We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Lagoon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olympic Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Olympic Lagoon Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 5330 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
1 review
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here in june 2013 for 2 weeks had a lovely time and birthday this hotel is simply the best of everything .staff , food , entertainment , I will be goin bk nxt year cant wait too see everyone again , best hotel in Cyprus hope too visit sister hotel too nxt year happy hols :))))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    236
    60
    11
    5
See reviews for
702
296
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Been here for a week now and have another week to go, daughter Nicola get;s married in the Olympic gardens this Friday 5th July.
My wife and I are in the Fishermans Village room 717 - very good room, ground floor pool access which is ideal, waiter service with the 'little touches' that make all the difference.
My wife and I have done all inclusive in the Carribean many times 2 of which were with Sandals "luxury included" - they could all learn from this hotel!!
The service is first class, food also, The hotel caters for children and adults only - a rare combination but they pull it off with ease.
The staff, quality of the hotel fittings, architecture etc is first class - the reason for me is very simple - it all comes down to customer focus AND first class training - it is an excellent hotel and I look forward to the wedding and another wonderful week here!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra and have no children - Fishermans Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I recently stayed here with my partner, 8year old son & 19month old daughter. Our full group was a massive total of 81 we stayed here for my best friends wedding luckily she didn’t get married in The Olympic Lagoon as on her wedding day there was 6 brides so I doubt she would have felt that special if she was one of 6 luckily she choose Aphrodite’s Beach Venue in Ayia Napa which was truly amazing. (12th June - 26th June)

Checking in was very quick despite Thomas cook splitting families up to make the holiday cheaper which was appreciated at the time but once we arrived at our room 222 we soon realised what standard room meant it was very small although very clean. We literally had the walk way to use which is a nightmare when you have a 19month child and an 8 year old luckily we didn’t spend our holiday in the hotel room which was a good thing seen as though our lovely view was 2 massive orange pillars!! We did get offered an upgrade for a fee of 250 euro which we declined.

The food is amazing I never had one bad meal whilst there. Every night was a different teamed night from Oriental, around the world night to Thai night. The snacks are average no crisps or ice lollies only ice cream. The Japanese restaurant is amazing defiantly worth a visit or 2. If you like traditional Cypriot food then you would like the Captains deck but that wasn’t for me. I must mention the deserts which where truly mouth watering and amazing if you are a cake lover you will love the deserts.

The actual hotel was Amazing and I can not fault it for anything the entertainment team are abit annoying and have a personal crack between them which I think half the guest didn’t understand. But other than that they where alright.

The above sounds like I didn’t enjoy my stay but I can honestly say despite the small room me and my family loved our stay. The barmaid Natasha made my friends hen night a fantastic night making sure we had plenty of drinks. It's a pity the all inclusive finishes at 11.30p.

The Pool is lovely and always enough sun beds although towards the end of our holiday it was starting to get really busy so I can imagine July August time the pool being jam packed. It great that you are provided with towel cards as you can get fresh towels daily to take down to the pool or beach with you. The maids do a fantastic job everyday.

I do agree with one of the views on here stating is it a family hotel an adults only hotel or a wedding venue as there seems to be a lot of different things going on.

My overall view of this hotel is it’s fantastic and defiantly does deserve its 5 stars. Although we did get stung on my friends wedding day 11.50 euro for fresh orange isn’t this in the all inclusive???? Oh well anyway …… Outstanding hotel, lovely staff, amazing food and I would defiantly be returning in the future I would just book a bigger from to fit a family of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed at the lagoon june 5th 2013 for 14 days. This was our second visit (july 2011 first) daughters wedding which was all you could ask for wonderful. So when we desided to return this year, both couples were keen to see if the standards could match up to the first visit.
From the start the reception was very good with rooms close to each other and pool view, tea facility in our room ( asked for) but our friendies had theirs next day, With many staff still being their from night porter, bar staff, waiters through out the day almost like home but warmer.
Ele (guest relations manager) to top man (jack Frost look like), and bar manager George were very friendly.
Rooms were kept smart, food varied through out the fortnight while the chiefs in the dining room were very helpful with the incredients of all dishes, waiters in the top bar Veronica (ncis watcher) always had a smile a happy outlook.
Even seen the space station go over one night. It has everthing for the young family, couples and the not so young. Room 182
Must stop nearly forgot this is one to try if you also would like some sun as well.

Room Tip: Try pool view so you have sun in the morning and shade in late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

this holiday was the best one i had been on. all the staff at the hotel were the nicest people you could ever meet. also the entertainment team made the holiday. the shows they put on were amazing and each day was something different.the hotel was clean at all times and the variety of food at breakfast and dinner meant there was something for everybody. special mentions to kaci, jade, Alex and Sam which are part of the entertainment team. also Roxanna, maria and Natassa which are the nicest waitresses ever. would defiantly go there again next year as i had such a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

After staying at this hotel many times before we personally felt its just been over taken by weddings, near to the end of our holiday we had a discusting discovery of maggots in the fresh orange juice to be later told by staff all juice was later removed and fruit that caused issue were destroyed unfortunately after taken extremely unwell this frightened my two young children of eating anything further and causing the end to our 11 night holiday abit of a disaster. Still waiting on Thomas cook to investigate even though hotel admited issues and thanked me for keep quiet for the other 900 guests.
Hotel is beautiful but has lost the personal touch junior suites on ground floor could do with bathrooms being updated as sink was all chiped plugs all broken in bath shame especially with the prices I paid for this holiday.
The hotel has constant weddings nice but abit like las
vagas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on line.

Dear Guest, your review indeed saddens us greatly. Firstly allow us to extend our sincere gratitude for staying with us repeatedly and experienced our updated facilities and our exquisite food and beverage outlets fruitfully. We do recall the incident very clearly because issues like this one are very rare at the resort and they stand out in our memory.

Our Executive Chef is extremely pedantic with the HACCP regulations. Unfortunately on that particular day due to the fact the oranges were going through a new large juicer, was difficult to identify any irregularity; therefore the juice was taken away from the buffet immediately which is the logical action to take. The issue has been addressed rigorously with the fruit producer.

Dear Guest, we sincerely apologise for the experience. On your next visit, please contact myself and I shall personally extend all appropriate courtesies to you and your beautiful family for a most enjoyable stay.

Take care and see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went on June 16th and came back on the 1st July, The entertainment staff were amazing with all ages, the shows they put on were truly amazing and the daytime entertainment and activities made the holiday fun. What they do need is fans for the evening shows to keep them cool on the stage. All in all the team are amazing and it was worth every penny, I would like to say thank you to Sam, Kaci, Azza, Kieran, Alex, Jade, Georgie and Annie!

Room Tip: If you get a Junior suit request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lagoon Resort

Address: Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 5330 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Olympic Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One destination ... a whole new world !A perfectly cut gem with multiple facets, the Olympic Lagoon Resort shimmers in different colors, allowing you to enjoy your favorite aspect: The fun facilities for all ages, or the quiet corners designed for two. Both an exciting resort and a tranquil escape, Olympic Lagoon welcomes you to holiday fantasies a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Olympic Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Lagoon Hotel Ayia Napa
Olympic Lagoon Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.