We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel For 18-30 Year Olds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anmaria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anmaria Hotel to your Saves list
Anmaria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nissi Ave, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel For 18-30 Year Olds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked the Anmaria Hotel as a couple for the last two weeks of June for half board. On arrival the reception staff were excellent and gave us the best room in the hotel, room 250 which is on the top floor and has double aspect balconies overlooking the sea and pool area.
Generally the hotel room and all other areas were kept clean and tidy although rooms could do with renovation to improve decor and fittings.
Food was of normal quality for 4 star hotel ranging from very good to average quality but there was always a choice to suit every taste.
The entertainment staff were also as expected that if you didn,t get involved in their silly games etc and become one of their gang you were mainly ignored and did not exist.
Unfortunatelly although this hotel is in a great location for beaches, walks and Ayia Napa town it has become a haven for young revellers which accounted for 80% of occupants with others being young familes and some older people.
The young ones although not causing any physical disturbancies did tend to play music into the early hours before going to the bars/clubs and returning around 5am in good spirits.
The hotel indicated by hanging signs around hotel that they wanted to clear the hotel it would appear for youngsters because they were offering to transfer people to other local hotels and upgrade to all inclusive without any extra charge.
We decided to have a look at the Dome Beach Hotel which is about 3 kms away on other side of nisi beach. They were very helpfull and provided free of charge taxi's for us to visit and view hotel. We agreed and they again provided a taxi to move us and we spent an enjoyable 8 days there.

Room Tip: Best room for views is room 250 but noise until 12 midnight from pool bar below room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
39
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive and had a great time. Hotel is excellent and the Thomas Cook entertainment team were excellant. They got everyone involved in activities and did some wacking good shows in the evening. I would love to go again. My advice is that you cover well with sun cream and make sure you have insect repellant with you.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the An Maria hotel. I went with a friend (we are both early twenties) and found the hotel to be a very good standard on the whole. The location was great, lots of shops and cafes near and a short 15 minute walk to the square with all the barsd and clubs.

The hotel lobby is bright, clean and welcoming and the outside pool/ bar area is fantastic! Loved all of the trees and the coastal sea view. We never struggled to get a sunbed at any time of day either. The indoor pool and changing facilities need to be updated and better maintained.

Our bedroom had 2 twin beds and was of a decent size. Plenty of storage and a nice balcony, although this had little privacy, Cleaners could have been more thorough though and air con was a little unreliable.

The staff at the hotel were generally friendly but we were told different times for breakfast and dinner on our 1st day so be sure to check with your rep. Our Thomas Cook rep was so nice and tried her best to get us involoved. We did a bar crawl on Thursday and Friday night organised through our rep that were fun and got us free shots, cheap drinks and discounted club entry! The food was pretty good most nights but there could be a wider selection of Cypriot and vegeterian dishes. Also some more starters and options for dessert. Drinks at the bar were a little bit on the expensive side and I didnt like the system of running up a tab which had to be paid for at the end of the holiday.

Ayia Napa is a lovely place to go away for those who want a clubbing holiday but also with activities do during the day, A must see is Nissi beach and the Troddos mountains. I would definitely return to Ayia Napa and the An Maria hotel!!!

.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I didn't expect much from the hotel as the previous reviews were so mixed. Upon arrival I was really surprised how nice it looked, compared to the other drop offs during the transfer this one was a palace!! The first 3 days the hotel was mixed with families and young groups but after that thr familes were gone and the young ones fled in :)

Reception - sparkling clean, brand new sofas as we seen them getting unwrapped. The reception staff were lovely and there are 2 computers with internet access (2euro for 15mins or 5euro for one hour - they give you a code to type in so you can come and go as you please with the number of minutes you use each day). There are 3 levels of rooms accessed by either stairs or 2 lifts.

