We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grecian Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Grecian Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kryou Nerou Street, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Four stars indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had seen on other reviews that this hotel is more 4 than 5 stars and they couldn't be more right. It's a decent hotel with a decent service. Breakfast is very good without the wow effect at the buffet. Rooms ok with unconfortable pillows. But the beach is wonderful! clear turquoise water and sandy beach. Loved it and the loved the water sports there. Georges is very friendly and we had a blast trying ringo and canoeing! Pedalo is also nice especially if you go to the rocky cliff nearby where the water is crystal clear.
A definite no no: Food from the room service menu! Real bad and barely 2 stars :(

Room Tip: don't pay extra for sea view, you can have a partial sea view and a view of the harbor from west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    138
    58
    13
    13
See reviews for
118
182
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are a married couple in our 50's and we stayed here last November to celebrate a very special wedding anniversary. From checking in to checking out, the whole short break was really special.Our room overlooked the beach and the standard of fittings were excellent. Everything was thought of that you could possibly want/need from a stay at this hotel. The outside pools/sun decks were exceptional and since the hotel overlooked the beach, it was truly amazing. The location was good too, well within walking distance of all the restaurants/bars etc on hand but not so near that you would be kept awake from noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, the balconies are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The bedrooms are not 5* by irish standards atall, also toiletries in bathroom not good quality. However all public rooms very nice, but its the staff and location that more than makes up for it, all are so helpfull and friendly. Great idea to reserve your sunlounger on the Beach (hotel has a slightly elevated level, so no sand kicked in your face) with a bell attached to 'Palm' umbrella to call for drinks etc. Fantastic breakfast with champagne even porridge!
Would definately return if it was'ent so hard to get to from Ireland!

Room Tip: Sea view very nice on second floor, room does'nt get hot, can be bright .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlhaddad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was genuinely touched by the kindness, warmth and sincerity of the Grecian staff. From bellman, frontdesk, beach bed attendant to bartenders... All made my parents and family feel as though we'd been there 100 times before.

The late checkout extended to is and incredible sea views more than made up for rooms that I felt were a little shy of 5*s. Not bad mind u. Just not great.

-food and beverage r well priced.
-breakfast is a little weak selection wise.
-service impeccable. Unbeatable in my books (& I've stayed in a 100+ 5* hotel).
- views perfect.
- setting perfect
- location perfect (8mins walk from town center. Hotel is on beach)
- beach is perfect (the cleanest least rowdy of the 3 powder white bays in napa)
- crowd is mostly Russian (keeps me smiling as I'm single:)
- facilities excellent ( gym, indoor heated pool n large jacuzzis).


Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Disappointing to say the least. Stayed last year (which was fine) and decided to head back this year - what a difference. General points, yes the hotel's in a good location, yes, the pool area is large and clean, but take a wander around the paths in the hotel grounds and you'll find rubbish and building debris. Health club and Spa are of a decent standard and appear to be kept clean.

Anyway, to the actual stay. Arrived, checked in, waited 20 minutes for the room to be made ready. Room (454) has obviously been cosmetically refurbished, but cosmetically only. Air conditioning ineffective (difficult to operate as the controls are so badly worn that you can't read them) which means a hot uncomfortable nights sleep and mini-bar might as well remain switched off as it didn't chill at all. Double bed is not a double, it is 2 singles pushed together with overlapping separate bedding - expect to fall down the gap in the middle of the mattresses at least a couple of times a night !! First morning we were woken up at 07:30 by hammering and other noises associated with building / renovation work. Reported this to hotel staff and received the response "We will make sure this doesn't happen tomorrow" - no apology, no offer of recompense or such like for the inconvenience - not a standard of customer care I would associate with a 5 star hotel. Second morning we decided that because we were woken early the morning before that we would order breakfast to the room ( surplus charge applied of course). Breakfast arrived at the requested time, but was cold on delivery - in fact I considered putting it in the mini-bar to try and heat it up !! So be warned, you will pay a surplus charge for cold food. On a positive note (one of the few), the rooms are well cleaned by the room staff, although they do have a habit of knocking once and then entering the room before they have received a reply.

