We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Amazing Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Sands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grecian Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grecian Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 102 hotels in Ayia Napa
Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - Amazing Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Grecian Sands hotel from 16-24 September 2012, and got married there on the 21st. We flew with thomson & booked our wedding through them as well.
I would advise anyone booking their wedding at this hotel to do so straight through the hotels wedding co-ordinator, Cheradie. She is superb, nothing is too much trouble & she made our day run incredibly smoothly. The thomson rep, as lovely as she was, was only really there to sell me stuff, and the wedding 'package' that i'd booked through thomson was a bit of a con, the majority of the bullet points listed in their wedding package was actually honoured by the hotel & not thomsons themselves (brekkie in bed the next day, late check out, free cake, room upgrade etc etc)... I think I would've saved about £150 if I'd booked direct but never mind...

Anyway, the hotel itself:-

Rooms - we booked a sea view room (well worth the extra money).. because we booked our wedding at the hotel we got upgraded to a Sea View Executive Studio which was just lush, huge balcony, white leather sofa, superkingsize bed, two sinks, two showers etc etc! Just lovely! I was also very grateful to have such a big room to get ready in on the morning of the wedding :-) We didn't watch the TV - we were on holiday!! And we had no problems with any fixtures or fittings in the room. The mini-bar was expensive but they didn't mind you putting in your own stuff so that was fine.

Hotel grounds - they were lovely. The reception is stunning, the pool area is clean and the sunbeds are comfortable and not all on top of each other. The beach area is lovely & you get a sea breeze here too. No extra charge for parasols etc. The beach it is on top of is very nice, water is so warm, plenty of watersports nearby too & you can walk right across to the harbour along the beach, very nice. The spa area & indoor pool are also lovely. The hairdresser in the hotel is particularly spectacular - we loved her!

Hotel facilities - you get free clean towels every day which i thought was a nice touch. We enjoyed breakfast every day, I thought it was lovely! Lots of everything to choose from! I'd also reccomend eating in the hotel, this was very nice also, we had lunch a few times & a romantic meal one night which was also lovely! We never drank in the hotel bar as it was always quite quiet but it's only a 15minute walk up to the main town anyway, lots of restaurants and bars to choose from.

Wedding - our wedding was just beautiful, it flowed so smoothly from the time we started getting ready right up until the last song was played at the evening disco.. the setting is just lovely, we got married on the sea view deck, had a sit down meal & champagne reception/cake cutting in the Medditeranean Suite & moved onto the Poseidon Suite for evening disco with greek dancers & DJ. It was just brilliant. Our perfect day :)

All in all a fantastic hotel & wedding venue, we will definately be returning here in the future!

Room Tip: Definately request a sea view - it's worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    84
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
97
152
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We got married at the Grecian in September . The wedding was perfect. The hotel is excellent. Rooms lovely very clean, hotel staff very friendly, breakfast was great. A good choice for all . Clean beach pool towels everyday, BBQ night was fantastic highly recommended to go to. Cheradie wedding co-ordinator very helpful to the brides and made me feel very reassured, angeline the hairdresser was so patient and did a wonderful job. The beach and pool are lovely so clean and quiet. We picked a perfect time of year to go. Highly recommend this hotel - will be going back next year.. And for many years to come . Emma and Wesley

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Grecian Sands with a party of 22 of us as me and partner got married there. We and parents upgraded rooms to sea view before arrival which compared to those that didn't upgrade it was definitely worth it as some got views of the car park at the back, hotel were very accommodating when some decided to upgrade when we arrived in resort. All rooms had air con, stocked mini fridge and safe which is a bonus and the bed was huge and comfortable. We are not particularly fussy but could see how other reviewers state that it needs some updating with bathroom fixtures and lifts etc although this didn't really bother us. Breakfast has huge variety and we always found to be good. Only ate dinner at the hotel once and this was nice but we found men having to wear long trousers abit restrictive plus other restaurants nearby had more variety and are more competitive. Had pre dinner drinks in the bar a few times which has a lovely atmosphere with sofas and candles on the terrace and although drinks are slightly more expensive it wasnt that much more than nearby bars. The location is perfect, right in front of the beach and 5 min walk to bars and restaurants. We found most of the staff very helpful and friendly and the pool area large with spare sunbeds even with the usual reserving that goes on as with most hotels. The free hotel beach towel service every day is a huge bonus so don't worry about taking your own. Our wedding day was amazing, the hotel are used to doing them and we found the staff know exactly what they are doing and will help accommodate anything they can and the venues for the ceremony and reception are just out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We travelled to Cyprus for The Wedding of my son Lance to Emma on the 28th September at the Grecian Sands Hotel the wedding was amazing it really is the place to get married the wedding just flowed the setting where the ceremony took place was stunning the seaview terrace where the reception took place was dressed amazingly and the views were stunning Ayia Napa does cater for all ages the restaurants served fantastic food we would definetly go to the Grecian Sands and Cyprus again

Room Tip: Definetly go for a sea view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited Ayia Napa and the Grecian Sands Hotel for the first time for our daughter's wedding at the end of September and we were very impressed with everything. The location of the hotel and the superb sea views from our room were very good. We often enjoyed a lovely stroll along the waters edge on the beach up to the Harbour. On our pleasant stroll of 20 mins into the centre of Ayia Napa, there were lots of upmarket restaurants and shops to visit and no shortage of anywhere to enjoy a nice meal in the evening. There was also a good bus service outside the hotel and plenty of taxis available. I would agree with other comments in that some of the fixtures and fittings of the hotel need updating but the staff more than made up for that in they were extremely helpful and very pleasant in all areas of the hotel. Finally, as for a wedding venue we couldn't fault anything at all - nothing was too much trouble and the Co-ordinator was regularly in touch with my daughter/son-in-law to ensure all their needs were met for the 'Big Day'. It was a beautiful day that run like clock work from start to finish. We would definitely recommend the whole experience.

Room Tip: Sea view definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

To echo many of the other reviewers who came before me..it's relatively evident that the Grecian Sands is no longer in it's prime. It seems they've made a concentrated effort to upgrade certain aspects of the rooms (i.e. furniture, bath fixtures, etc..), but this is unfortunately where it ends. Cracks along the ceiling in the buffet dining area, broken wood and barely operable key locks on the guest room doors, as well as an old & outdated guest elevator are more prominent signs that this hotel is desperate need of more than an esthetic face lift if they wish to keep their four star rating in tact.... however the staff was friendly, and the location leaves nothing to be desired as it is literally right above the beach.

One should take note that only the sun loungers/umbrellas on the upper level are included for your use at no extra charge..One morning, my fiance and I descended to the lower level (below the pool), and were asked nearly immediately to pay 7.50 Euros each to use the sun beds we had only just begun to occupy....irritating.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a 3rd or 4th floor sea view room. It is absolutely worth the difference in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week in september on a b&b basis.Loved the location right on the beach with superb views of ayia napa bay.Breakfasts were very good with everything that you could want including an egg station where the chef will freshly cook omeletts,fried eggs,pancakes etc.
The room was excellent with a walk in shower instead of standing in the bath.The very large bed was very comfortable and the room was kept very clean.
Overall an excellent weeks stay in the sun and we would highly recommend this hotel and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grecian Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Sands Hotel

Also Known As:
Grecian Sands Ayia Napa
Hotel Grecian Sands
Grecian Sands
Address: 44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Sands Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Holiday Hotel situated on the Mediterranean coast, 45 km from Larnaca Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Grecian Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecian Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.