We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timers here-Oct 2013-Good choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grecian Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Grecian Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Berks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1st timers here-Oct 2013-Good choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first visit to the Grecian Sands & we enjoyed our stay. We would go back & would also recommend to family & friends.

Our first impression was generally good although reception area & bar seem a little lacking in a warm inviting atmosphere. Check in was efficient, though, & a big bonus was that we were allocated our room early and were able to have breakfast, even though we arrived at 6.30am! We really appreciated that, thank you!

Whilst waiting for our room key, we sat on some sunbeds & saw the lovely sunrise. This was only slightly marred by the unedifiying & comical sight of early risers bagging their preferred spot with the towel on lounger "trick" I think we must have scuppered some guests plans!!

Our room was sea facing on the 4th floor so the view was really lovely, plus we had full sun in afternoon/evening (This might be too much in high season). The actual fixtures & fittings were a little disappointing for a 4* hotel, with slightly scuffed furnishings & paintwork, but the lovely massive comfy bed made up for this.We did laugh at the oddly placed hook on the back of the bathroom door, though!! Impossible to reach being 5'2".
Cleaners are really friendly & hard-working, which was nice to see.

Breakfast was the usual set-up with plenty of choice of hot and cold food & waiters on hand to bring coffee & tea to your table. The breakfast area seemed a little "utilitarian" in decor ,at first but we got used to it!

The hotel's Cyprus barbecue evening & folklore show was nice with plenty of the usual fare, but not a big choice of meat! The show was entertaining & got the guests joining in the dancing etc! If you go to one of these evenings in Oct, wrap up warm as it can gets chilly at that time of year!
Other entertainment at the hotel was pretty dire, (sorry!) with a lady piano player, in the bar area, heroically playing (to my mind) quite boring tunes, to just a smattering of guests. I think something more lively is needed with perhaps a "Happy Hour" or free 1st cocktail offer to draw in the crowds! (The hotel across the road had a "Salsa dance troupe" entertaining guests, for example.)
The verandah/chillout area, of the bar is lovely & tastefully furnished & seems more inviting than the main bar. The bar staff were very good & were helpful in recommending different drinks to us.

As has been said before, the big selling point of this hotel is it's location.The pool area & surroundings are beautifull & kept really clean A few steps down to the beach & you're on the soft white sand & then in the clear blue sea. You can walk along the beach to the small harbour & then into the main town, or, of course you can go out of the hotel's main entrance & walk along the road, passing many restaurants, enroute to the town that way. This only takes about 10/15 mins. There are bus routes along this road taking you to both Aiya Napa centre, in the one direction or Protaras in the other.

With just a few improvements, this hotel would be top-notch, but ,saying that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a good beach-side hotel, within walking distance to the delights of Aiya Napa!!

Room Tip: High sea-view rooms worth extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    106
    33
    16
    4
See reviews for
119
185
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Yes, We are also regular guests of the Grecian Sands Hotel. We've visited this lovely hotel every year since we first went in 1992, apart from missing one year through illness.
What can we add to what other guests have said? Not a lot really!! We just love the place. The Grecian Sands is situated just the right distance from the Town, meaning that you have no problems in walking to the nearby restaurants and no late night noise.
The views from the Hotel are really lovely.
The new steps down to the beach are a vast improvement on the old ones. The same can be said for the new lifts.....thank goodness!
We find it difficult to criticise anything about this Hotel, because it has welcomed us back for so many years, just like a second home.
Yes, the sun lounger situation is grim!!! Who wants to have to get up so early in the morning during their holiday, just to ensure that they get a sun lounger for the day?? I ask you???
However, the main reason that we return every year is that they have an excellent staff.
Yes, the rooms are clean and comfortable, there's a good choice of food at breakfast and the Hotel is situated on a wonderful beach.
However, that would count for little if it wasn't for the excellent staff! We know that many of them have worked at the Grecian Sands since we first went there and we always feel that we are being welcomed back by real friends. That's it really! See you next year!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friend had her wedding here! It's an amazing hotel and the views where lovely! Lovely staff! Bit pricey but if u get what u pay for and more :-) u get ur own little beach! Very clean and very well looked after! Just wished we had booked this hotel to stay in for our holiday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First visited this hotel 25 years ago and it was here that our "love affair" with Cyprus began. We have returned on several occasions since then. The hotel is located on Grecian Bay and views are stunning. High standards have been maintained over the years. Staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and sheets and towels were changed every day. Excellent choice at breakfast and all meals at lunch and evening of a good quality. Ideal for a quiet, relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. Hotel ideally placed, a 10 to 15 minute walk into the centre of Ayia Napa so away from the noise and bustle of the centre. We were in a high room and it is worth paying the extra for a sea view. A big thanks to all the staff for another enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Choose a high room with a sea view, definitely worth paying the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I have now been to Cyprus three times. We have stayed at the Alion Hotel and also at Capo Bay Hotel in Protaras. The reason we picked all three hotels was directly because of their location and the reviews we read on Trip Advisor.

