We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Lagoon Resort

Save Saved
You added Olympic Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Olympic Lagoon Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 05330 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 102 hotels in Ayia Napa
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of September/beginning of October 2012. As it was my wife's birthday, we upgraded to the adult-only Fisherman's Village. From the time we arrived it was luxury all the way. We were driven from reception to our room by buggy and escorted inside. The room was beyond our expectations - very modern and spacious with a 4 poster bed and real wooden furniture, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and you could open a dividing screen so that you could watch TV in the bath! The French doors opened out onto a private patio area with really comfortable sun beds, table and chairs. From the patio there were a few steps down to a wonderful swimming pool for exclusive use for Fisherman's Village residents (ie about 25 rooms). The pool had a jacuzzi section and was illuminated at night. Waiters came around the pool every hour to take drinks orders and mid morning and afternoon they brought round cold towels, fresh fruit and cakes. There was a turn-down service every evening when towels and beach towels were changed and chocolates left on our pillows. We had wine, fruit and Cyprus delight on arrival, and again on my wife's birthday. We had beautiful fluffy bath robes and slippers. The cleaner was excellent - always friendly and smiling and she kept our room sparkling and smelling really fresh. You get 1 visit per week to the Japanese restaurant and 2 visits per week to the Cypriot restaurant where the only option is a Greek meze but what a meal!!! This surpassed any meze I've had in any restaurant.The American diner serving hot dogs, burgers, desserts (and great milk shakes) was good if you didn't want a full meal in the evenings, Almost all drinks were included in the all-inclusive package - even most cocktails - the frozen strawberry daiquiri was to die for! There is an adult only bar in the evenings which had really good entertainment which was additonal to the family entertainment in the pool bar. There were good singing acts, a drag show and even Chris Andre (Peter's brother) - probably the best entertainment I've had at a hotel. Food in the main restaurant was mainly good, especially breakfast which included a good selection of cereals including Weetabix! The staff couldn't do enough for you and the manager was always on hand checking that everything was OK. The hotel is quite a way outside Ayia Napa but for us this was part of its appeal. The local bus stops just outside the rear entrance to the hotel and you can go anywhere eg to Protaras or Paralimni on the bus for 2 euros or a day ticket for 3 euros. A taxi into Ayia Napa was 9 euros if you booked at reception. All in all the best holiday we've ever had and we'd love to go back when we can afford it (we notice that the price has increased significantly for next year).

Room Tip: In the Fisherman's Village ask for a ground floor room (only 2 floors). The ground floor rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    736
    185
    46
    9
    4
See reviews for
531
225
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Admittedly, I have not been a great fan of All Inclusive places, especially as they often create waste in food, encourage people not to see what is outside the hotel and they take away business that is essential to the local community. Having said that, stayed at the Olympic Lagoon with friends for a week in October and had a great time. We stayed in one of the upgraded bungalows with private garden and as 3 adults, it was far away enough from the busy children areas. The room was kept immaculately clean throughout the week and although there was a little language barrier with the maids, that did not matter as they fulfilled every duty.
The grounds are kept clean and tidy and we never saw any rubbish, main swimming pool was lovely, although slightly too cold but our favourite (and many others) was the lazy river - we spent hours every day just floating about, very relaxing.
Most food was of very high quality for a buffet - always something new to try and fresh at all times. Some food was cooked in front of our eyes. What I was impressed with was that I did only notice minimum waste - which indeed is impressive. We did not try the speciality restaurants.
The greatest asset of this hotel is the staff, every single one of them provided outstanding service, attentive and up for a laugh at times. Roland and Cassandra especially - they deserve a medal! Clearly there is some seriously good training available...

Some people have mentioned the weddings. Yes, we saw a few but it did not really bother us as they were not 'in our faces'. We knew about that before we booked so would not be fair to complain about it anyway.

All in all, great holiday and everyone should find something to do. Only downside, there was only one pool table and one table tennis table. We never had the chance to play....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

amazing resort! it has everything you could possibly ever want from a hotel!! the food is amazing! im a really fussy vegetarian and there was so much choice for me! you must try the american diner and the Japanese restaurant they're both amazing! the entertainment crew are also great and get everyone who wants to involved. having the lazy river just made this hotel for me! we never even had to wait to go on! the one negative is location, there isnt really anything to do near the hotel. but other than that the best holiday ive ever had in europe!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

very expensive for what you get look after wedding partys first but overall cant complain people in fishermans village think there something special only human same as us food ,drink spot on staff lovely just that level of priority is nor right all on holiday ? hotel needs to sort it out is it kids hotel-adult hotel or wedding hotel trying to get best off all

Room Tip: if u got money fishermans village if not with rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts.

The Olympic Lagoon Resort indeed accommodates the needs of families, couples, and wedding couples of course. We have been operating and supported by these markets very successfully for years now. Having stayed at the Olympic Lagoon as a guest yourself, we believe you are aware of all the updated family facilities the resort has to offer such as family suites, family bungalows, swimming pools for families, the lazy river, dining experiences, kids Club, the high-tech Teenz club, mini disco and loads of entertainment. For our couples, we offer adults only relaxing area with a generous size swimming pool, adults only entrainment, adults only dining areas and Adults only accommodation venues such as Fisherman’s Village and Olympic Bay.

The Fisherman’s Village and Olympic Bay guests indeed have privileges because they pay premium rates for that extra attention i.e. cold towels served twice a day and fresh fruit & cakes served around the Fisherman’s Village pool daily. These venues have designated staff members to look after guests beverage needs during their stay as well.

