We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Margadina - 4* on the way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margadina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margadina Hotel
Save Saved
You added Margadina Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 30370, Ayia Napa 30370, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Renovated Margadina - 4* on the way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May. Margadina had been closed for a long time and opened it doors for tourists in April of 2012. It's very stylish and clean, a new owner is trying to make it really good. All staff is very friendly and helpful. There are two pools, one of them is outside the hotel and another inside. When we were there, the second one was still under construction. They have GYM and Spa under construction as well. I think, when they finish all of works, they will be 4* for sure. Food in the restaurant was sometimes average and sometimes really good, but anyway we could always find something, what we like. In the evenings, time-to-time, they had entertainment shows with live greek music and dancings. Most of staff speaks english and russian, so there were many russian there. The hotel is in 5 minutes of walking from the sea. And in 10 minutes walking from clubs and bars streets. I think, we will get there again. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

The hotel was pretty, the pool area was nice for us. Perfect distance from the Square, quick and easy to get to and from the bars/clubs/restaraunts etc without being too close. The Cypriot staff were very friendly and accomodating, the European staff not so nice. The food wasn't great, but for the all-inclusive price we paid we didn't mind eating out 33% of the time.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

We had booked this holiday hoping to be practically on the beach, as shown in the pictures. But it was a fair treck down the rocky road.
We got there early morning and the receptionist was rude and not very helpful.
The view from our room was this scrappy desertland with the beach in the far distance.
Food was scary! They put different things in these metal trays and you lift the lid and i never knew what it was, there was nothing specifying what we were eating. I chose these mushrooms, which i thought were just mushrooms, i ate one and my mouth was on fire!! Liked the puddings though.
One night i heard this dripping noise.. more like a waterfall and there was a massive leak in our room. We told the receptionist a few times but nothing was done.
The cleaners were very pleasant.
I'd say the best thing about this hotel was the pool area and the outside bar. The plantation looks great and the music is relaxing.. even though they play the same thing every day.
I would recommend this hotel to people not wanting all inclusive, i'd say venture out to get food because this wasn't too good. Possibly half board or just bed and breakfast would be satisfactory.

  • Liked — Pool Area & Outside Bar
  • Disliked — Receptionist & Food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St/Petersburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

This hotel is much better than other 3* hotels in Ayia Napa. The food was good - that is very surprising for this area. Not far from the beach.

  • Liked — The location of the hotel and food
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

Very happy with the room, pool area and reception but the food let the hotel down.
Location was good.
Staff could have been a bit friendlier.
Wouldnt stay at this hotel again and been a travel agent i wouldnt reccomend this hotel
to a customer.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

We stayed here in June 2005 and didnt really know what to expect as we couldnt find any reviews on the Margadina.
The hotel served the purpose of our holiday - clean accomodation, good sized bedroom, and an ideal location - just far enough away from the square etc but a nice stroll back at the end of an evening.
We were on a half board basis as this was the only board basis that we could find for the hotel - room only or B&B would have suited us fine so we only used the restaurant facilities once as there are so many restaurants to try in Ayia Napa.
Based on eating at the Margadina on this one occassion and having a view of the outdoor eating area from our balcony (we were able to see what was on offer each night), it wasnt really our cup of tea food wise, but, the holiday was so cheap that this didnt bother us in the slightest.
Good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margadina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margadina Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 30370, Ayia Napa 30370, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Hotel Class:3 star — Margadina Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Margadina Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margadina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.