We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Kryou Nerou Avenue, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very scenic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week with husband, niece and 3 yr old daughter, great location and nice hotel, we stayed in one of the garden rooms which was close to the pool and had a sea view, the only fault with the room was that the floor was never swept maybe this is hotel policy, the entertainment was great and my daughter loved the kids club and the staff there were excellent, the food was great with plenty of choice, we used the a la carte but didn't think it was up to much, drinks were of good quality. We booked a trip to the pirate ship The Black Pearl this was a fantastic day out would highly recommend. Would like to say a final thank you to all the Thomson team at this hotel they were all great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    177
    57
    24
    8
See reviews for
447
168
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned on 29th april after a great week at the Sungarden. Stayed in a garden bungalow with a fabulous sea view. Perfectly positioned away from main building if you needed a quiet break as we even had a small garden with 2 sunbeds & a brolly. Staff were very friendly & very attentive, well done to the 12 Hungarian trainees. We felt the hotel staff "went the extra mile" to make sure all had a good holiday! The hotel management in particular Nicos was always around to make sure everyone was ok. Well done to all! We will certainly return in the future, ps weather was great as well.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

A large group of us stayed here for my youngest sisters wedding. My husband, I and our 2 daughters chose to pay the extra for a garden suite. This was mainly due to the fact we were travelling during the hottest season and there was large balcony with sun loungers and parasol, to allow us to take the children back to the room during the hottest part of the day.
When we arrived, the hotel had upgraded us to a larger room inside the hotel but as soon as we explained that we would rather sacrifice the extra floor space inside for extra room outside, we were immediately moved. The suite had plenty of room for us. There was kitchen space which was particularly handy as our youngest was still on formula milk. The late fridge was equipped with a bottle of water, soft drinks, a bottle of wine and fresh fruit. The balcony was a big sale for us, it overlooked the sea and a park area for the children to play. There were 2 sun loungers and a table me chairs, we literally had to walk up 3 steps to the pool area. If opting for one of these rooms I would request a sea view. Ours had another room below us but because of the layout we had to walk up a small incline.

The Thomson staff were exceptional and we could not have asked for more from them. I have never been keen on the idea of allowing my kids to go to the children clubs alone, but they met with me, showed me around and they are all qualified to British standards. Our eldest (4yrs old) went during the day for 2 hours and also attended. Hawaii party night whilst we ate in the a la carte restaurant. There wa a small fee of 10euros for the party night but it was well worth the money. Our daughter and the other children in the party loved jumping Jem and the other reps. During the day, at the pool the staff were engaging and encouraging without doing your head in. They played a big part in the atmosphere during the day.

The food in the restaurant was very good compared to previous all inclusive hotels we have stayed in. There was always something to eat and it was regularly changed. The waitress staff were frequent with drinks and very fast at cleaning up. Be sure though to make use of your a la carte visit, the food is lovely and it's setting is just beautiful.

If I had one complain it would be where the entertainment is situated. The old amphitheatre set up wasn't the most child friendly and as a mother travelling with a baby in the pram it was difficult to accommodate them both.

The inside bar showing films was brilliant though, because it allowed both the baby and our eldest to have somewhere comfortable to relax and was somewhere to sit down together.

The on site shop was a little more expensive than the supermarket further down the hill, but it was adequate for emergencies.

On the whole this has to be one of the better all inclusive family hotels we have visited. I would gladly return, the Staff were very helpful and we also hired a pram from reception as our 4 year old become accustomed to climbing in her sisters buggy.

Should also point out that they were very accommodating at the wedding. The setting is beautiful and the manager went above and beyond all of our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nynäshamn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What more can you ask for in service. Very good "all inclusive" food and drinks. The room is what you can expect from this type of hotel. I f you want a quiet place don't accept a room at the activity pool-area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked with Thomson, for a weeks holiday at the Sungarden and it was brilliant.
IMPORTANT. BOOK YOUR HOLIDAY BEGINING THE LAST WEEK OF APRIL IF YOU WANT A CHILLED OUT HOLIDAY BEFORE THE ALL OUT PARTY DRUNKEN MOB HIT AYIA NAPA. the weather is bearable not ridiculously hot and the town is not full of rowdy drunken holiday makers... You get the best of both, good weather and sensible crowd...On the other hand if you are looking for proper madness, wait and book in June.

Let's get the moans out of the way.
Arrival time was fairly late, 11pm, so not much to see on the transfer from Larnaca to the Hotel...40 min drive (it goes quick, don't worry) The coach however was comfortable and the Thomson Rep Nicki was friendly and told us all we needed to know..there is briefing the morning after you arrive so you are in good hands.
The flight back was also at 11pm at night yet check out was at Noon!!! Fortunately Thomson have this covered and you still have full use of all hotel facilities,food,drinks,etc until the coach picks you up for the transfer back to Larnaca airport.
That is it for moans.

