We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic facilities !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grecian Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Grecian Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kryou Nerou Street, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantasic facilities !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, it has the beach within 2minuites from the hotel.. Wich is beautiful.. the facitlites here are amazing, indoor and outdoor pool, whil pool, sauna and steam room. There is also a hair dresses on property and a spa (the back massages are a must) The inside out the hotel (first floor) could do with a refurbishment the place looked very 'used'... The beds where lovely to sleep in! and breakfast was always nice.. All staff are friendly :) + the cocktails are expensive but worth it... I would deffinatly go back to this hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in middle block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    138
    58
    13
    13
See reviews for
118
182
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Grecian Bay for two weeks in Spetember 2011. Aftering experiencing a few 5 star hotels we struggle to understand the rating on this hotel. Being honest we may have just been spoilt elsewhere ??
We had ant infestation in the room but it was dealt with the same day and never re-occured. The room is old and ready to have all furniture replaced as its all chipped and damaged and drawers are hard to open and close (room 295). Bathrooms are outdated and shower is very poor.
We did not bother to complain as they could hardly replace all the furniture and put a new shower in to make us happy.
The sunbeds are allocated and we were in the trees with the stray cats, ants and insects so we went to the public beach everyday that was great.
Breakfast was OK but must hot items are warm and dont bother queing as no one else does! its a bit of a free for all.
If you like old traditional hotels its perfect for you. If you want 5 star pure luxury its not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have just had 10 days at the GBH, and had a lovely time. The huge pool with the bookable sunbeds, and the private beach, are the main selling points for us. No fighting for a bed in the morning, or any minor problems were sorted by the staff quickly. The pool is one of the best we have ever had in all our travels
Great breakfast as well, with a big choice, and you could eat enough to keep you going all day. Which is a good job, as we thought the food and drink was very expensive. 3e for a small water or sprite, 8e for a sandwich and 14e for a kebab was a bit steep. Fortunately there are a shops, bars and restuarants on the walk into town that are more reasonable.
It's not too far to walk into town, but stopping along the way helps. We liked the George and Dragon bar, and the Marquis of Napa restuarant next to it, and the Abacaus restuarant further on. Coming back from Bar street late at night was a bit much, so we had a 10 e taxi most nights.
Our room was the only disappointment with the hotel. We stayed in the East wing five years ago, when it was all new and very impressive. But we were in the West Wing this time, and as others have said, this needs a major refurbishment. Every thing was generally tired and looked a bit worn.The room was clean, with clean towels every day, but some of the corridors looked grubby. Little things in the room like marks on the floor, scratched woodwork, cracked lightshades, stiff balcony doors and a luke warm fridge. Not as bad as some have made out, but not top class. Most things worked, and a couple of faults were quickly dealt wlth. Minor niggles, but it just didn't feel like a 5 star experience. Not enough to spoil the holiday, or to make us complain to the rep, but a bit of a let down let down.
Ths was our second visit, but we probably won't return. This is more down to the prices than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just come back from this hotel, we have been 9 times now and, we were very pleased to see the hotel has continued to improve. There has been a lot of changes over the past few years to modernise this five star accomodation. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and now equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and all are very light and airy. the breakfast bar has everything you could possibly want and the food is very good quality. The pool is fantastic and very clean. The hotel is situated just far enough away from the town centre but not too far to be able to walk in when you want to sample the nightlife. A word of warning though, if you pay for a full sea view you dont automatically get it. The hotel advised us that they were full when we arrived and attempted to place us into a side sea view room. It was only when we were recognised as returning customers that they moved us into room 501 (the only room on the 5th floor) which was a little isolated (you have to walk a flight of stairs to get to it as the lifts dont go that far) and, the room was a little more basic than the standard sea view rooms but the view was fantastic as it has a glass panel to the balcony. We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Grecian Bay for 10 days at the start of September and had a lovely time.
I have never stayed in a 5* hotel before so I cannot really compare it to others but I can say that me and my boyfriend were impressed with the hotel.
Although we didn't get a seaside/pool view the room was still lovely, very clean and a lovely comfy bed. The maid service was good and she was very friendly.
The pool was lovely and we enjoyed quite a few days lounging by it and enjoying some fresh juices and desserts in the beach bar (not cheap prices - but very nice). We also went to the fishermans hut where the salad bar and fish were lovely, the waiter here was also very friendly.
The beach was just down a few steps, so it was good to be able to have a dip in the pool but equally a dip in the crystal clear sea.
The sun bed booking system was good. If you intend to get to the pool/beach by 10.30 then you could book sunbed for the length of your stay and have it so long as you were there by 10.30am each day. If you chose to arrive after 10.30am, then you could use the free sunbeds. We generally cheated a bit and put our towels on the beds by 10.30am! If you weren't happy with where your bed was etc you could always swap it for another available space.
The selection at breakfast time was brilliant, lots of choice - although as with most hotels it did tend to get very busy towards the end of the breakfast time i.e. 9.30 to 10.00.
We didn't have any evening meals in the hotel, although on one occasion we thought we'd try the hotel restaurant but unfortunately only the half board buffet was advertied by the waiters which wasn't what we wanted. It would have been good if they perhaps had a seperate dining area with more a la carte dining.
We had a lovely time and I would recommend this hotel to my friends & family.
I only gave very good as there is always room for improvement! Perhaps the signs could be updated i.e. they still show the way to the niteclub which is no longer open and the bathroom & TV could be updated but this in no means put us off the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

only nice thing is the pool and the sunbed system.
Rooms are grubby, uneven floors, no wardbrobe just a sheet hanging over some sort of cabinet- had to sleep on a camp bed which had a plastic bag attached to it! the curtain was hanging off the railings- complained endlessly to thomas cook the thomas cook in aiya napa really couldnt care less and moved us after 3 days of our 7 days holiday to a 4 star hotel (one star less) and we had to pay more! errrr.. right! PANTS! on the upside- at breakfast i ate like a pig and drank most of the sparkling wine so i could get drunk in hope to forget about being where i was for the first 3 days of my holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just returned from Grecian Bay. The hotel is fantastic, spotlessly clean. We had a sea view room which was lovely. Bed comfortable. Bathroom very spacious and well equipped. The pool was lovely. We used the beach every day and then came back to the pool in the late afternoon. The beach bar had an excellent selection of drinks, snacks and desserts. On some days we dined in the restaurant which had a good selection of salads and again the lunchtime menu gave a good choice if you wanted something more substanstial. One thing about this hotel that stood out for us was the atmosphere of the hotel which was very relaxed and I think this is in some part down to the attitude of the staff who were without exception very friendly, polite and helpful and always smiling. We have been to many 5 stars and sadly this is not always the case. We will definitely be returning to Grecian Bay again as our holiday there was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#4 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melissi Beach Hotel
Melissi Beach Hotel
#35 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#31 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Bay Hotel

Address: Kryou Nerou Street, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#29 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecian Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located on the beach just south of Ayia Napa Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grecian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grecian Bay
Grecian Bay Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecian Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.