We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fedra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fedra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fedra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 104 hotels in Ayia Napa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well it is true what they say about this place... hell on earth!! Were do a start, the pool was filthy and was never ever cleaned the whole time I was there, ants everywhere in room, cockroaches everywhere and cats everywhere the place is crawling with things. Also anything in the hotel is 5 euro toilet paper,towels, cups , jump in the pool at nyte u get charged 5 euro place was a dive. Didnt clean the rooms everyday so they were manky and the toilet was disgraceful. The staff were great help tho thats the only thing that it has going for it. As for the scottish playin the music everyday yeah it wasnt the best music buttt they were a great laugh and made our time better there if anything. Great atmosphere they created in the place. But anyway dnt book this unless you like sleeping with the ants!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    12
    10
    43
See reviews for
8
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, don't be fooled by the 'Excellent' reviews - anybody with an ounce if intelligence can see by the grammar that these have been written (mostly) by staff and friends of the hotel.

Luckily we were only staying one night as it was easier to arrive from our transfer after our flight. We checked in at 11:30pm and were lead to our room past a group of pasty, drunk Scottish lads blaring out the worst 'music' I've heard in a while.

Small mercy, our room was far enough away to notice. On the walk to our rooms, grass and flower beds were littered with wrappers and bottles. Once inside, we were greeted by a filthy toilet, missing light bulbs and broken air-con.

We checked out as soon as we could the next day, after seeing the pool in the daylight - floating bottles, filthy murky water. I'd honestly have rather slept at the airport - and our Travel Agent actually recommended this place to us..!

Awful place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at Fedra Hotel from 14th August - 22nd August. The hotel is not as bad as people are saying in previous reviews. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and maids came to clean the room every single day and always had clean sheets. There was 3 reps at the hotel and they couldn't have helped us more, they were all lovely! I have been on many 18-30 holidays and this was definitely the best one. I would recommend Ayia Napa to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ive stayed in some holes before (as you do on mash up holidays) but the Fedra goes beyond that. I can honestly say it is the worst place i've ever stayed. All we wanted was somewhere to crash between going beach in the day and going out at night and obviously somewhere to sleep when we got in but the place was so disgusting with its ants and cockroaches it just wasnt worth going back unless it was to get changed and get out. As soon as we got there the rep said she had to give us a talk, where all she done was told us how expensive everything is and how she can help you with tickets to clubs etc and pretty much puts you on a downer as soon as you get there. Don't listen to them just tell them to jog on as the bars give you tickets for free and it is'nt that expensive for drinks. The rest of the staff were completely unhelpful and rude and just treat you like an inconvenience. The a/c is a complete rip off at 15 euros a day which you really need because its so hot plus they charge 5 euros for towels and 1 euro for toilet roll. the pool you will never go in because it is so cloudy you cant see your hand inches below the water and that really is not an exaggeration it cannot be good for you. We spoke to some locals and some british people working out there and they all told us the same thing and that was the fedra was renowned for being the worst hotel in Ayia Napa. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else but the fedra, if it wasnt for the fact that the beaches are amazing and the strip is a proper good laugh the holiday would have been ruined.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So, we arrived at the fedra at 3 in the morning to be greeted by some loudmouth scottish lout called 'Lou', who proceeded to watch us struggle up the stairs (no lifts, guys) with our cases. When we got to our room we were welcomed by a mass swarm of ants on the floor, but wait much worse than that was the idiotic rep Ebony who tried to flog us £350 worth of crap and then got fresh with us coz we told her where to go.

as the room was sweltering we decided to pay the ridiculous fee of 11 euros a night for air con. Day 2 we wake up and its spitting out water which had clearly happened before as there were all water stains on the wall. We went to reception to inform them of this, where we had to deal with a rude aggressive and cocky blonde moron. We don't know what her problem was but she didn't seem to believe the air con was broke, shrugged us off and said the maintenance guy could possibly show up soon but cant promise anything. Came in drunk my friend goes flying on the absolute puddle that the air con had made and messed her back up for the rest of the holiday. GOOD ONE FEDRA.

7 days later, me and my friend were having a nap before we went out, only to be awoken by who i beleive is the maintenance guy with his friend peering over us saying crude things as he thought we were asleep, what the actual hell. He then looked at it and said i might come back later, but maybe not. Still unsure whether this was the maintenance man or just a random pervert but hey. The cherry on top of a fantastic hotel is the maid, who comes in every few days to throw away food or items that you want (im talkin jewellery, cigarettes etc) and leave things like empty bottles, empty tins there to rot for days. She also has no problem coming in and 'cleaning' around you while you sleep so be prepared for this. One morning as we slept we were awoken by the menacing maid to find her throwing away our LAST bit of food bought with our LAST euros, this nearly led me to have a mental breakdown whilst on holiday.

On a general note the pool made me and my friends feel like we were in a penguin enclosure at the zoo, in fact those pools look and smell a bit better. Its white in colour, you get a nice few surprises in there as you cant see anything, nice lion bar wrapper one day, quavers bag the next, you never know. The shower could literally pass as acupuncture feels like needles not great after a day of sunbathing! Pillows are grim, ants inhabit the beds.

Basically i'd say the staff single handedly ruined our stay at the fedra with their s**t attitudes, good job our friends were at THE CARINA HOTEL where we spent most of our time, much better staff, clean pool and restaurant. Stay anywhere but the fedra !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at Fedra the first week in August, after reading all the reviews we were pretty certain we were going to get robbed at some point (we even took motion sensors and alarms) and were expecting to be miles from the strip/town as some people say. However, even although our room was down the far end, away from the main pool area/reception etc, our rooms were secure enough, and the sheets etc clean. The pool did look dirty, however once in it it seemed ok. I think it was just a mixture of the chlorine and all the sun cream that made it look dirty. The walk to the strip was NOT miles as people have suggested, and it only takes 10 mins max to get to the start of the strip. The location was good, with the supermarket about 100 meters from our apartment, and nissi beach about a 15 min walk.

The biggest let down for Fedra was the bar, the bar man was nice enough, but he really did turn up and leave when he wanted, meaning the bar was hardly ever open. Altho the onsite shop was open so you could buy a drink from there if need be.

I think the majority of the people on here need to realise that when going on a holiday to somewhere like Ayia Napa you get what you pay for, Fedra was a decent enough price and was exactly what we needed, a basic apartment for sleeping and showering in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ive stayed in many cheap and basic hotels in ayia napa, kavos and malia so i didnt go to the fedra expecting anything great as i knew it would be basic, but its genuinely a horrible hotel, the staff are rude and unhelpful our air con broke on our 2nd day, the woman at reception just shrugged it off and said it wasnt her problem and we couldnt have our money back. The pool water smells and you actually cant see your feet, its so white. the pool "bar" is rubbish, its also quite a walk from the strip its about 25 minute walk, fine going, its too far when your drunk coming back and just wanna get home always ended up getting a taxi home. The maids are terrible she kept throwing away our things and didnt actually do any cleaning she just moved things from one place to another.

Very poor hotel but the main issue is the staff, they killed the vibe of the holiday with their rudeness. Book somewhere else it cant be worse than here.

Room Tip: Check your aircon works before you settle in and unpack all your stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fedra Hotel

Address: 9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fedra Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fedra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.