We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Faros Hotel to your Saves list
Faros Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makarios Ave 34 | P.O.Box 30515, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

excellent hotel,close to harbour and far enough away from the clubs,refurbished hotel far better than its 3+ grade..rooms very nice,food ( breakfast ) really good ...staff always had time for you ..
and very helpful
If one had to make a negative comment ..it would have to be no tea/coffee facilities in room..given that the bar shut at 12.00pm and breakfast was not until 07.30am the wife (she who must be obeyed )not happy ..so went and bought a kettle..management please take note thank you ..
ps will be returning next year

Room Tip: try and get a room in the garden suites .sun up 05.00am sit out on balcolny beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your kind words for our product, our staff and the services offered.

We have noted your comment and please note that is in the Management's plans as well to offer these facilities in the rooms.

Looking forward seeing you next year.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    61
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
77
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights/10 days in June 2014. Arrived very late on the Monday night and there was no food available so went over the road to Jello for dinner which was lovely. Next day we experienced the all inclusive which was very disappointing. We only had 8 days all inclusive as they cut our all inc bands off on check out day which I have never experience before.

FOOD - Disappointing. Not the best and only about 8 hot dishes, salads, couple of puddings and fruit to chose from in the evenings. Lunch was ok when we were there. Very simalr to dinner but half the choice so about 6/4 dishes to chose from. Snacks inbetween meals were non existent!! We had a measly sandwich but we only had this as noticed other people with all inc bands having them, its not advised to you that this is included. Breakfast was not nice at all. We ate out 4 nights as we did just not enjoy the food.

DRINKS - Felt watered down. Limited choice on cocktails and a lot are not included. Every time we had a drink we had to sign for it which got really tedious. Swim up bar not included in all inc which was disappointing.

ROOM - Fantastic!! Very modern and up to date. Safe didn't work but was fixed in a few hours. Air con was nice and cool. Cleaning service not great, had to complain about this when there. Fantastic view of the pool and sea and lovely big balcony to enjoy this.

POOL - Again fantastic! Lovely and big with plenty of space to swim and loads of loungers available so no need to rush down in the morning.

STAFF - Dimitrious and Eva were lovely. All other staff ok.

OVERALL - The all inclusive was a waste of money and wished I had not paid for this. Too many "rules" in the hotel as well which you are given at check in which really should be advised before booking. Hotel had mainly occupied by Russian guests which are pretty rude and greedy when it come to dinner time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ms. Jones,

We thank you for taking the time to express your views and comments in connection with your stay in our Hotel in June 2014.

Allow us to respond to all the issues raised:

Our kitchen finishes servicing dinner at 21:30, as is a common practice for kitchens of Hotels around the world to close at the evening. Since you informed us that you were arriving late, we asked you the approximate time of your arrival so as to make the necessary arrangements but we received no answer.

Regarding the dinner, we have seven different theme nights, varying from Cyprus, BBQ, Italian, Fish, Tropical, Carvery and International nights. We display 10 to 11 hot dishes, plus 9 different Salads, a variation of 5 fresh fruits, 5 Sweets and cheese with biscuits, a Menu which we believe rich enough and give many options for people to choose from. Regarding the breakfast, we have a wide variety of choices with 11 hot dishes, 9 cold dishes, 8 different kind of breads / croissants, 6 kind of cereals, cakes, 5 different kind of yogurts, 2 kind of cakes, 7 different kind of fruits and a variation of cold salad vegetables. We do not claim that we are perfect and despite the fact that our questionnaire scores for the dinner are extremely high, we constantly try to improve ourselves and the quality of the food.

The swim up bar is not included in the all-inclusive and the reason is that is very small to accommodate the drinks included to A/I package, the main bar though is a few meters away to enjoy your drinks. For control purposes, every time you order something you need to sign your bill.

The rules given at the time of check in to all guests are rules that apply in the vast majority of the hotels in the world. “Smoking is not allowed in public areas and hotel rooms, protecting the hotel’s property, not accommodating people from outside the hotel into your rooms without notifying the reception for safety purposes and no misbehavior in order to respect other guests” are simple and apply everywhere.

I was honestly very surprised to read your comments since I personally talked with you three times during your stay and asked you if everything was fine and you said yes everything is perfect. A couple of nights before your departure an unfortunate incident occurred in the morning hours, where the receptionist following the hotel rules has, inexcusably, caused you wrath and you acted in an impolite way against the receptionist and night security guard. It must be noted that in the rules we list the obligations of all concerned, for the benefit especially for security reasons. In fact, in the said leaflet, it is clearly stated that “Offering accommodation by our guests to third persons is not allowed”. This happens for security reasons since everybody (by Law) must pass from the reception, present their ID and pay for the accommodation, especially at 03:30 in the morning. You realize that this might cause many safety problems to the other guests and we need to control it, for your own safety.

We are very sorry for the above-mentioned incident however we hope that our reply provides sufficient explanations for all points raised. Needless to say that we shall keep trying to improve the quality of services we offered.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel is only a 3 star but it is more like a 4. The rooms have been refurbished so are now looking modern and are quiet spacious. The rooms are very clean with good balcony views. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful especially the bar staff Demetris and Andy who looked after us and made us feel welcome.Also the restaurant staff Monica and Eva very helpful and polite. The pool area is nice size and kept clean and tidy. We went all inclusive and there was a good choice of food and the food overall was very good. G & H

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Traveler,

On behalf of the Management and the staff we would like to thank you so much for your kind words for our facilities and services offered.

We are glad that you had a nice time and looking forward welcoming you again at the Faros.


Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night family holiday (x2 adults & x2 children aged 15 & 11yrs).

