We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to the city, to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nestor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nestor Hotel to your Saves list
Nestor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, 1st October Street | PO Box 30265, Ayia Napa 5342, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to the city, to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

First of all, this was my first trip to Cyprus, and actually this was my frist trip, what i made solo.
Thats why i've booked my room with sea view, and with other extras, but i have to say, its worth it, because i was in love with my room, and with the view as well.
So, what i can say about my room, that it was 5*, the pool is also ok, and so the staff.
The food was great, lot of salads, cheese, meat (turkey, chicken, pork), seafoods, fruits every night.
Bars, restaurants, clubs are in max. 15 minutes walk around the hotel.
The beach is really beautiful close to the hotel, and max. 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    128
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
93
167
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Just back from 11 nights at the Nestor and it was fantastic. This was our 5th trip to Ayia Napa and can say the Nestor is the best we've stayed in, and we previously stayed at the Grecian Sands for our wedding/honeymoon. The room itself is a little on the small side but kept very clean, but you don't go to Ayia Napa to stay in your room. One small gripe, having to pay for your fridge and safety deposit box, should really be included in the holiday cost, as both are essentials.

The food in the hotel was 1st class, breakfast your usual buffet style, but very nice and always plenty and hot right up to 10am. Dinner was a different theme every night (BBQ, Cypriot, Italian etc) and there was plenty of variety of both the theme and other choices. We had expected to go out at least 1/2 of the meals as we have been to lots of nice Ayia Napa restaurants before but we had 1 meal out (to a pizza restaurant we always go to at the top of the square) as the quality and choice was so good. The service in the restaurant is also good - extra points to George (inside).

The pool area is good, big pool, lots of room and loads of sun loungers even if you surface late. The pool bar is well run by George (outside) and the pool snacks are good value for money if you miss breakfast. A quiet relaxing pool to chill out, no noisy groups or music just everyone enjoying the sunshine from young kids to older couples.

Can't comment on the inside bar or entertainment as we didn't use it, too much happening in the Square to stay in the hotel at night.

Over all a very high standard 3* hotel, more like 4*

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Nestor for 11 nights, half board. We were delayed going out should have got there around 9pm but ended up being 2am! As a goodwill gesture the hotel gave us 2 free lunch vouchers for the next day since we arrived late. Our room was nice & clean, also cleaned everyday. The only thing you have to remember is not to put toilet roll in the toilet, bins provided!! You have to pay for the fridge, which is something I think should be included in the room. Pool was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. No complaints about the food. Plenty to choose from at breakfast and the evening meals. Nestor is a good distance away from the main bars so you don't hear the noise but close enough to walk to. We went most nights and thought it was a good atmosphere. We hired a quad from the guys outside the hotel. This was the best way to visit around ayia napa, we got see little beaches apart from the main ones, sea caves and tourist points. Nissi beach was really nice, the water was clear and warm. The waterpark was good - would recommend that for a day out. We also did the trip to Nicosia - the divided capital. Interesting to learn some of Cyprus history. For our flight home we wasn't being picked up until 6ish, the hotel had facilties below reception were you could shower and the massage room had a hairdryer! The only thing was the pound against the euro wasn't good when we went so the holiday turned out being a bit expensive. As we had to get some more money out!!

I would recommend this hotel, area of cyprus and the weather in June didn't fall much below 30 degrees.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