As I said this was a return visit, will there be another one ??....probably not. I book a 5 star hotel because I want to stay in a 5 star hotel, and don't mind paying 5 star prices accordingly. This however fell a long way short of a 5 star visit. Had we been staying for longer then a long weekend we would have looked for somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Arrived on the 28/8 for 10 nights in a sea view room (rm329) which has be refurbished but fairly badly.... First things first the hotel looks beautiful lots of attention to detail on the offset but when you start looking closer it's not so perfect.

The rooms have been refurbished but all I can describe it as is a cheap make over. Old dark wood furniture has been painted white, had since been chipped on corners showing the former dark wood, handles replaced - but yet the draws didn't close properly..) cheap white flooring had been laid ( so cheap that it has marks & stains from previous guests) and in having wooden flooring it gave the absolutely no sound proofing what so ever the constant noise of other rooms toilets flushing chairs scrapping and head boards bashing (I will go into further detail of that in a bit) meant you felt like you had no privacy whatsoever ever. This also meant service from maids was extremely noisy as they didn't have a care in the world waking guest at 7am servicing rooms.

We also requested a double and was given twins pushed together with separate bedding I would of expected this of a 3 star.... No way from a 5star hotel.

As for the headboards in the rooms huge WOW factor when we walked into the room but as soon as you so much looked at the bed you can tell it was not properly screwed to the wall neither the bed... This subsequently meant that any time any of your neighbours wanted to "get it on" you had surround sound of their activities - withought being crude we discovered simply moving the bed away from the headboard by a inch solved this issue I just wished our upstairs neighbours had worked this out as it would have saved us being woken up at 6am everyday for the duration if our stay.

The rooms have a great "do not disturb" button which turns a light on out side your door- wonderful I first thought ( always previously having a fear of someone taking off the paper sign) no such luck the maids simply ignore it..... We were disturbed 4 days out of 10 when it was on and once by a phone call from house keeping asking when they could get in?? Surely having a do not disturb was pointless if it was ignored by all including the turn down service.

Last real gripe was late check out rooms. Asked at beginning of stay and told ask 3 day before departure. 3 days before told ask day before departure. Day before departure told to ask after breakfast the day we leave. Go to reception after breakfast on our last day and laughed at by a rude receptionist stating we are fully booked, no courtesy room and told to use the gym showers! Surely they would have known they were fully booked when we asked them 3 days before??? Or the night before?? But no instead just felt very let down and not quite the 5 star I was hoping for. Yes gym showers were clean enough but bit of an inconvenience trying to split down toiletries with my partner when the showers were not unisex. Also very small (4 lockers in total to keep stuff in while in shower!!) and got very busy when trying to get ready for a late flight.

Sun bed system I liked as typically we are late risers, but think we were lucky we beds we got on our first day maybe others haven't been so lucky?!?

Breakfast was great, however a lot of sweet selections and was really missing something savoury come then end (will take some marmite if I was to return again) also cleared tables early so if arriving at 930 often had to hunt your own cutlery coffee pilots cup ect.

Overall hotel is good, great location, fab pool and clean sandy beach if they can sort the minor issues above out then I would without a doubt return. Sea view is worth paying for, just remember to request a high floor and maybe prebook a late checkout before you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Its was Low season so things should be easy for Hotel. I arrived late and i was very hungry .Wewent to restaurant just before closing time and had the best tasting buffet ever for 26 euros each . First class food indeed . Breakfast had 3 types of hard boiled eggs and full English breakfast was always hot .Respect for the clients, tasty food, very clean rooms .
This may be one of the oldest Hotel in the area but the staff have the old ways of treating you very well .Very good location, walking distance to Ayia Napa village. I will come again .

Room Tip: I asked for front see view but got a side view facing Ayia Napa which was better room 417
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#22 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#4 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melissi Beach Hotel
Melissi Beach Hotel
#36 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#31 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Bay Hotel

Address: Kryou Nerou Street, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#30 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecian Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located on the beach just south of Ayia Napa Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grecian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grecian Bay
Grecian Bay Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecian Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.