Room - We requested top floor with sea view, and the view was amazing!! There are 2 sides to the hotel; half have pool and sea view and the other side overlooks the street and carnival which I guess would be nice at night as the carnival is all lit up. Air con is free and works even when you dont have the card in so it was always nice and cold when we came in, you need to pay for the fridge and i cant mind what this was (15e for the week?) and is accessed by a key. The safe is also at a charge and i think it was around 15e for the week aswell, also accessed by a key and we got 5e back at the end of our stay. Tele is free but the channels are not upto much. The room is laminate flooring which I have to give a thumbs up for - probably the cleanest floor ive had! The beds were comfortable and sheets changed every 3rd day, fresh towels every day. Our maid was an absolute legend, took good care of us as she cleaned up after one of my many drunken nights! Drawer space was alright for two but it would have been a tight squeeze for 3. The bathroom shower was powerful and very clean, shame I didnt take pics of the bathroom as I know there are very little on here but its a good size and very clean, marble floor with a large mirror and hair dryer. The corridors leading to the rooms are okay, carpet could do with an upgrade.

Pool - lovely big pool, at the start of our holiday we had a choice on sunbeds to pick but lots of new arrivals came at the weekend so you to get one pretty sharp - there are not many beds for the size of the hotel, could definetely do with a few more. The entertainment staff lacked a bit of enthusiasm although there was loads of games and activities on - they were pretty crap at getting people involved.

Restaurant - the food was okay, not much to pick from but I ate so I had food in my tummy before the drink started. If i came to the hotel with my partner, this probably would have put a dampner on my holiday but I guess it was just some free food. The tables are very very nice - not the cheap sticky paper. We were half board so we had to pay for our drinks however, if you purchase any drink from the restaurant or pool bar - they ask for your room number and signature and you can only pay via reception so we made a point of going everyday to pay. We didn't go for breakfast as we slept through it, we went to Euro Bakers every day for breakfast - so much food to choose from and the toasties are amazing!

The welcome meeting was a big help as we had so much to do in a week, this helped pick the best excursions and the rep kayleigh was lovely! The neon party was a brilliant night with 1euro a drink at the bars all night, the silent disco and foam party was epic!! The water park was pretty crap, about 15mins on the bus 102. We only stayed for 30 mins, but 38euro per was pretty pricey. Take a camera though as the pictures you can get in there are brilliant, lockers are secure, cctv in place and manned all day. We didn't have time to go to Nissi Beach but you can get there on bus 102 and it takes about 5mins, costs 2euro for an all day pass.

I will definetely be going back next year and would not even consider looking at other hotels, the location is perfect as it is literally 5 minutes walk to the square and the hotel is lovely.

