We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect October half term holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect October half term holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Nissiana. Arrived around midnight to a warm welcome. Adequately sized family room, clean and modern with a sea view. Great pool - lots of inflatables which my kids loved. Pool, table tennis, air hockey all available. Good breakfasts although would have liked to have seen some fresh fruit. Short walk to beach. Staff on the whole warm and friendly. Lots of restaurants within walking distance serving various cuisines of average UK pub food quality. However, they were very empty due to end of season and some closed during our stay. Also, they are all by a fairly busy road, so not a quiet experience - most play music or have big screens in them, so never were going to be quiet anyway! Several supermarkets and gift shops easily walkable too. We had pre-booked a hire car to go exploring but hardly used it - the weather was so good that the kids only wanted to do the pool and beach. Good transport connections and lots of trips available anyway, so you don't need a car. Hotel is next to a fairly busy road - obvious if you google maps it - so relaxing by the pool comes with road noise. The hotel was quite empty whilst we were there and there were only ever a handful of people in the pool and even on the busiest day there were only about a quarter of the sunbeds in use. Nissi Beach was busier, but still pretty quiet - plenty of sunbeds available. This was never intended as a cultural experience, just an escape from the UK's cold weather during the kids' half term break. It was great and I have come back happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Travelled as a couple as guests at a wedding at one of the 5* resorts, just a ten minute walk away. Easy transfer from Larnaca airport and greeted by a nice receptionist. The staff did their best to help us with everything we needed, letting us call the taxi company and giving me back my swimsuit top which had blown off the balcony!

I was really impressed with the food, each night was a themed buffet with fish, chicken, lamb, beef and pork creatively served up with plenty of side dishes and salad. The hotel lets you swap a dinner for a lunch of you want, brilliant as the wedding we went to was in the afternoon. Hot buffet breakfast went down a treat, although the coffee was awful. We didn't drink in the bar, just got water with dinner and the bill for the week was only around 14€ (we put it on the room).

The hotel seemed primarily to be full of Russians, but it wasn't full and there was plenty of space in the restaurant and around the fantastic pool! It gave us a great base for seeing a bit of the island with a bus stop right outside and Nissi Beach a 2 minute walk away. The hotel does provide entertainment in the evenings and there is free wifi in reception/bar area (get the password from reception).

The room was absolutely fine, overlooking the tennis courts. Shame it was a twin bed for a couple but it had a nice little balcony and you can rent a fridge for around 3€ a day, nice for a glass of wine/beer after a hard day sunbathing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having read a number of reviews and having visited the Nissiana while staying at another hotel last year, we were extremely pleased with our choice. The room was on the 3rd floor and had a sea view, if anything was above the standard we have had in other 3 & 4 star hotels in the area. Breakfast was good, plenty of food and good choice and the staff were very pleasant and hard working. The receptionists were very helpful and spoke excellent English, Christiana was especially knowledgeable & friendly. The pool really suited us as a couple who like a quiet chillout area without being on top of other people, there was never a problem getting a couple of sunbeds together whatever the time of day. We stayed B & B so the location was superb as it was very close to our favourite restaurants, Atlas and Gardens. Nissi beach is just across the road so also great during the day. Yes, the majority of guests were Russians, but this didn't bother us in anyway. We will be going back to this hotel next year - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 - 315 are on the highest floor for the sea view and face south so you don't have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading a few reviews from my fellow English travellers I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel but I was pleasently surprised!
The hotel staff were ever so friendly and always willing to cater to our every need (special shout out to Christiana and the Chef who I nicknamed the Fonz from Happy Days) they made me feel at home whilst on holiday with always a friendly smile and attention to detail when catering to my needs.
This hotel is clean, the food is lovely, the staff are great and the location is perfect as your within easy access to all of Ayia Napa without being in the noisy centre.
Thanks for a great holiday guys.....see you again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

my sister and i aged 29 and 20 stayed here for a week. upon arrival we had been downgraded into the bungalows. the bungalows are positioned on a main road firstly which u have to cross to get to main hotel. we were told we had to stay there. that night we had swearing and shouting outside the door, the security of the bungalows is appalling so we felt far from safe. after speaking to reception they told us to shut the door and call the police if need be, we were far from impressed. the following morning we demanded to be moved into the main hotel. after a 2 hour discussion with reception staff who did not know what day of the week it was! the manager wad finally called. we were then spoken to so rudely that i cannot believe it. they were patronising and unhelpful, asking us how old we were and had we ever been away from home before. it was only after hearing that my sister works for a well known hotel in the uk and us wanting to change hotel they finally agreed to move us. whereby we were told we could only move if we signed something promising not to make a complaint! we obvioulsy refused. there was nothing offered to appologise or compensate for our wasted first day.

the hotel itself is situated right on the main road on either side so whilst it is reasonably nice for a 3 star...you can hear and see trucks and busses going past while at the pool area which is a real shame.

