We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star cost . 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Aeneas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Aeneas Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Aeneas Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Nissi Ave, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 star cost . 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having paid top dollar for 5 star hotel we were quite dissapointed. Weve stayed at this hotel before, but it is now getting old and tired around the edges. The staff were very good but the food and general cleanliness of the building were not up to 5 star standard

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    236
    101
    30
    12
See reviews for
374
386
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a half term break & would agree with most of the other recent reviews. We had 2 lovely refurbshed rooms with the extras you would expect in a 5* Hotel - bath robes, slippers, Working fridge, wine glasses in your room and wine, water & fruit on arrival. The pool area was lovely, although a little cold for swimming, loads of sunbeds and quiet areas. Overall a great holiday, if this is a 5* or not I am not sure but we paid a lot loss than other 5* in Cyprus for this week so we were more than happy. We stayed on half board and enjoyed the food available including the a'la carte restaurant and found drinks and extras in the hotel to be reasonably priced and good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea west glamorgan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just come back after spending a week at atlantic spa fantastic hotel staff very friendly and helpful food was really good location very good . Special mention to the 2 Reka from Hungarian they were fantastic very polite always smiling plus great service . Only negative I have are the pool was to cold to many arrogant Russians who thought they owed the hotel they would just barge in front of you no please or thank you to the staff . They were so grumpy face down to the floor also the last day was chaotic as Thomson had all there reps in for the annual conference also they open the swim up pool bar put up signs to show you were the bars were and the different room number and laid out the wedding venue spalso opened that restaurant .they really jazzed up the hotel so it did look like a 5 star hotel well I should have been like that when we got there not just for the reps who didn't have to pay 4 grand they get it all free . I hope someone from thomsons will read this and promote the hotel as a 4 star and tell people it's end of season and not all the facilities are not open and maybe drop their prices a bit a part from that it is a good hotel but please when people are paying good money for this please tell what facilities are open at the end of the season . Oh and another plus point weather was fantastic everyday

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have visited this hotel 2 years running in October. It is a very nice place to visit at this time of year. There are no issues with the sunbeds.The staff are friendly and the hotel is well kept. The gardens are tendered well, the poolside areas are clean and the food is very good with lots of choice. The beach is across the road and lovely.

However......

Why have the hotel stopped putting the coffee and tea flasks on the tables at breakfast time? It is very frustrating having to constantly wait to get a drink. The system in place last year worked perfectly well, so why change?

My only other issue is with the entertainment. This is an all inclusive hotel, therefore, the standard of the evening entertainment has to improve. You can't expect people to pay for their drinks up front then subject them to some fairly sub standard stuff. Essentially, the shows put on by the in house team were the same as last year. I appreciate that they are trying hard but it really wasn't good at all. And the "professional" acts were not much better. Only the comedian magician was anything like the standard I would expect. The rest were pretty much Britain's Got Talent reject fodder.

That said, I enjoyed my stay and would consider returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay with our 14 yr old daughter. The things the hotel can control were all well delivered. The room was to the rear left of the sprawling complex and was pretty quiet and secluded. Although not the most spacious or attractive it was well cleaned with towels replaced each day. We were close to The Papagaio Wet Bar and were served regularly by Reka, the Hungarian waitress who was very helpful and friendly. Although the restaurant food could get repetitive it still offered good choice. We had a meal in the Al la carte one night and couldn't fault the food or the service. I have read some of the other reviews about the age old annoying habit of putting towels onto loungers to bag them for the day. This wasn't a big problem while we were there maybe because of the time of year and it not being full. Our last few days did span the start of half term where larger families started arriving from the UK and, coincidentally, so did the problem. However, the pool was pretty cold so with an inviting beach just over the road with relatively warm sea water it was better to opt for this instead. Reception staff were very helpful and so were the waiting staff. In summary, well run and attractive hotel. Would we go again if we went back to Ayia Napa? Possibly, but equally possible to give one of the other 4/5 star hotels a shot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

However I don't think so I just don't moan for the sake of it.
I have just returned from Aeneas after a weeks break with my daughter,
I appreciate it is late in the season but I must say the amount of available sun beds was phenomenal and the hotel itself seemed busy.
We found the choice and quality of the food very good we were not all inclusive so can only comment on breakfast/dinner.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel although I would agree I would have put this hotel as a good 4*.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed end May, start June 2013....
The hotel itself is beautiful & very spacious yet despite several people asking, there were no maps - in English. Plenty in Russian though - what's that all about?! This is a Thomson run hotel right? The reps worked very hard to entertain the kids but when you pay this much for 2 wks you expect the evening acts in week 2 to differ from week 1 - and at least be half decent. Epic fail on both counts I'm afraid. The advertising blurb said any towels on loungers before 9am would be removed. Never happened. Not once so that meant the large families were out "reserving" the loungers at 6am - before breakfast. So the chances of getting 2 beds together were akin to having a 1-2-1 with the Pope. Impossible. In week 2 the hotel welcomed several large groups/families and they quickly took over the main pool area & were quite loud & boisterous, which killed the chill we had in week 1, which was a big let down for us.
Okay, the bad is out of the way now, let's look at the positives: the room we had was amazing, with a nice balcony overlooking the main pool/restaurant area. The air con was almost non existent but that was the only flaw. The staff at the Plori Bar really looked after us & knew what our drink of choice was after day two. We never had to wait for service, they were excellent. The same can bestie of the restaurant staff also. Very attentive and took time to talk to us & make conversation. The staff were from all over Europe so it was nice to find out a little bit about them too. The head chef was always on hand at lunch & dinner and always greeted us personally and spoke with us several times, which we thought was really good of him as he was obviously a very busy man. The food was always plentiful and varied and the themed nights were also very good. The proximity to Nissi Beach made the lack of sun beds at e hotel less of an irritation as if we could not get one each, we went to the beach! And what a beautiful beach... Crystal clear waist deep water for maybe half a mile out? Lots of water sports on offer for the daring to participate in - for a fee of course!!! Anyways, aside from the few grumbles mentioned at the start of this review, it really is a very good hotel, and we did have a very (mostly) relaxing holiday here, but it's overpriced for what you get in exchange. If Thomson invest in the entertainment for the adults, this could be the hotel you return to again and again....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Aeneas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Aeneas Hotel

Address: 40 Nissi Ave, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Aeneas Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantica Aeneas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantica Aeneas
Aeneas Hotel
Atlantica Aeneas Resort
Atlantica Aeneas Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Aeneas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.