See you next year <3

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

just returned from anmaria hotel after fortnight was on half board .this was our second time there sadly bedrooms in need of some updating although clean bedding had holes in quilt cover and curtains in all need of replacing to maintain 4 star rating.the hotel gave choice to guests to go to vrissani beach in protaras as hotel over booked.we visited this hotel which was amazing very trendy hotel rooms were 1st class we did not take up this offer and decided to stay in anmaria as we had paid extra for sea view room. the difference between both hotels was amazing both owned by same company we had to pay to use fridge in room also safe 56 euros for 2weeks .The vrisanni beach however had tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms use of fridge free for guests also so sorry anmaria time to get hotel rooms up to 4star rating. pool area was good . food was ok staff were friendly especially in restaurant . we wont be returning to anmaria may go to vrisanni beach next time we visit cyprus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Checked in at Gatwick only to be told the luggage reader was not working - my husband joked well as long as our cases dont arrive in cancun we did not mind having to wait a while so that the luggage could be manually tagged !
So arriving in Larnaca we waited and waited and waited for our luggage - after everybody else left the building one of the cleaners told my husband that they was no more luggage to come up and that we would have to report this as lost in transit which he did
we left the terminal building and found the thomas cook rep who was about as much use as a chocolate tea pot ! who said dont worry we usually find the cases as sometimes they fall out of the plane whilst unloading !!
so without our luggage we boarded the coach and arrived safely at the hotel.
on our second day i asked our rep if our luggage had been found - "I don't know" was her reply. So then i spent the next three days trying to speak and locate our luggage guess what it was in CANCUN!!!!!
So then we had to wait for the next flight to Gatwick and then the next flight to Cyprus -
So we spent three days shopping trying to find razors shaving gel etc etc etc
it seemed our rep was more interested in selling booze cruises to the younger lads at the hotel. our luggage turned up in a cab 4 days later!!! so we felt as though we had lost some of our holiday as due to lack of clothes and the bascs just stayed around the pool.
on first sight of our hotel was absolutely lovely - pretty palm trees scattered around the pool. our room overlooked the sea and pool !
rooms shabby - signs saying no smoking in rooms but the bed linen had a couple of cigarette burns in them. Air conditioning did not work until our 9th day.
no tea or coffee facilities so if you need a cuppa first thing in the morning i suggest you buy a cheap kettle from the supermarket nearby for about £6 well worth it ! otherwise u will be running up and down in the lift .
bathroom dated. and wallpaper is worn out.
also hairdryer is in bathroom but the handle was the dryer so easily burnt hands and did this frequently throughout our stay
cleaners ok but not too thorough
4 star i do not think so - more like 3 ! food was very poor
very strange combinations and we have seen some in our time!
breakfast pizza chips scrambled eggs with onion sweetcorn chopped up ham or bacon
the evening meal was also very strange some nights so strange i had cheese and biscuits !
loved the resort and some great places to eat one we highly recommend is othellos which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel another good place was the olive tree and for fine dining at reasonable prices is blueberrys and if you want a bit of a laugh in a british styled pub try garys which is 2 doors away from the hotel.
nissi beach amazing and mad
the harbour area is great but dont be fooled by the sales pitches for the fishing etc.
if you are going all inclusive take some extra money as the food at this hotel is very poor!
and if you go out we found that a pint ranged from 2.70 to 4.50 a pint!!!!!!!!!! coffee was more expensive than the beer!
Also beware the hotel charges for crisps on the all inclusive and it cost us £2.40 for two standard bags ! get them from the supermarket !
Location of this hotel could not be better though !

I know this review sounds a bit negative but we had a lovely relaxing time once we got our luggage back.
Got e car out and travelled around the island to paphos and the border area which is very strange !
we love cyprus and we will return but not to this hotel !

4 star in cyprus is like 2 star egypt !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Went in a group of 21-25 yr olds and this hotel was a little quiet for us but it had a lovely pool area and was spotless all round. Food was a bit naff but we ate out alot because the restaurants in ayia do wonderful steaks! lol. Entertainment was dia. Seriously, i felt sorry for the 3 reps that hung around all day looking bored. I saw 1 show on a friday night and that was cringeworthy but i spose entertainment is not really a must when you have the main strip of bars and restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away. The main ayia napa square is only 5 minutes walk away too. 'Garys bar and grill' did the best breakfast ever and if we woke up late and missed the hotel breaky, garys saved us it was lovely food and nice people. its based just at the back of the hotel. Nissi beach is about 15 minutes walk away. we hired beach buggys from a shop behind the hotel too, they were reasonable in price and really good fun! great way to get around and see famagusta view point etc. I love Ayia Napa, been several times and would go again. Weather was great all week. Only thing i can say is...DO NOT GO TO TOMMYS BAR! It is owned by physco russians and if you get a little drunk and have fun, accidently break a glass, they use tazer guns on you and beat you to a pulp! i witnessed this myself and it was horrific, could not believe what i saw, there was blood everywhere and no police around and none of the other bar owners wanted to get involved! TOMMYS BAR IS DANGEROUS!

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anmaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anmaria Hotel

Address: Nissi Ave, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anmaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated on Nissi Avenue and offers a warm welcoming atmosphere. Set in beautiful gardens with exotic palm trees, directly on the beach offering magnificent views of the Ayia Napa coastline. The lively center of Ayia Napa is just a few minutes walk, where guests are spoiled with the large choice of restaurants and bars. The lagoon shaped pool, surrounded by well tended greenery, is a pure indulgence for all ages. The comfortable guestrooms, the great selection of activities and facilities combined with the relaxing atmosphere makes it an ideal choice for a memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Anmaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anmaria Hotel Ayia Napa
Anmaria Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anmaria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.