We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out!! A different prespective of the Protaras & Ayia Napa Area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Marko Cruises

Captain Marko Cruises
Ayia Napa Habour, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
+357 99 637536
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a long established Coastal Passenger Company committed to Quality ! Our objective is to always provide excellent quality of Boats, Cruises and Services. We make sure that you as our guest onboard, whether you sail day or night, go fishing or scuba diving, partying or getting married, you' ll have the best time of your holidays. Along with our professionally trained and friendly staff we go the extra mile to make your cruise with us as pleasurable as possible. Welcome onboard Cpt MARKO ! Trust us ! We are the Real Thing !!!
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!! A different prespective of the Protaras & Ayia Napa Area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although i am from Cyprus and i know the Ayia Napa and Protaras area very well, i took the cruise last summer to get a different prespective and i really really enjoyed it!!
We chose this boat company because they had staff in the little square by the Ayia Napa port (actually it is the captains' wife), who approached us in a very friendly manner.
Once on the cruise, the first thing we noticed was that the boat was very very clean and in a very good condition.
The price was very good - i think we paid Eur18 and that included a lovely meal. Actually i was expecting the meal to be a lot worse (having in mind similar experiences from the past), but we got a decent portion of roasted chicken, rice and vegs.
The scenery is beautiful all along the way. Also the boat makes several swim stops and the waters in the area are among the best in the whole island. Crystal clear.
All along the way you can tell that Captain Marco wants to make sure that all his guests are having a nice time.
Finally the cruise is an opportunity for one to learn about the 'Cypriot Problem' (between the Greeks and the Turks). The boat sails up to the point where one can get a clear view of the Ghost Town of Famagusta which has not been inhabited since 1974.
Definetely recommended for a day out with a difference!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    27
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The captain makes the whole trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Multiple boats leave for this trip from Ayia Napa. This boat is by far the best. Good food, relaxing boat and a great (short) commentary on the current situation between the Turks and Greek Cypriot.

I actually lost my depth gauge just as we were leaving one of the snorkeling stops. I talked to the captain who gave me GPS location to the exact spot where we were so that I could go back on my own after the trip. And would you belive it, I found the gauge again at 9,3 meters deep after just 5 minutes of looking about 200 meters from shore.

If you just want to relax, or would love to snorkle at the best places with the clearest water, then this trip is for you. I reccommend it for couples, friends and solo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We took this cruise from Ayia Napa and paid 20 euro. After the warm welcome by the crew and captain the cruise started. The prise included 5 hour trip with several stops to swim and see the seacaves, tasty and fresh food (chicken and potatoes), drinks (if one wishes), guide who was telling about the areas that we were passing by. All these were accompanied by gentle and friendly attitude of crew! The boat was very nice both from inside and outside. It was also clean! Overall trip was relaxing and impressions are great! Surely will reccomend this cruise to families and couples who are looking for nice trip with heplful crew.
Special thanks to the captain who did his best to be helpful every time we asked for something!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“captain marco cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

if anybody is thinking of goin for a cruise while in cyprus. Then i would recomend you try the captain marco boat. 20 euros gets you about a 5 hour cruise a couple of stops for a lovely swim and a nice chicken dinner for 20 euros? not bad at all. all the crew nice and happy to help not one of those mad drunken booze cruises

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We left at 11.15 and returned just before 4pm . The ship was clean, toilets clean, music not too loud and it wasnt too crowded. We were able to move around the boat seeking out the shade and sun as and when we wanted. Captain Marko was particularly attentive to his passengers . The boat made 2 stops in order for us to swim in the water and cool off.We had a a very large meal of roast chicken ,yoghurt,bread, potatoes and salad . The quality was very high and it certainly tasted as good as it looked.
We visited the caves Palatia cliff, Pirates cave Blue lagoon and famagusta ghost town. Captain Marko was an excellent guide.
They say they were the best and great value for money and at 20 Euros per person and after a great day out I can verify this to be true.
If you want to go out on a day cruise whilst you are in Cyprus -I would highly recommend This one .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Marko Cruises also viewed

Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 

Been to Captain Marko Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Marko Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.