Dear Guest, each market has its uniqueness; as industry professionals we have an obligation to make sure that each market is looked after properly. We pride ourselves for the level of attention we offer to ALL our guests and we assure you that we shall continue our service excellence for many years to come.
We are looking forward to seeing you at the Olympic in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. The communal areas, pools and landscaped gardens are really good. The rooms are basic but immaculately clean. Food is plentiful and really good for an AI. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and help make a pleasant stay. The entertainment staff are surprisingly good and provided some entertaining shows. F or me one of the great advantages of the hotel is that adults have been considered as well as families. I have had stays at other hotels spoilt by unruly children been left to run amok whilst their parents chill out elsewhere. Here adults have their own pool and after 2100 their own bar. Families and children of all ages are well catered for with either kids or teen clubs. The pool bar offers families a place of entertainment on the evenings. I agree with all the positive comments in the other reviews. It really is a great place to stay!
Safe provided in room as part of AI/Towel cards issued for pool towels./UK plug sockets/Local bus 1 euro to Ayia Napa (walk able), Protaras etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there for the last 11 days of the season, 24th Oct - 4th Nov, and was a bit quite towards the end of our holiday. There was 4 of us (my wife and our 2 daughters and myself).
I can't fault the hotel and we are already looking to go back but will be taking the rest of our family for big 40th birthday holiday.
The hotel was clean and modern with different areas of the hotel to suit your needs. The pools are great with a quiet adult pool near the main part of the hotel and restaurants area, the children's pool has loads of room for the kids and a small pool with pirate ship for playing in and has water flowing everywhere. There was also a lazy river and on the hot days was heaven to just lay in and drift around.
Food was a bit the same towards the end of our holiday as the day we left the hotel closed until March. There is a number of restaurants to eat at and there is a small kiosk called the blue lagoon with served pre-made sandwiches and drinks.
The main restaurant served breakfast, lunch, snacks and evening meals which have a changing theme. There are also three themed restaurants which we only tried the rock a roll diner which was not what I was expecting and sadly let the side down, and as a result never tried the other two themed restaurants but plan to on our next visit.
The pool bar area was very nice and is where the kids club night disco and evening entertainment was held, which my kids loved and the entertainers where very very good,
I did learn that they will be changing that area before March as when it does rain there some of the roof is only designed to keep the sun off and this would stop the evening shows.
They had a wide range of drinks available in the all inclusive deals, the staff were all very good that we got to know them.
There is a local beach only a couple of minutes walk from your room and lovely but could be a bit quite with only a few shops, the better beach of Nissy Beach (only 15 minutes walk) which was very busy even though it was end of season.
The weather was very good with only a couple days of thunder storms which only lasted a couple of hours, but I would say the on average 25 everyday.
Like I said we all loved it that we will be going back next year and soooo looking forward to it.

Family Field

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice and clean but make sure you get the sized room for you all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Spent last week of the season, 28th Oct - 4th Nov, at the Olympic Lagoon so was quite quiet towards the end of the week. We went in the Oct half term, me my husband and 14 year old daughter.
I can't fault the hotel. It was clean and modern with different areas of the hotel to suit your need. The pools are fab. A quiet adult one near the reception area with plenty of sun beds, a children's pool down a level with loads of room for the kids and a small pool with pirate ship for the little ones. We used the adult one as our daughter just sunbathed and read books. Sun beds galore for everyone. Food was fab, plenty of it served all day albeit at different locations. The blue lagoon served pre-made sandwiches and drink from a hut near the children's pool if you just wanted a quick takeaway...the main restaurant served breakfast, lunch, snacks and evening meal. There a two themed restaurants, one Japanese and one Cypriot. We only tried the Cypriot and the meal was good but nit outstanding. Surrounding the restaurant area is a stream filled with fish and the gardens were beautiful and well kept. At the bottom of the hotel new bungalows have been built with tiny pools and at the side of the main hotel are blocks of 4 villas with access to a lazy river. We didn't go to any entertainment but heard it and it sounded like everyone was having a good time. The drinks and wide and varied and irish coffee flowed. Staff were all pleasant and helpful and we had no problems while we were there so that speaks volumes. The beach is a couple of minutes walk and looked lovely but because it was the end of the season there was hardly anyone about. The beds were the most comfortable i have every slept in whilst away. There was a kids club and teens club but cant comment as we didn't use them. There is an indoor pool and spa. The prices for the treatments in the spa were, I thought, expensive. The hotel isn't really near anything i.e. shops and restaurants but we didn't go to shop or eat out with all inclusive. There is a supermarket at the rear of the hotel if you need anything.
All in all we had a quiet relaxing holiday which is what we wanted. The weather was fab, on average 28degress everyday but at this time of yearnthe best of the sun had gone by 3pm and is dusky at 4pm.

Room Tip: If you want to be even more private, book the garden rooms with the lazy river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympic Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lagoon Resort

Also Known As:
Olympic Lagoon Hotel Ayia Napa
Olympic Lagoon Hotel
Olympic Lagoon
Olympic Lagoon Ayia Napa
Address: Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 05330 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Olympic Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One destination ... a whole new world !A perfectly cut gem with multiple facets, the Olympic Lagoon Resort shimmers in different colors, allowing you to enjoy your favorite aspect: The fun facilities for all ages, or the quiet corners designed for two. Both an exciting resort and a tranquil escape, Olympic Lagoon welcomes you to holiday fantasies a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Olympic Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.