We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flea pit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Napa Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Napa Apartments to your Saves list
Rio Napa Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Misiaouli & Kavazoglou Street 17, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Flea pit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for three extremely unpleasant nights at the beginning of September to attend a friends wedding in Ayia Napa. It was a very late booking and I didn't read any reviews until I arrived back in the UK. Every negative thing that has been said about this flea pit is an understatement. This place should be condemned, demolished and a sign erected on the site saying 'Danger, keep out, contaminated land'.

I refuse to waste anymore words on this place, save to say 'keep away if you value your life'.

James - UK

Room Tip: Go anywhere else but this place - avoid it like the plague.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    3
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I read reviews before choosing this apartment but I personally prefer to see with my eyes before judging and I can confirm the all previous reviews were absolutely right.
Marian checked us in and he was very nice and polite, he helped us with our heavy suitcase and he was very friendly and helpful.

In the apartment it was extremely hot and I do not like air conditioning but I believe that in such a hot location at least a fan is necessary and should be provided for free.
The apartment is a very good size and it was dusty and very dirty. Ants everywhere around the kitchen. It was impossible to leave any food around (only safe place was the fridge).
The bathtub was dirty of sand, probably left it there to stick from previous guests (we had to shower wearing our sleepers). The worse thing was the message left on the bathroom wall asking to do not flush toilet paper, which I personally have found disgusting.

The beach is about 15 minutes walking and it was too hot, so we found necessary to rent a scooter, which was handy to go and see other beaches anyway.

Overall our stay was ok, as it was only for three nights, but I would recommend the management to hire new personnel in the housekeeping department as I believe there is a very important lack of cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This apartment was horrific! Here's a list of everything wrong with it:
-£11 a day air conditioning (which you cant live without)
-the toilet was broken
-no bed sheets
-the floor was covered in filth
-the walls were covered in ants
-the walls were cracking
-the chairs were broken
-it stunk!
-the bath was filthy
-the floor was covered in water from the leaking fridge
-the windows would not open
-you cant go into the swimming pool as a result of the activities which go on at night (this hotel is well known as the after party in the pool where everyone goes for late night XXXrated)

I did not even stay in this hotel for half an hour, i requested to make an official complaint and requested my money back and left. I am currently in official complaints with the hotel and am reporting them to the travel society. I have posted some pictures to show the extent of the filth and even these pictures don't show the full extent of how utterly disgusted i was with the conditions. DO NOT GO HERE!

Room Tip: room next to McDonald's is much nicer (Nicholas apartments) slightly more expensive but definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is horrific. We read reviews and knew it wouldnt be nice but I only went with me and my other friend, both 19. The room was horrible, it stunk, there were ants everywhere, no towels, the shower was broken, you dont get a sheet for your bed, the maids never come, your room isnt clean when you even move in. the staff are rude after a few days. our room wasnt even in the hotel it was of the main road under the car park and up stairs. you have to pay a 20 euro deposit and they will try hard to keep it. we got ours back thankfully. Our door was already all broken where people had tried to get in and our door didnt open properly we had to try loads to get the door unlocked which was such a pain when drunk and when sweating from the heat. the air con was a rip off! 11 euro a day compared to other hotels which were 6 euro. We thought it was would be ok even after reading the bad reviews and didnt care as wanted a place to stay cheap. but we felt so un safe and scared and we are not normally bothered. someone tried to break into our room twice in one day when we were in the room so we paid to stay in a different hotel for two nights in Takkas down the road which is a lovely hotel and everyone was friendly. at rio napa its also an afterparty called River Raggae, and its a pool party from 2.30am until 9.30am. everyone has sex in the pool and its so dirty so we could never use it had to walk to differnet hotels which was ok. overall please it is so worth paying a little more to stay in a better hotel and i was thinking i dont care it'll be fine but it was not!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On my first night in ayia napa at Rio Napa i left my room for 4 hours to go out for the night and i came back to find that my room had been broken into and had taken 300 euros, a blackberry, an ipod, and 2 designer bags! I then found out that the person that had taken my goods was someone that worked at the hotel! They had come into my room using a key and took what they considered valuable! The hotel didnt give me back my money that i had payed for the room even though i had payed for an extra two days, they didnt offer to help out with the compensation, they were just quite frankly useless and couldnt have cared less!! Knowing that im checking into a hotel thinking its safe and secure but it has theiving workers is worrying. Its scary to think that i could have been in the room when this happend and i could have been raped, murdered, anything and no one would have ever known because it was done by someone that worked at the hotel!!!!! MY NAME IS JENA UNWIN AND I RECOMEND ANYONE LOOKING TO STAY HERE, SHOULD COME NO ONE NEAR THIS HOTEL!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Used Condoms on the Wall
Broken locks
no air con = 11 per day
vomit on the floor for 3days
no cleaning service
cockroachs
no toilet roll
broken chair
broken fridges
no customer service whatsoever
the building itself is crumbling.


simple things that should be taken care of, werent
i couldn't stay for ...."low cost hoildays" arranged for me to move to another hoilday.

if you are travelling to ayia napa, just do 5star, don't be stingy to yourself. being stuck in somewhere like rio napa is hell.

Room Tip: no room, is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel doesn't deserve to be up and running, it needs to be shut down as it is a hazard to human life! I strongly advise anyone who might consider staying there NOT to no matter how cheap it is. The few pictures I saw lied, it was a complete shambles from the moment we stepped foot:
. No step free access or assistance with our luggage
. Unclean corridors, stained and graffiti walls
. Unstable door locks, room easily broken in to
. Broken furniture
. Missing bedding
.Lack of security
.No Plug Hole
.Broken flush
.Management bad attitude. Uncaring and unsympathetic
.Boiling hot rooms

With enough complaint, luckily we were able to be moved
so save yourself the aggro and and don't even bother!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
1.9 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#8 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#36 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
#12 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Senator Hotel Apartments
Senator Hotel Apartments
#23 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Napa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Napa Apartments

Address: Misiaouli & Kavazoglou Street 17, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rio Napa Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rio Napa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Napa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.