We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olympic Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Olympic Lagoon Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 5330 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a FAB hotel, the staff were so polite & friendly they could not do enough for you. And the Entertainment staff were BRILLIANT i dont now how they done it. just read AZTECS27 coments they have said it all. we are going back next year (2013) just looking at prises now. we loved everything about it.

Room Tip: if you have more than 1 child you will get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    246
    62
    11
    5
See reviews for
747
317
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

just arrived back from the best holiday ever, hotel was a1+, spotlessly clean, very polite friendly staff, my son and daughter in law had there wedding day there,hotel staff were amazing with the arrangements, food was fantastic, buffet had so much to choose from, rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels and beach towels provided, been home 3 days , looking to go back asap, this holiday is worth every penny ,

Room Tip: apartments are ideal for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are just coming to the end of a two week holiday at the Olympic Lagoon so I wanted to write this whilst still fresh in my memory. Please be wafned, this review is long but should give you a good in-depth review of this hotel. Also bare in mind that I'm not a typical trip advisor user where I nit pick and find fault with the most ridiculous of things and make a big deal about it; however, I will be as transparent as possible in the small niggles that I noticed whilst here.

I'll break it down into categories to make it easier to digest!

-Rooms:
We booked a junior suite and were pleased upon first impressions with the size and amenities in the room. Bedroom TV was a bit dated but worked fine, but the one in our lounge area was a brand new flat screen.
Bathroom was a bit dated (the only blemish on the room if I clutch at straws!) but perfectly clean every day with a great shower. Bed is huge and very comfortable and the terrace/garden area was huge (only downside was we had a view of a field, not much to look at but most of Cyprus looks like this!). It didn't matter much as we always had our curtains closed to keep the heat out!

We were also fortunate enough to get an upgrade to the adult only Fisherman's Village for the last 5 days of our stay. It has it's own pool area and separate from the rest of the complex. Its absolutely amazing and perfect if you don't have/like kids and can afford it. It's only a few years old and the rooms have been superbly done. Whirlpool baths, complimentary robes, flat screen tv, four-poster bed and a big balcony or patio right onto the pool (if you're on the ground floor) Down by the pool you get cold towels bought to you twice a day, fresh fruit mid-morning and a sweet treat in the afternoon. The pool is huge and it never feels busy. Perfect place to relax.

-Main pool areas:
They have got this just right imho. If you are a couple with no kids, the adult only pool is perfect. Hardly any kids noise to be heard and a great place to relax. Its close to the pool bar and you will ALWAYS find a bed. We were here when the hotel was at capacity and we always got a bed, even if we didn't put our towels down before 9.
If you fancy the bigger pool or you have kids, then the main pool and kids pool (with the coolest pirate ship ever! Made me wish I was a kid again) are great. The main pool sees salt of traffic but is big enough to not feel cramped. Has some nice waterfalls to cool off too. They do all the main water activities in here too if you want to get involved (more about that later). As I mentioned, the kids pool is perfect for kids to keep them entertained all day.

All inclusive food/drink:
This really is as advertised. I never felt hungry in the two weeks we were here. The chefs do a great job of varying the food as much as they can and although breakfast is the same every day, there is plenty to choose from so you font get bored. Lunch and dinner always feature something different. Yes, you get dishes repeated in the two weeks but there is only so many different dishes you can cook on a massive scale or so many different ways to prepare salads etc! I didn't ever feel bored with what I was eating and no matter what time of the service you eat, its always fresh. What's also great is that each week you are here you can eat once at their on-site Japanese restaurant and twice at their Captain's Deck restaurant which serves local Cyprus meze cuisine. Both of these are superb and are a nice change as they are waiter service rather than the all you can eat self serve buffet in the main restaurant. They are both more intimate settings and the show cooking and atmosphere of Kiku (Japanese restaurant) in particular was great.