spent two weeks at the hotel nestor and had a fantastic time. rooms requested by email before arrival and honoured. great location with good facilities, swimming pool large and clean, restaurant accomodates all tastes. the staff were helpful and polite, especially george and alexandra.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have just returned from the Nestor after our 4th visit to the hotel. We went with our daughter son-in-law and 3 grand-daughters ages 10 years and 2 x 11 years of age. We all enjoyed the hotel staff really friendly especially George in the bar. George was very friendly and we could tell loved his job. The food was very good a great range of foods. We stayed half board and the evening meals were very good served nice and hot and a great choice. The only let down of this hotel is the evening entertainment but that didnt really bother us as there is plenty to do in the very near busy town. We love Cyprus and would like to return and if we do we would go back to the Nestor Hotel. Beware of the indoor pool flooring very slippery but the pool was lovely and cool. The gym is not used enough. Plenty of sun beds never had a problem the tiled floor is slippery and hot but just go careful. Our rooms were clean and we noticed new flat screen wall mounted
tv's with more English films and news many thanks for that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Situated in the center..Walking distance to all clubs/restaurants. Few minutes drive to beaches.
Rooms slightly small...but clean and still enjoyable. However, Safe box must be paid for. Had some trouble with toilets but it was fixed very quickly.
Very nice pool and pool bar. WONDERFUL breakfast buffet.
Staff is helpful although not very knowledgeable on restaurants in Ayia Napa.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay in a wonderful city.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Nestor 4-18 July 2010. The hotel is in a great location, just a few mins to the beach or the harbour at Ayia Napa and about 10 minute stroll to the main bars/clubs at the square. We emailed the hotel ahead of arriving and asked for a specific located room and got exactly what we asked for so it's worth it. The rooms are basic but kept very clean, only downside to the room for us was that there were three of us and you could only just fit two people on the balcony at any time. There is a supermarket/shop across the road and just next door which is great for day to day essentials.

The food at the hotel was suprisingly of a very good standard, we expected to eat out quite often even though we were half board and only ate out three times in the fortnight. The tour operators will tell you that you have to wear long trousers for evening meal but the staff are happy for you to go into the restaurant, get your food and eat outside if you are wearing shorts - just tell them on your way in so no problems there as it was really pleasant outside by the pool.

We only used the pool area a couple of days and it was clean and comfortable. The staff were great, especially George (Bar) who went out of his way to chat to everyone and make sure everything was OK. One thing to bear in mind is that there will be a number of large groups of teens there so maybe not the best place if you have young children and do not want any rowdiness. Saying that the groups who were there were no problem at all, a little loud but obviously just really enjoying themselves. The pool is also quite deep and shelves quite steeply so again bear this in mind for young non-swimmers.

We tended to go to the beaches (Ayia Napa, Nissi, Protaras) most of the time and made use of the excellent local bus service which operates all day and throughout the night. It costs 2 Euros per person for an all day ticket which you can use as many times as you like and goes from the Waterpark - Nissi Beach - Ayia Napa Centre - Cape Greco - Protaras - Paralimni so is really good value, you can also get week tickets but not sure how much they were - think about 10 Euros.

The highest exchange rate we could find offered in Ayia Napa is either at the little kiosk opposite McDonalds or at the shop on the opposite corner from Tommy's Bar next to the traffic lights.

There have been a lot of comments on here about the receptionists not being very friendly but whenevere we approached them or spoke to them they were absolutely fine. Internet access here is expensive and seems to be quite intermittent. We used the internet facilities around the corner at Tommys Bar which were about 1 Euro for 1/2 hour and 1.5 Euro for an hour - quite often we weren't even charged.

All in all we had a great holiday and would certainly return to Ayia Napa and the Nestor. It is a great value hotel which is ideally located within the resort.

Email me any questions you may have and I'll be happy to answer them for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#9 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Okeanos Beach
Okeanos Beach
#12 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nelia Beach Hotel
Nelia Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#10 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nestor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nestor Hotel

Address: 8, 1st October Street | PO Box 30265, Ayia Napa 5342, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nestor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and welcoming NESTOR is a friendly family, fully renovated and luxurious hotel. For location you can’t beat the Nestor Hotel as it enjoys an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the most beautiful white sandy beach, fishing port of Ayia Napa and the lively City centre with its numerous bars, restaurants and shops. It is also just a 2 minute walk from the Thalassa Museum.Guest Facilities: 24 hour Reception, Lounge with Satellite TV, Internet, Wi-Fi, Hairdressing Salon, Room Service, Laundry & ironing service, Courtesy room, Wheelchair Access, Car Hire, Sightseeing Tours, Cruises, Money Exchange, Taxi Service, etc. Guest room Facilities:To accommodate various needs and preferences, Nestor Hotel provides a total of 206 rooms with a choice of room types: Standard rooms, Family rooms, Family rooms with bunk beds, Deluxe rooms and Family Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Nestor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nestor Hotel Cyprus
Nestor Ayia Napa
Nestor Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nestor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.