the fridge broke after 3 days and not fixed and my sister and i both became ill and we suspect it was down to faulty air con.

now i have travelled a great deal to all sorts of countrys and stayed in all sorts of accomodation from bamboo beach huts to 5 star hotels and i have been spoken to so rudely. i urge u not to stay here. there are many more lovely hotels in the area. try to be on the beach to avoid the road...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Staying between 20-30 July 2012 on half board basis (bungalows).
Excellent food, excellent staff, very clean rooms and very spacious.
Not recommended for native english speakers because all staff and everybody in the hotels speak russian.
A bit far from the Ayia Napa centre but the bus will do the job for ya for €1 one way.
Nothingh to say about hotel or food. **** ..... excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We travelled to Nissi Bay for my sister’s wedding at the lovely Nissi Beach Hotel. The Nissiana is perfectly placed at just a 5 minute or so walk away.

My other sister and her family checked in to a bungalow (410) just across the road from the main Nissiana complex. Their apartment was quite spacious for the 4 of them. The only downfall was they had to share their accommodation - with ants. Reception did arrange for the room to be sprayed but this had little effect. Nevertheless, it didn’t ruin their stay.

Over in the main hotel the rest of the rooms were clean and the maids were thorough and friendly.

There is only one English channel which is BBC World News. But Cypriot tv has many English speaking programmes and films with Greek subtitles. 60 Minute Makeover, Jamie’s School Dinners, Disparate House Wives, CSI – yes I did leave the room, I just watched them whilst getting dressed!

You won’t need an adapter in this hotel as all sockets are for 3 pin plugs.

The corridors are very poorly lit for some reason – I’m all for saving the planet but the low level lighting was ridiculous. I once saw a couple pull out their mobile phone so they could see where to put the key into the lock!

Our half-board meals were quite good – I put on 6lbs! Breakfast had a good range of choices from Porridge, fruit, Continental breakfast to a fry up. Evening hot meals were more varied than the salads, but I really couldn’t fault any of it.

As previous reviews mention the majority of guests are German and Russian – so get use to a completely different culture – particularly no concept of queuing like us Brits. Meal times were particularly frustrating with the young to the elderly diving in front. I also found it quite sad that everyone kept themselves to themselves, even amongst nationalities - there was no smiling or ‘hello’.

The best thing about the Nissiana is its pool area. It’s very relaxed and set among palm trees. The main pool has a bridge over it which has a waterfall effect on one side which is a nice feature. The kids’ pool is equally lovely and next to a small play area with slides etc. There are also pools by the bungalows if you don’t fancy crossing over the road to the main complex.

I never got to see them – but there’s also an indoor pool and steam rooms.

A bit about the resort

We booked a private transfer from the airport with Lastminute.com, and the journey time was about 40 minutes.

About 50 yards from the Nissiana on the main road to Ayia Napa is a stall that sells delicious sweet corn for €2 in the evenings – I’d recommend having it grilled with lots of butter and a pinch of salt. Hmm.

If you want to see a bit of Cyprus but don’t fancy hiring a car or joining an excursion, get the well air conditioned 101 bus opposite the Nissi Beach Hotel. It’s a Euro to Ayia Napa, or pay €3 and hop on and off as many times as you wish. We decided to travel to the terminus Paralimni (towards the Turkish border) and work our way back to Nissi Bay. Inland as you’d imagine the scenery is very rocky and arid, but look out the other side of the bus and you’ll have a contrasting view of a brilliant cobalt blue coastline. The journey to Paralimni takes just over an hour, and imagine our surprise at being dropped off outside of M & S! Unfortunately, along with the nice selection of boutiques in the town, it was closed having arrived just after 1. If you do decide to go to Paralimni shops tend to open 09.30 – 12.30/13.00 and reopen 16.00-19.00.

On our way back to Nissi Bay on the 102 bus, we stopped off at Protaras – pronounced Prota-ras in Greek and then Ayia Napa. I was really surprised about Ayia Napa (by day at least!) nice clean streets, modern contemporary bars and restaurants. The usual suspects are there as well with English bars, Pizza Hut, KFC and McDonald’s. There’s also a marina which is quite pleasant.

Arriving back at Nissi Bay, I would say it’s my favourite resort out of the others we went to, and I would stay at the Nissiana again.

Room Tip: Why pay more? Room 211 booked with Olympic, classed the room as an ‘inland view’ and no supplement a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 98 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#23 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nissiana is the modern 3-star Hotel which is located in the Nissi Bay area, just 150m from the famous Nissi Beach, the most beautiful white sandy beach in Ayia Napa and about 25 minutes walking distance from the centre of the resort. Ayia Napa is is situated on the south-east coast of the island, Cyprus most popular resort and well know for its lively nightlife, its 16th century Monastery and its finest sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissiana Hotel And Bungalows
Nissiana Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.