Service:
This is where this hotel stands out from a lot of others I have stayed in (which is a fair few). The service here is impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. From the receptionists, to the bellmen, to the hosts and waitresses in the restaurant to the guys at the pool bar. They are all friendly, chatty, helpful and happy to help in whatever way possible to make your holiday even better.

Entertainment:
the entertainment team, in short, were fantastic. Working hard every day to keep your kids (and/or parents or those without kids) entertained all day and night. They will do the rounds by the pool looking for participants in various activities but aren't at all pushy and are very friendly. There's plenty to keep everyone entertained (water polo and winning the pool bar music quiz on multiple occasions were our favourites!) throughout the day and the bingo and evening shows were good (with the exception of a few but they also have daily, more intimate shows in the (air conditioned!) adult only Cinnamon Bar.
There was also the kids and teenz clubs which were great for the kids (or so I was told by a friends with kids) if they didn't want to be in the pool all day, and gave the parents a bit of a break!

-Spa:
Not usually one for Spa treatments but decided to get a couples full body massage. I am sold. They have great facilities and the treatments are worth every penny. I've never felt so relaxed!

-Location
Perfectly located far enough away from downtown Ayia Napa if you are avoiding it, but a short bus ride for 1 euro (or negotiated taxi-never pay more than 8 euros! You can easily negotiate!) if you fancy the carnage in Napa.
There's a supermarket right outside the back of the complex which sell everything you will need and is relatively cheap. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk across the road through the sister 'Olympic Bay' hotel and the Waterpark is a kilometre away on the same road that the hotel sits on.

-Weddings:
There are a lot of weddings at the hotel. They wont intrude with your holiday but you will see a lot of brides. The main reason we went was for a friend's wedding and I have to say, they do a superb job. If you're thinking of having a sun soaked wedding, you'd be very happy having it here, I'm sure. Aside from the 48 degree weather, our friends' wedding was really beautifully done. They have a number of different packages to suit all budgets and really help you deal with everything. I was very impressed! Just dont do it in the middle of July when the weather is nearly 50 degrees! It can be quite unbearable!

-Overall:
I really cannot find fault with the place. A perfect holiday from start to finish. Also, its worth noting that there seems to be a number of free upgrades that happen. We came with a big party for the wedding, and there were 3 rooms from our party that got upgraded to the fishermans village on arrival and a number of guests were upgraded (including us) to the same place or to the the 5 star olympic bay across the road. I assume this is due to overbooking and high demands, so you may get lucky!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

this hotel is fantastic i have stayed at this hotel 4 times with my family will soon be 5 people say why do you go back to the same place i say if you go to this hotel you will see why we go back.all i can say to anyone who is thinking of going to this hotel DONT THINK JUST BOOK IT this place is amazing you will love it and you will end up like me going back for more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived early hours on Monday 9th July 2012, we were offered water and sandwiches on arrival and check in was very quick and efficient, the hotel realise that everyone is tired after the flight and transfer (around 40 mins). You get taken to your room via a golf buggy so you don’t need to drag your cases through the hotel grounds, big bonus.

Room
We stayed at the Fishermans Village for one week. Our room was 709, it was very large, immaculate with a large king sized bed, large wardrobe (but not enough hangers), free safe, LCD TV, hairdryer, air con, mini fridge stocked with 2 orange juice, 2 soft drinks and 2 water (these are not replenished) and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was again immaculate, with toilet, sink, Jacuzzi bath with shower and a separate shower, included is an array of toiletries which are replenished on a daily basis. Beach towels were provided and changed daily along with bath and hand towels. We requested a ground floor room (highly recommend). On our patio are two sun loungers with small table and parasol, two cushioned patio chairs and glass table. The pool was just a few steps away so the room felt like a swim-up room. Rooms upstairs have balcony with I think the same furnishings but they have to come downstairs to be poolside. If you are a sun worshiper I would recommend the following room, ours 709 had sun from early morning until around 4pm then we were in the shade (this is when we used our Lilo). Room 701, 703, 719, 721, 723 seemed to have the sun until later in evening.