The REST is absolutely brilliant...Food, drinks,facilities..the staff and management were genuine and made our stay very comfortable and memorable.Once again I have to mention the staff all over the hotel were very nice people and interacting with them was quite an experience I hope to meet them next year if they have not moved on.
We stayed in the junior suite sea view..it is large, clean,huge balcony,generally well presented and offers an amazing view (even has a tiny kitchen hidden behind what looks like a cupboard..very clever)....we will book this every time!!!

Good location 10 mins walk all downhill from the town centre, loads of tourist type shops, restaurants, bars, pubs, clubs, ice cream. Plenty of car, bicycle,moped, motor scooter, buggy and quad bike hire shops.
There is something for everyone.
AMAZING ....TEN OUT OF TEN .....ALREADY LOOKING AT DEALS FOR NEXT YEAR!!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I'll be giving a very honest and somewhat long review, covering everything I feel is relevant :-)
I just got back from a weeks holiday with my wife, my brother and sister in law , where we stayed at this brilliant hotel.
Upon arrival at the airport, the Thompson staff we're very helpful and receptive. our Rep on the coach, Niki, was very cheerful and informative.
At the hotel, we had Craig at the check in desk who was a great guy and very funny. He got everyone checked in and then escorted to their rooms.
We had a small mishap where we weren't put in the rooms we requested, but this was sorted out immediately by the ever helpful and very pleasant hotel manager, Nicos.
We had the junior suite bungalow with sea view. Very spacious, clean, tidy and everything you would need from a hotel room.(highly recommend it)
Being a late night arrival, we didn't see much of the view , but come morning and we opened up that curtain...the view was fantastic!
Ok, let's get to the break down:-
Staff: I'm starting with this as I believe the staff make or break a place and these guys definitely MADE this place!!
All the members of staff we're brilliant. Very friendly and very helpful.

Food:
The food is great. Lots of choice so there's something for everyone. From breakfast to lunch and dinner, we had no complaints whatsoever.

Drinks:
Good variety of drinks on the all inclusive menu. Kept us going the whole holiday ;-) these we're available until 6pm from the pool bars and 11pm from the main bar.

Pools:
There are four pools at the hotel. 3 outdoor, including a lovely infinity pool with a stunning view of the sea, and one indoor pool.

Sun beds:
Plenty of these around and being that the hotel has large grounds, there's no shortage of places to relax and enjoy the sun.

Activities:
There were activities organised by Thompson running at various points of the day, ranging from pool games to quizzes and some evening entertainment.

Facilities:
Basketball court, football pitch, beach volleyball, fully equipped gym, pool tables, retro video games arcade.

Location:
The hotel is in a good location, lovely views all around the hotel. It's a 20 minute walk to the main town square where all the shops, restaurants and nightlife are.
It's a short walk to the beach which stretches all the way down towards the harbour.

There are a range of excursions available at the hotels, or you can venture out with one of the local tour companies too.
Transportation: loads of car rental, scooters, buggies and quad bikes around.

To sum it up, it was a fantastic holiday and we'll definitely be coming back to this hotel again!
A special thank you to the following members of staff who helped make it even better by being so friendly and helpful throughout our stay:
Mr Nicos Sofocleous the manager.
Andreas Papaeleftheriou the Maitre d'hôtel
Craig and Phil on reception.
Restaurant and bar staff:
Oxana, Lenka (main bar), Lenka (restaurant and pool bar) Robert, Stanimir and Cintia.
Chefs: Achilleas and Mirkos (not sure if that's correct spelling) these guys we're brilliant!
Thompson staff: Niki, Mad Maz, Roberto and Karim.

We've stayed at many hotels and quite often even the nicest hotel can be let down by poor service and as I manage a team myself I know the importance of good customer service.
So 10/10 to the Atlantica Club Sun Garden Beach Hotel.
Brilliant hotel ,Brilliant Staff, Brilliant Holiday!
See you again soon ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having just returned, I agree with previous reviewers that the staff at this hotel are exceptional and I would also agree that it is 3 star.
My only criticism would be that the reception and bar area are in need of new sofas as they are well worn and not the most comfortable. New lighting would also make a difference. However that is perhaps me being a bit picky! No doubt this would be costly and the customer would pay.
The main concerns for us are always to have a clean comfortable room and good food and those we certainly had. The local wine was ok, nothing special, and found the Rose the most to our liking.
The hotel is well located for bus stops in either direction to Protaris, Cape Greco and the Waterpark etc. and run every 20 minutes or so for only 1 Euro each way.
The pleasant downhill walk into Ayia Napa takes about 20 mins.
We went to Nicosia for the day with the local Tour Co for 20 Euros each, their office is just downhill from the hotel. They picked us up on time at 0830 and returned us there mid afternoon. We arranged a packed lunch with Reception the day before. (Thomson charge 45 Euros but that includes lunch). Not that impressed with Nicosia really, crossed the Green Line and visited the Mosque which was an experience so it was an interesting day out.
Finally I must say that we would go back to this hotel and Ayia Napa again but not in the summer months Mar/Apr is just right for us, not too hot and not busy. I imagine it would be a different place come Jun, Jul and Aug.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a sea view which was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel

Address: 46 Kryou Nerou Avenue, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Sungarden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.