We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for english” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Famagusta Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Famagusta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Famagusta Hotel
Kryou Nerou Street | P.O. Box 30057, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 104 hotels in Ayia Napa
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not for english”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

we stayed at the new famagusta in 2009 and to be honest it was good then, thats why we booked again for august 2011. what a mistake.
the hotel is still clean like it used to be but they just dont seem interested in catering for english, the hotel is now made up of 92% russian to only 8% english (% from girl on reception).
the bar shuts early, i remember markos used to keep pouring the drinks, not any more
11.30 - 00.00 bar shuts.
catering for mainly russian i think will be new famagustas down fall ( they dont spend money)

conclusion - if you like to mingle with english, stay away
- if you hate ignorant russians, stay away

Room Tip: rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a shambles. To be fair, we did get a cheap deal on this hotel (hence two stars not one) but I really wish we had spent a few more pennies and stayed somewhere else. For a start, we booked a room with self catering facilities. This we did not get. We complained about this at reception and they said "We are sorry but this hotel no longer has any rooms with self catering facilities, it used to but no longer." So we complained to our tour operator and then would you believe it we get a call from reception and guess what, turns out they do still have rooms with kitchenettes! Or at least a very musty, small room next to the cleaners storage closet with faulty very funny smelling air con and a rusty portable hob and a kettle. Oh dear!! terrible room, terrible service. the pool area was quite nice and the hotel was in a good location and cheap, those are the only good things i can say about it. If you are young and on a clubbing holiday u would probably find it ok, i probably would myself at eighteen but if you are over 25 stay away!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we stayed self-catering and as a couple in a studio, which was ample in size & cleaned every day - brilliant. lovely clean well lit walkways, pool area and bar and restaurant were also well cared for. it is a brilliant base and very reasonably priced. no idea about the food as ate out all the time and as the client base is mainly russian i couldn't ask anyone. in all it was a lovely quiet hotel, however i don't know what it would be like later on in the season.

only a small point.....having marble flooring throughout the public areas means that you hear the clip clop of stilettos constantly - may be rubber mats on these areas??

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed for 1 week at the New Famagusta from May 7 2010.
I had always liked the look of the property from previous visits to Ayia Napa and after checking out the reports on Trip Advisor booked the holiday.
The room was great for self catering though in my opinion just big enough for a couple. The bathroom and shower were modern and clean, the beds comfortable and the fridge working beautifully. There is also a TV in the room with an English channel 'BBC News Worldwide 24' and a hairdrier attached to the wall.
The pool area was spotless. Okay, the pool isn't Olympic-sized but I reckon it's one of the best I've used in Ayia Napa self-catering!!
Around the pool I didn't hear a British voice all week. Everyone was Russian! But they were all friendly enough and sooner rather than later we were buying each other beers.
The property is in a good location. A slow ten minute walk to The Square or Nissi Avenue, and there's an inexpensive supermarket just two minutes away from reception - which is incidently very smart and tidy. Here you can hire a safety deposit box for your stay.
The on site restaurant serves meals and snacks which are of a very good standard.
The gym. Superb! 15 Euros for the week and the equipment is top notch, so fitness fanatics looking to keep fit and toned should bring their gym gloves and a sweat towel (compulsory) to wipe down the equipment.
Couldn't fault the New Famagusta. Probably the best self catering I've stayed in Ayia Napa!
There was hardly any clubbers at the start of May so there was no noise at night.
Cheers to the staff & cleaners who really do their best.
Simon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

things we enjoyed about this hotel... pretty pool very clean, lots of sun loungers. good waiter service to pool happy hour 2-4pm 7-10pm. staff helpful so friendly. rooms basic but clean, we stayed in studio appartment small 2 ring hob and small fridge, sink and utensils. luvly indoor pool and excellent gym but this you have to pay for.

down side... we went half board and found hotel breakfast did provide both english and european however evening meals were terrible i am not fussy but struggled at times to find something enjoyable. food was warm never hot only small choice and catered for the russian holiday maker which is who mainly stay at this hotel. english children would not eat the food at this hotel.

we realised after our first sleepless night due to the young people who stay here, shouting and playing loud music until 5am in the morning that this is for the serious clubbing youth due to it's location 5mins walk to the square. we are very liberal and dont mind some noise but it was ridiculous. we didnt complain because at the end of the day we realised that this is a hotel for the young and lively during the summer months so you have to take it as it comes but we would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed here in mid june for 10 days and the hotel was fab.
Maid service every day apart from sunday and clean towels and linen provided. Request for extra pillow was ignored/forgotten three times! never mine rolled up towels did the trick.
Self catering apartment was basic with small electric hob, fridge and little cupboard space, basic kitchen utensils supplied, but we didnt eat in the room much so was ok.
Air con is 20 euros extra but refundable when you leave well worth it when its hot, as we tryed sleeping with patio door open on first night and noise from the restaurant across road did keep us awake. perfect spot, literally ten min walk away from main square so if you wanted a quiet night in you werent disturbed by noise, however one night we were awoken to 3 delightful brits in the pool at 5am shouting england no one seemed to do anything about it.
Pool was fab, clean and plenty of sun loungers, waiter very helpful and happy hour 2 till 4 was great!
Beds werent the most comfortable, quite solid but you get used to it after a while! for a 3 star hotel it was pretty good.
some fab restaurants around the corner (petinos) was fab so friendly and welcoming, food was great.
Lamanaki beach was a 15 min walk from hotel and is quite nice much better than nissi which was dirty n packed!
Makronissos beach was best of all, small, quiet and slightly out the way we had to get taxi there and back, but beautiful crystal waters and gold sands, make sure you have a go at the watersports there.
Hotel is probably more suited to younger people, unless you arent awaken easily, as maybe a couple of nights we were disturbed by loud russians stomping around, but there were plenty of young familys around.
Bear in mind too, if you are going for a friends hols clubbing etc, dont get dragged into all the bars! as this was a nightmare, it was hard to say no and everyone wanted u in their bars and clubs. half the time we wondered if we had a choice!
Fab supermarket next door, with a deli bakery and cake shop, reasonably priced.
Definatly take a trip to water park great fun for all ages just hold on to your bikini tops girls!
Overall a great holiday and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Lovely hotel, polite and pleasant staff.new pool all lights up different colours at night.air con was 6 euros per day was very warm at night.cleaners keep the grounds spotless.hotel lets its self down with its towels, even though they are clean they have staines on and some need replacing.Excellent location, best price supermarkets next door, short walk to beach and bars.most nightlife closed in late october , busiest place was tommys bar for karoake and shows.(drag show was the worst ever! they mimed and were boring).best activity was hiring a buggy(go kart) 50 euros for the day.needed driving licence and explored ayai napa on it.drivers are very polite and considerate.water park wasnt the best we have been to but ok.
Best thing about cyprus were the people, never hasle you and let you chill out.worst thing was a british couple in our hotel arguing ,we could hear them screaming and him slap her.disgusting behaviour wherever you are.
would go back to hotel, but only in winter months.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Famagusta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Famagusta Hotel

Address: Kryou Nerou Street | P.O. Box 30057, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your New Famagusta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Famagusta Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Famagusta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.