Pools
There are a few pools, (childrens, general/activity and adults only pool), they all look very nice, but we only used the pool that is allocated for people staying in Fishermans Village (blue wrist bands, everyone else has gold), it’s never overcrowded as there are only 24 rooms, no fighting for sun loungers, very relaxing and peaceful (adults only). The pool was wonderful and warm; you could swim and even use a Lilo. Also around this pool you get drinks waiter and some other waiter services (not sure if these happen around other pools), cold towels twice a day, fresh fruit, cakes/sweets and a drinks waiter every hour. It was fantastic.

Entertainment
There is something going on all day long, (water aerobics, table tennis) the entertainment team work incredibly hard and long hours to keep everyone entertained. The evening shows at the Lagoon Bar looked very entertaining (children’s disco, bingo, magic shows) lot of variety, families with children will love it but as we have no children we tended to use the Cinnamon bar (Adults only after 9pm). There is always background music with live artists starting around 9pm/10pm. Highlight of week was Chris Andre (Peter’s brother) plays Guitar and Violin, really enjoyed it, plays an array of music from traditional Zorba the Greek (gets everyone clapping) to Dire straits, Eric Clapton, Pink Floyd plus many more. He’s also a very friendly and genuine guy, chatted with him until 2am (when Cinnamon Bar shuts).

Food
Overall very good, never had any issues with food not being hot, not the best AI I’ve been too but they try very hard and we had no complaints. Everything we ate was very tasty.

Royal Olympic (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner): buffet style with different themes each night. No reservation needed. You can eat inside or out, we mainly ate out in adults only section.
Breakfast – Good Selection of food from fruit, cereal, cold meat and cheese, English Breakfast, toast, croissants, waffles, omelettes etc.
Lunch and Dinner – Both very similar, more of a selection for dinner but overall a good selection of food from Salad, Pasta, Grilled/Roast Meats (Pork, Chicken Beef and Lamb), plain or in sauces (Curry, Garlic, Pepper etc), Fish, Pizza, Rice, Potatoes, Chips etc. They try very hard to change the menu and give variety but for me the food got repetitive as the week went on. I felt even though it was a different theme the dishes was the same dishes but in a different sauce (hope you know what I mean). Desserts presentation could be improved; by the time everyone had taken a slice of pudding it sometimes didn’t look very appetising.

Captains Deck (Dinner only): traditional Cyprus Meze, reservation needed, twice per week. Set menu which you will need a big appetite to finish. The food just keeps coming. What I remember was first Chicken and Rice Soup with bead and pita, then Greek Salad, then three dishes (Moussaka, Veg in tomato sauce, Pork dish) then meatballs, then another four dishes (Lamb in sauce, Beef with onions, Chicken Kebab and chips) then dessert. Food is very tasty with good atmosphere and all staff makes you feel very welcoming.

Kiku (Dinner only): Japanese, reservation needed, only once per week. You get a choice of two starters, around six mains and four desserts. We ordered Sushi and Japanese noodles to start, both very tasty, mains I had chicken teriyaki and partner had duck dish again really good, dessert we both had chocolate mousse, Mmm Mmm. Staff very friendly and welcoming, enjoyed watching chef juggling his knives.

Rock n’ Roll Diner (Dinner only): 50’s & 60’s theme, no reservation needed, we only went there once, choice of salads, burgers and desserts. We had burger with curly fries and cheesecake for dessert. It’s ok if you like burgers, great for families.

Staff
They all work very hard to keep the high standards of service and cleanliness throughout the resort. Rooms are cleaned daily sometime twice and hotel grounds are kept immaculate. Would like to thank everyone for making our stay special and a special thank you to Valentine, Cassandra, Eva and Andrea (hope spelling is correct), the drinks waiters from Cinnamon Bar they were always very attentive and my glass was never empty.