This is my review of The Grecian Sand's Hotel.

Location

This is in the quieter area of Ayia Napa and it is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Ayia Napa. The "102" bus service will also take you in to the centre in about 5 minutes. The cost of that fare as of September 2013 was €1.50.

The actual location of the hotel is right on the beach. From the foyer to the beach you walk through their grounds and down a set of steps and on to the most beautiful beach. There is also an access path for buggies leading down to the beach.

These steps and path way are steep but for those who can not manage that there is a slightly different route which takes you down about 10 steps on to a walk way and you can go to the beach that way. You can access that route by walking through the ground floor restaurant.

The beach is very clean and the water crystal clear. It is also warm which is just great. Hiring 2 sunbeds and an umbrella costs €7.50 for the day and €4 for a half day. Some people simply bring their own towels and covers and lie on the sand.

There are the usual water sports, a small cafe and a person who walks around taking drinks orders from this cafe. It is a great place to spend the day. Now back to the hotel.

Check-In

This was painless and easy. A porter took the bags to the room and we also got towel cards to get 2 towels for the next day. We were staying B&B and were told where and when breakfast was. It was in the downstairs restaurant and served between 7-10.

The Room

We had paid for a sea view room and we were located on the 4th Floor. The view from the balcony was breath taking and a key benefit to help us enjoy our holiday. The balconies on the 4th floor are smaller than the other floors. We didn't really care as it easily held a table and two chairs which mean we could have a drink, a smoke and enjoy the spectacular views.

The room was standard size and the bed was enormous. This is probably one of the best beds I have ever slept in. The linen was changed every day. This bed was so comfortable in every way you can imagine.

Storage

There were tow bedside lockers. One has two large drawers which held a lot of my gadgets etc. The other one has only one drawer as the top one is being used for a radio and air conditioning controls.
There was a good dressing table which also had 3 large drawers. There was also a good sized hanging area which was covered by a curtain and that held a lot. There was also some overhead storage there as well. We don't travel light and we had plenty of room.

Lighting

There were 2 bedside lights, a standard lamp and over head lighting. There were more than enough power outlets.

Bathroom

The bathroom was a good size and towels were changed every day. There were a few hairline cracks in the toilet bowl and sink but nothing much to worry about. The shower was just ok. It did the job but was not a proper power shower that I am used to. Nonetheless it did the job well.

TV

There was a good quality TV in the room. The choice of programs for English speaking people is pathetic with only the BBC World News as an option. I don't come on holiday to watch TV but I think there should be a better choice than this.

Safe

There is a safe in the room and it is free to use.

Mini Bar

There is a mini bar in the room with the usual silly prices. We just bought our own drink and kept it in there.

Tea & Coffee

There is a kettle etc with tea and coffee which we used a lot.