Firstly I would like to congratulate the Faros on the exceptionally friendly staff within the hotel. In particular Andys and Dimitris in the bar, Monica and Eva in the restaurant and Lauri in entertainment were all excellent. The management team at the Faros were visible on a daily basis, however it was a shame that they didn't make an effort to speak to guests. They just seemed to wander about looking very down in the mouth (unlike their staff) with not even a hello or good morning to passing guests. In my opinion this is not good enough and they should be leading by example.

The rooms in the hotel (we stayed in Garden Suite 2003 ground floor) have all been recently refurbished to a high standard which I would rate as 4*. Guests leave returnable deposits at reception to obtain keys for the safe and fridge in the rooms. If staying in the Garden annexe no charge is made for using the fridge but they do charge 1.5 euro per day for the safe. The only thing which would have been useful would be a mirror above or on the dressing table. The hairdryer supplied is plugged in (all 3 pin sockets) via a draw in the wardrobe and hence the only mirror is full length and on the back wall near the wardrobes. We found the maid service to be adequate. As we had a very late flight on our final day, after checking out at 12noon the reception staff were very helpful, allowing us to use excellent shower facilities and changing rooms in the basement of the hotel. Please note that due to the Faros not being featured in most UK tour operator brochures, a large proportion of the guests are Russian, Norwegian, Swedish etc with only a small number being from GB. You should also be aware that quite a few large groups of young people do use the hotel as a base and hence do come back to the hotel in the early hours after a nights clubbing. The Faros does have a security guard employed from early evening until the following morning who deals with any noise problems immediately.

The public areas of the hotel such as the indoor/outdoor bar, pool bar area and restaurant would benefit from a refurbishment as they look a little tired and dated. During our stay only a very small number of people appeared to be staying on an All Inclusive basis (including us). As with most hotels you are limited to locally produced drinks, however the all inclusive bar menu is more than adequate with a good choice of drinks including cocktails. For some strange reason all inclusive guests are not allowed drinks from the swim up pool bar - does make you feel a bit like a second class citizen! The food presentation in the restaurant is very basic with items in heated mobile cabinets which look a bit tired and battered, however the food we ate was always well cooked and hot. For those who have holidayed all inclusive in some of the bigger hotels like those in Turkey, please do not expect anything like the same at the Faros - no ice sculptures, show cooking or elaborate displays. The food we had was plain and simple, good quality, well cooked and hot so I don't suppose you can ask much more of a 3*. Breakfast included the usual continental offering as well as cooked breakfast items, toast and fresh fruit. The hotel needs at least 40 guests staying AI for them to provide a buffet at lunch time. During our stay the alternative offered was a reduced a la carte menu (3 courses) for those on AI which was cooked to order and of a good standard. Evening meals follow a 7 day timetable of themed nights including amongst others Italian Night, BBQ, Carvery, International, Cypriot and Fish. Soup was always available as a starter followed by hot options, salad, desserts and fresh fruit.

Entertainment is available during the day including darts, killer pool and water polo. On an evening quizzes and bingo are on offer in addition to two themed nights with traditional Cypriot Dancing by a visiting group.

Altogether we had an enjoyable stay at the Faros made special by the lovely staff we met as previously mentioned. Cyprus is such a beautiful island that it is well worth hiring a car (drive on left) and exploring Nicosia (take your passports to cross over boarder into Turkish side), Troodos Mountains, the beaches at Nissi, Protaras (inc Fig Tree Bay) and the caves at Cape Greco.

Room Tip: If in main bit of hotel ask for harbour or road facing as rooms looking east may have noise due to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your kind words for our Hotel.

We have noted and examining carefully your comments and please rest assure that we are constantly trying to upgrade our products and services so as to keep our clientele satisfied and to return again and again to our property.

Please note that on the basis of a three phase renovation / extension master plan, we have finished all the guest rooms this winter, we are planning to fully renovate the Hotel public areas
and upgrade the Hotel into a 4*.

Looking forward seeing you at the Faros int he future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPRUS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent Location, friendly staff more 4 than 3 stars, spacious and renovated rooms;good view; good room cleaning could be better; lovely swimming pool with bar, very close to bars restaurants and beach

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back at the Faros in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Don't loose time fetching other than Faros Hotel in Ayia Napa if you're looking for an exceptional location, service, view, budget, generosity, freshness, spot less. It's an outstanding hotel, I don't know why it's called 3 stars in fact it seems as a 5 stars hotel ....

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Imad,

We have read you comment and we must admit we are speechless. Best title / compliment we have ever seen for our Property! We shall use this title to advertise our property.

Thank you so much for your good words and looking forward welcoming you at the Faros soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

+ good location;
+ more 4 thant 3 stars;
+ very tasty food;
+ spacious and renovated rooms;
+ good view;
+ pleasant staff.
- room cleaning could be better;
- hotel is not in the center, but it is still impossible to sleep with open balcony;
- plastik furniture outside (looks cheap).

Room Tip: Best and quieter rooms are with view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelos V, General Manager at Faros Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, the staff and the services offered.

We emphasize our efforts for good service to our clients in quality and hygiene and we shall take care of your note to improve ourselves in the future.

Looking forward welcoming you again at the Faros.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel

Address: Makarios Ave 34 | P.O.Box 30515, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet setting off the fishing harbour of Ayia Napa, Faros Hotel is a short walk away from the sandy beaches of Ayia Napa, its tavernas and night spots. From every point of the hotel you can enjoy a superb view of sparkling blue waters. All guestrooms and garden suites are spacious with balcony and a view to the Mediterranean Sea. Our beautiful landscape gardens and free shape swimming pool, with Jacuzzi and fountain are an attraction on their own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Faros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.