All Inclusive
We have stayed in many all inclusive hotels around the world and compared to these this hotel was a bit disappointing.
Drinks – good selection of cocktails, local beers and spirits all included in AI package but are only included until 12 midnight. After this you must pay for all drinks (Cinnamon Bar shuts at 2am not sure about Lagoon Bar). Branded imported beers and spirits must be paid for as expected.
Room service - not included in AI package you must pay for this.

General and Tips
Always get a few bottles of water at breakfast and lunch to restock your fridge.
The beach is a short walk across the road. It has loungers, a few bars and water sports (Jet Ski’s cost €35 for 20mins).
There is a supermarket just outside hotel which stocks everything you could need.
Getting around was very easy. The bus stop is just past the supermarket, the bus comes every 20 minutes at just €1 euro each way, no matter how far you go and runs until 4am.
Taxi rank just by Supermarket, cost between €8 to €10 Euros to get to Aiya Napa.
Weddings even though there was a few every day they didn’t bother me, they all looked very nice and the grounds are beautiful for photos.
UK travellers won’t need plug adapters, sockets are UK 3 pin.
If you fancy a change (after AI finished at 12) and you don't want the bright lights for Aiya Napa, if you turn right outside hotel, past supermarket, keep walking for around 5-10 mins there are a few bars and tavarns that stay open til late. Recommend The Kings Sword and Paradise Alley both open till at least 3/4am, (live entertainment, karaoke, sports on TV etc)

Overall
We had fantastic week and would definitely go back to Fishermans Village. The weather was fantastic with temperature reaching over 40 degrees, sometimes it was too hot to lie in it.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor room at Fishermans Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The best hotel / complex i have ever stayed in. The staff were very polite and very helpful, the food was outstanding as was the entertainment, the kids club was the best i have ever seen. the complex was always spotless and i mean spotless. i would recomend the Olympic Lagoon to anyone it is a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with outside gardens are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'm 14 and i stayed their in May for 2 weeks; it was great! There was a lot of activities going on throughout the day for everyone to enjoy; kids,teens and adults. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure that you got what you were hoping for. The food was AMAZING! There was a huge buffet in the main restaurant with everything to it! From a roast dinner to pizza or salad! If you ever get bored of that their is an American Diner next door which me and my family checked out, it was beautifully decorated and the food tasted great! ( not as good as the main restaurant's though ). The entertainment was extremely good, if i had to rate it, i would say 5 out of 5! Their was a kids mini disco starting at 8 'till 9 which my 2 year old brother enjoyed attending! Then their was bingo, and a quiz from 9 'till 10, so the entertainers could get ready for their show! Then their was the big show at 10! Sam and Olly were great! Both have beautiful voices! The shows are different every night for e.g rock night, glee tribute, abba tribute, sam and olly sang a few songs, casino night where all the dancers took place. Also every week their was somebody that came in and did a show, when i was their one night Razzi for Britains got talent was their with his dance troup, and the next their was a fire act! The apartments were really good; and their was a lovely back garden with a swimming pool, volleyball net, and a bar outside it, which we usually hung out as a family whilst my little brother was asleep, and then we all enjoyed the pools, where we could spend time as a family. Their was a main pool, a kids pool with the pirate ship, an adults pool, and an indoor pool. All were fantastic! My older brother even got his hair cut in the hair salon! We organised many trips to a water park, and a camel park, and to go shopping at a market, which was great fun. I recommend this holiday a lot;D

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool; the other rooms face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lagoon Resort

Address: Xylofagou-Agia Napa Rd, Ayia Napa 5330 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olympic Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One destination ... a whole new world !A perfectly cut gem with multiple facets, the Olympic Lagoon Resort shimmers in different colors, allowing you to enjoy your favorite aspect: The fun facilities for all ages, or the quiet corners designed for two. Both an exciting resort and a tranquil escape, Olympic Lagoon welcomes you to holiday fantasies a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Olympic Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Lagoon Hotel Ayia Napa
Olympic Lagoon Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.