We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kryou Nerou, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel with no expectations whatsoever. We were three single guys looking to have a good time. Our room was the grand suite, which is actually a two bedroom apartment. The balcony was amazingly big with three tanning beds and a dining table. When we first arrives we were given a fuit basket that tasted so good. The hotel staff are very nice and accomodating, and the restuarants in the hotel are probably the best you could find in the entire town. The hotel is a walking distance from the beach and taxis are widely available. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back again. My only grievance is that it should have had a strong, free wireless internet in every room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaMermaidAyiaNapa, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    149
    34
    4
    3
See reviews for
121
525
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our week here was a pleasure from start to finish. We had a bungalow by the pool.....superb. The quality of the breakfast.....superb. The staff, from arrival to departure, faultless, with a special mention to the pool bar team, who keep you going, with cold towels, frozen fruit etc at various times during the day. A first class establishment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaMermaidAyiaNapa, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

recently returned from our honeymoon at the napa mermaid and it was amazing. an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival was a great start to the week, along with the lovely surprise bottle of champagne in the room the next day. fact all the staff were really nice. very friendly and didn't make you feel as though you were imposing on them if you asked for something.

we stayed bed and breakfast and i have to say the breakfast is tremendous. anything you can think of to eat for breakfast...it's there!! we had something different every day!

the freshwater pool is at perfect temperature to cool off from the sun and there was always sunbeds available throughout the day due to the policy the hotel has of removing towels if they are left too long. everyone seems to adhere to this, as well as not putting towels down until 8.30am so there's no queuing at daft o'clock in the morning to get a sunbed! the hotel has high expectations around the asthetics which is really good...no towels over the balconies, no wet clothes/feet through the lobby etc. it makes a difference that everyone sticks to this.

whilst the hotel isn't adults only there weren't many children when we went but i suppose it's not really designed to around children. we'd come on honeymoon and left ours with relatives so it was nice not to listen to screaminig kids for a week!!!

a nice 15minute-ish walk along the road to the centre 'square' of ayia napa with plenty of different places to eat along the way. the beach over the road is lovely, a nice walk down to it with lots of watersports to do and sunbeds to hire.

all in all this was a fabulous hotel and would have no problem recommending it to others. thank you for a wonderful honeymoon.

Room Tip: if you're booking a junior suite, try to get 156. its the end one and gets the sun for most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaMermaidAyiaNapa, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you fr choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. We are honored to hear that our Staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed your free upgrade to the Junior Suite with the special touches. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent ten days there and wish it had been one hundred and ten! Excellent facilities, lovely food, Hotel workers could not have been better..Definitely reccomend..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaMermaidAyiaNapa, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Cyprus, for yet another faultless holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was the holiday when nothing went right and the hotel was no help.
The reception seemed to feel that it was mostly a hassle when you asked them something. They actually snapped at my friend when she kindly asked on my behalf if my bag had been delivered on the third day of it not arriving. We had to stand over them to get any kind of assistance and no initiative to help which is the least you can expect from a reception.
On my birthday my friend wanted to treat me to a massage in the spa (which was very run down and looked dirty in the cellar) and even though she called before hand and booked two massages they insisted when we came down there that we hadn’t but did not look at any booking system but simply gave us a blank stare, turned on their heals and walked away. All in all, not very professionally managed at all.

The saving grace for this hotel was the wonderful driver we got to and from the airport and the staff in the bars and restaurants who were absolutely amazing and attentive. Always up for a little chat and actually seemed to care about the quality of your stay. Just because of Them I would choose to return to this hotel but I would stay away from the “spa” and try not to “bother” reception with any questions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us. First of all, I would like to thank you for your positive comments and for giving us the chance to reply to your review.
If we recall correctly, you and your friend arrived in Cyprus via British Airways on 31/05/12 and departed on 04/06/12. We understand and sympathize with you regarding your lost luggage. According to our records, you were given a receipt from British Airways stating that they will deliver your luggage on the 2nd of June 2012 and until then everything was fine. On the 2nd of June you contacted our Front Office desk and spoke to one of our Receptionists (who has been working as a Receptionist for 20 years), asking her to call the airport. She kindly asked you if you had a receipt with a reference number in order to call the airport; however you did not have it with you at that specific time, which made it extremely difficult for us and the lost and found department at the airport to locate your luggage. Our Receptionist however called the airport, after you insisted to do so, nevertheless she was prompted to give a reference number for the lost luggage, which unfortunately was not available to her. She continued her efforts, even though she still did not have the receipt in hand, by calling the airport and being transferred from one department to another until she was put through to the lost and found department of Larnaca airport. After 6 telephone calls without having the sufficient information, you brought us the receipt and we then managed to track down your luggage. You then spoke with the person in charge of the lost luggage who promised to deliver your luggage as soon as possible. Your luggage arrived but unfortunately the suitcase was broken and of course you had every right to be upset with British Airways, but not with the Hotel staff. I am truly sorry and sympathize with you.
Regarding the massage booked by your friend for your birthday, I specifically checked our records and found nothing booked for you under your name or under your friends name or your room number.
Once again, we are sorry for the incident with your luggage especially as in your case you were only staying 4 days and for 2 days you did not have your personal belongings. However this should have not been a reason for you to have the specific feelings for our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

One of the best hotel's i'v stayed in so far. Service was excellent. We stayed in the junior suite which was beautiful and overlooked the sea and the pool. The cleaning was brilliant and towels were changed daily. The pool area was fabulous. The beds we comfy and frozen fruit was brought round in the afternoon which was great. A lovely touch. This should definitley be a 5* hotel as the Decor, Service, pool area, bedrooms.... well everythings about it was 5*. Would definitley visit again.

Room Tip: Junior suite was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and for classing our Hotel as a 5*, we are honored! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just got back from an amazing time at the Napa Mermaid. Hotel should be a 5* and not a 4*+. All staff are welcoming and pleasant. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Ayia Napa center or 8 euros in a taxi. Stayed half board however this hotel gives you the option to swap your dinner for lunch instead which I would recommend doing atleast twice as lunch is amazing and the service is excellent. They offer towels for the beach and pool side which you can change daily. The bar sell very nice cocktails. The nearest beach is just across the road. Would defo stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Secretary at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another amazing stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites

Address: 45 Kryou Nerou, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful hotels in Ayia Napa, the multi awarded, freshly rebuilt Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites in Ayia Napa - Cyprus, with deluxe services and facilities lies on the most privileged location of the cosmopolitan resort of Ayia Napa. Its superb location allows the holiday maker to be a few minutes away from the resort centre and yet right across the serene crystal waters and sandy beach of Grecian Bay and only a stone's throw away from the town center. The Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites is ideal for Weddings, Holidays, Honeymoons or just a perfect rest in Ayia Napa, Cyprus. Local to all the facilities, Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites is ideally located with breath taking views of the Mediterranean Sea. The Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites is a stylish contemporary hotel entirely redesigned to create a fabulous holiday setting. This sanctuary of relaxation and comfort is accompanied by the unparalleled reputation for excellence and friendliness that the hotel is known for. Simple in its modern, innovative design and state of the art facilities the Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites is a unique hotel that welcomes you to experience unforgettable holidays of relaxation and comfort surrounded by traditional Cypriot hospitality of the highest order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Mermaid Hotel Ayia Napa
Hotel Napa Mermaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.