We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grecian Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Grecian Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Jonkoping, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel has perfect location at the end of the beach! 10 minutes walk in to city center in a quiet location. Room, breakfast and pool area is very good! The only bad thing was the mix of people at the hotel! 90% was people from russia.

Peter and Anna from Sweden!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    106
    33
    16
    4
See reviews for
119
185
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel is in a really nice setting. Lovely (clean) pool, lots of sunbeds (with cushions), private beach with sunbeds (no additional charge). We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was very good. The chef making omelettes may have got a little stressed at times but the omelettes were good and a nice start to the day. Overall, I would say the breakfast was very good for a European hotel.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and even had a managers cocktail night in the bar where guests were given cocktails for free (no catch). This was a very nice touch.

My one gripe with this hotel was the initial room we were allocated. It was disgusting and defo not 4 star. 1 star maybe 2 star at a push. After paying extra money we moved to a modern room. This made the world of difference and my one piece of advice to anyone going here is: this is a lovely hotel but make sure you get a modern room otherwise you are effectively in a 1/2 star room.

I will return but only to a modern room.

Well done to the staff and I would recommend the Greek night as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

When we booked this hotel we were really excited as the ratings online were al pretty good. And although the hotel is lovely, with big rooms and huge beds there are areas that are getting tired. You can see from all the awards the hotel has received in the past (latest one was 2002 that we could see on the wall) that the hotel has been well received, but i think since the opening of Grecian Bay and Grecian Park the focus has not been on this hotel. The hotel also lacked the personal touch and an atmosphere. Most evenings were very quiet for such a large hotel.

The good bits...
The hotel is in a great location, right near Ayia Napa and some lovely restaurants (Abacus, Sage and Quadra) just a short walk away. And the hotel is right next to the beach with some fab views of the coastline both from the rooms and the main eating areas.

The reception area and main bar is spotless and the reception staff are always happy to help. In particular i'd say the outside bar space is gorgeous, very well decorated and lovely space.

There's also a large, cool pool room and a great little on site shop for gifts and beach wear. Plus the maid service is second-to-none. So helpful, friendly and amazingly efficient.


The bad bits...
Don't get me wrong the hotel is a good hotel and if you get a deal with a travel agent when booking you will get value for money but we paid a lot to stay here and it didn't quite meet our expectations.

For example the pool area and gym need some attention for a 4 star hotel. The pool needs re-grouting and the pool area itself although spacious needs a good jet-wash at least once a week and some tiling replacing. It is cleaned, and i can vouch for that, but a simple hose down wasn't enough.

The gym is run down for a 4 star hotel with many times the running machines being out of action or the air con not working properly. The reception staff were always helpful and noted a technician would be called immediately but this never seemed to happen.

Other points:
Some of the rooms particularly the bathrooms are a bit dated in places. (We stayed in two rooms due to a room change based on the booked sea view which wasn't given and saw two others that friends stayed in). As we saw a few rooms its clear that the hotel is updating some of their older rooms as our first room was gorgeous and very new with electric blinds and a contemporary bathroom. But the 2nd room (with the sea-view) wasn't good with a dated bathroom, ill-fitting curtains and cheap balcony furniture along with the two other rooms we saw.

The only other comments are that the pool bar shuts at 6.30 which meant we could never have a late drink in the early evening by the pool unless we went upstairs changed and went into the main bar attached to the restaurant. And the evening entertainment is really poor. They do try and stage evenings like the weekly Friday night BBQ. The food was good and the traditional Greek entertainment ok, but the staff do not help build an atmosphere and we didn't feel looked after compared to those on the all inclusive deals.

Other nights the entertainment, although on, was never really taken up by many residents and the bar was empty most nights. We didn't feel that any of the nights were pushed or suited the general audience staying in the hotel.

With all that said, this is a nice hotel in a great location. Maybe our expectations were a little high therefore we were disappointed with a number of maybe relatively small issues. I do think with a bit of TLC this could be a fab hotel though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC_in_AyiaNapaCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Grecian Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Firstly, thank you for your time in writing a review for trip advisor and for your positive comments. With regards some of your other comments, i feel it necessary to respond to help other trip advisor guests who are reading these reviews.
We did have a particularly humid week, whereby our running machines in our gym were affected.. The technician who repairs our gym equipment is not based in the hotel and we had to wait 2 days for him to visit. However, i am aware, that as a guest you are entitled to be unhappy with this service and we are looking to improve this area with regards maintenance.
You are correct in your comments that some bathrooms are in need of modernising (although not unusable-far from it). We are presently in the middle of a refurbishment of all of our bathrooms. Our refurbishments take place during our winter shutdown months and will continue into this winter shutdown, whereby we hope to complete all work pending.
With regards our pool bar close time, thanks to your comments, we have revised our policy and the pool bar will now stay open later for drinks and cocktails around the pool. Thank you!
I am pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay at the Grecian Sands and i would like to take this time to thank you for your custom! Kindest Regards Susanne-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

On our first visit to cyprus for a family wedding, we stayed at the Grecian Sands. We can not speak highly enough about this hotel, from the location which has direct access to a beautiful beach to the exellent service of the staff who were friendly and approachable. We stayed in a third floor sea view room,( which we paid a supplement for) which was well worth the extra, the view was fantastic.We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the food was exellent and plenty of choice. We would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great staff and hotel
Got married at Grecian Sands in July and couldn’t be happier with everything. The room was spacious and we got a good bed for our 2 year old. However the room could use some updating - specially the bathroom. We could see that they are working on that as we saw rooms in other parts of the hotel that had been updated.
Susanne the wedding coordinator was extremely helpful and made sure that everything went smoothly. She also doesn’t try to sell you the most expensive items on the list but tells you if the cheaper ones are just as good or better.
The ceremony, venue, atmosphere and food was great and couldn’t have been better.
The hotel and surroundings is quiet and relaxed but you are only 15 min away from all the action in Ayia Napa center. The only downside is the price of drinks in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Had our wedding at Grecian Sands and could not have wished for anything better. The staff are so helpful, Susanne the wedding co-ordinator is fantastic and puts you at ease and nothing is too much trouble, Angeline the hairdresser is also fantastic she does a wonderful job of making you look so special. The food at the hotel is wonderful, the hotel is spotless and the staff cannot do enough to help. The hotel is in a nice location far enough away from the hustle and b ustle but easy enough to get to if you fancy it. Highly recommend this hotel especially if you are planning to get married in Cyprus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

after reading some reviews about this hotel we couldnt resist booking it although it was very expensive.when arriving to our room i was shocked to see the state of the bathroom,tiles in need of new grout,a horrible shade of a dirty cream bath which looked as if it had been painted as the overpaint was chipping off & the original white colour showing through,the plug for the bath was missing although the chain was still there,was a very old fashioned grundig tv which you hardly get any channels.at the pool area i also noticed workmen carrying out duties like re tiling round the pool & also people were having to get off there sunbeds & shuffle them around when the grass was getting cut,this was taking place mid to late morning when this area was really busy.breakfast was not the best either.was disappointed in this as on several occasions i had to ask if there were anymore croissants.never seen a smile on any of the maids faces either.overall we didnt think this was up to a 4star hotel & certainly thought it was very over priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecian Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Sands Hotel

Address: 44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Holiday Hotel situated on the Mediterranean coast, 45 km from Larnaca Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grecian Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecian Sands Ayia Napa
Hotel Grecian Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecian Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.