but anything more may have been a challenge!

Self catering not a problem though as plenty if nice places to eat nearby aswell as the short bus journey into town giving you hundreds of choices! We ate at a place called Frankies twice....10% off second sitting! Lovely food and great service! The sea bass and the pizzas there are top notch! We also ate at Atlas Italian...amazing food, best meal of the holiday (hint the garlic bread starter should be shared as its like a pizza in itself!) We also at at the bar on site - Macs bar.....great choice of drinks for those paying from the bar aswell as an extensive menu! 5.00 euro for a large breakfast....defiantly worth it!

We heard people complaining about the all inclusive food a few times as it was very basic compared to what came out of the kitchens for those not AI.

Pool area was fantastically clean and tidy, very nice place to sit with plenty of beds! Spent a mix of days around the pool and on the beach....both as pleasant as each other!

Beach about a ten minute walk away.....great beach, clear waters and lovely bay.....but spoilt by the hundreds of sunbeds etc! Not a problem as we just found ourselves a little area by the shore!

Entertainers are very enthusiastic and good at their jobs but terrible choice of entertainments.....is there need for karaoke EVERY night till way past midnight?! Not a problem for us though as we didn't get involved in those aspects and there's no pressure to get involved!

Water park was a ten minute walk to the right of the hotel....well worth a visit....especially the wave pool!

All in all:

Try and get a cheap deal...easily done and well worth it!
Self catering in my opinion was better than AI from what I heard and saw


Would return if had a good deal again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block 400 or 500 if you want to be away from the bar noise but can deal with some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macronissos Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macronissos Vacation Club

Address: 148 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#9 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#30 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macronissos Vacation Club 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Ayia Napa, The Macronissos Village Club is a complete tourist village with a rustic feel. The sweeping sands of Nissi Bay with its wide range of water sports are close by, as are tavernas and a water park. The pulsing nightlife in Ayia Napa can be reached in five minutes by car, or a quick hop on the bus from outside the hotel. Checking in at the lovely reception area, you will receive a warm welcome reflecting the attentive, high standard of service to come. Attractively decorated and well equipped bungalows with spacious terraces are set among extensive gardens filled with palms and beautiful bougainvillea. The gardens create a lush back drop to the large, beautiful swimming pool with children's pool attached. A wealth of facilities and an extensive leisure programme for all ages mean you'll be torn between an energetic time or a chilled out break. So why not have a bit of both? Engage with fellow guests in volleyball, football, tennis, or water polo, to name a few, before surrendering to a dreamy massage. Don't worry about the children; they'll be well taken care of at the Kids' club, with endless all-day fun with new-found friends. Buffet meals are served in the hotel's inviting restaurant, and sandwiches, ice cream and other snacks can be bought from the bar and by the pool. Each evening entertainment is laid on in the form of barbecues, bingo, karaoke and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macronissos Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macronissos Vacation Club Hotel Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macronissos Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.