Free Wifi

There is free Wifi in the hotel and you can get it in your room. It is not the fastest in the world but hey, it is free and it does work. You can pick up the code at reception and the one code is used by everyone for the length of your stay so a great service.

That's about it for the room.

The Pool

They have a great outdoor pool with steps either end. At one end there is a jacuzzi which comes on at certain times of the day. It is a very clean pool and when we were there, plenty of room to have a good swim. There is a waitress service during the day to bring you food or drinks.

Around the pool there are about 80-100 beds. Trust me they go early with people staking their towels from 06.30 in the morning. I even witnessed people putting out their towels the night before (very sad and selfish people)

Down from the pool is a sandy area that perches on top of the rocks and is part of the hotel. There are about 100 beds there also and they go even quicker than the beds around the pool. It is a really nice area where you can catch a lovely breeze. If you want to be there then you will have to get up early.

Other than that there are beds scattered around the grounds on the grass. There is also a shaded tent near the pool which holds a couple of beds if you need to get out of the sun.

Breakfast

There is a great choice at breakfast with everything ranging from fresh fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses, and many hot choices of bacon, sausages, eggs, omelettes and much more. You can sit inside or outside.

Breakfast is all about timing. From 07.00 - 08.30 you can pretty much sit where you chose. From 08.30 onwards there is still lots of food but it does get busy...very busy.

We didn't have an evening meal but we did have several lunches. Their food was great and the service even better.

We also had room service on 2 nights. It only costs €2 for this which is the cheapest I have ever had. You can order anything you like and it comes to your room on a trolley with table covers etc and a drop leaf table. This is a fantastic service so my advice is try it out.

Staff

Generally the staff were great. Reception staff are excellent. The cleaners are also excellent. The pool staff look grumpy most of the time. The waiters and waitresses are a mixed bunch. Most of them are very helpful and others are competent without a smile.

SPA

You have to pay to use their services but their rates are reasonable and it is a nice service to have. We used the sauna and steam room which were great as was the indoor pool. We didn't have any of the spa treatments so can't comment.

There is also a gym there if that is your desire. Personally I prefer a glass of wine, 20 cigarettes and some great food.

DEPARTURE

Again a smooth process and the porter brought our bags out to the bus.

AMBIENCE

There is a nice look and feel to the hotel. They do a BBQ night and a Cyprus night. We didn't attend these but the music was good and the food looked good.

This hotel attracts a lot of Russian guests. When we were there we spoke with a few English and Irish people. In the main though they were Russian. We didn't have an issues with anyone at the hotel and found all the guests to be pleasant and courteous.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Our air conditioning broke down one evening and was fixed the next day. Not really a complaint but more a sign of the hotel's efficiency.

I think the hotel should be stricter with sun bed allocation. The Alion uses an allocation on arrival system which is just way better than a free for all that suits selfish people.

Again not really a complain but the hotel could do with a better selection of TV programs and an upgrade of their Wifi to make it faster.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view as you will enjoy every moment of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Once again my wife and I spent a very pleasureable 14 days in the company of some very pleasing people and freinds that we have met in this hotel over the 15years that we have stayed there.If you don'enjoy your stay at this hotel I think it would be difficult to enjoy yourself anywhere.
The staff from the manager down to the gardener go out of their way to help you enjoy yourself, The hotel is a home from home, the variaty of food is great, if you do have a problem and you make it known to the staff, it is soon rectified if it is possible to rectify. We enjoyed our stay and hope to repeat the exercise next year. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Anywere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

a very good hotel with great food . very willing staff and perfect cypriot night . i'm very satisfied with this hotel. also the rooms were comfortable nad cleaned . i loved their swimming pool ware a really nice sunning days next to the pool

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecian Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Sands Hotel

Address: 44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Holiday Hotel situated on the Mediterranean coast, 45 km from Larnaca Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grecian Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecian Sands Ayia Napa
Hotel Grecian Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecian Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.