We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as people say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fedra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fedra Hotel to your Saves list
Fedra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not as bad as people say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at Fedra the first week in August, after reading all the reviews we were pretty certain we were going to get robbed at some point (we even took motion sensors and alarms) and were expecting to be miles from the strip/town as some people say. However, even although our room was down the far end, away from the main pool area/reception etc, our rooms were secure enough, and the sheets etc clean. The pool did look dirty, however once in it it seemed ok. I think it was just a mixture of the chlorine and all the sun cream that made it look dirty. The walk to the strip was NOT miles as people have suggested, and it only takes 10 mins max to get to the start of the strip. The location was good, with the supermarket about 100 meters from our apartment, and nissi beach about a 15 min walk.

The biggest let down for Fedra was the bar, the bar man was nice enough, but he really did turn up and leave when he wanted, meaning the bar was hardly ever open. Altho the onsite shop was open so you could buy a drink from there if need be.

I think the majority of the people on here need to realise that when going on a holiday to somewhere like Ayia Napa you get what you pay for, Fedra was a decent enough price and was exactly what we needed, a basic apartment for sleeping and showering in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    17
    15
    63
See reviews for
9
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ive stayed in many cheap and basic hotels in ayia napa, kavos and malia so i didnt go to the fedra expecting anything great as i knew it would be basic, but its genuinely a horrible hotel, the staff are rude and unhelpful our air con broke on our 2nd day, the woman at reception just shrugged it off and said it wasnt her problem and we couldnt have our money back. The pool water smells and you actually cant see your feet, its so white. the pool "bar" is rubbish, its also quite a walk from the strip its about 25 minute walk, fine going, its too far when your drunk coming back and just wanna get home always ended up getting a taxi home. The maids are terrible she kept throwing away our things and didnt actually do any cleaning she just moved things from one place to another.

Very poor hotel but the main issue is the staff, they killed the vibe of the holiday with their rudeness. Book somewhere else it cant be worse than here.

Room Tip: Check your aircon works before you settle in and unpack all your stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went on holiday with 3 friends from 24th July to 4th August. Before we arrived we looked at the reviews and to be honest we were terrified and asked to move hotels but this was not allowed as we were so close to the holiday.

Once we were there the hotel was not half as bad as it was made out to be, yes there were ants but it was hot and there weren't that many. The receptionist was lovely and so was the bar man, he even came out with u one of the nights.

The pool is dirty but the smaller pool is a lot cleaner and to be honest it is that hot you will need to be in a pool.

The strip is about a 15 minute walk away but there is a short cut which I wouldn't recommend for girls by themselves but if there are a lot of boys and girls you will be fine

All in all, it is an 18-30s hotel and we were only there to sleep and shower so it is basic. Absolutely loved ayia napa and gutted I'm home!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went on holiday here for a week from Wednesday the 17th until Wednesday the 24th. Before I came out I read the reviews and I was terrified I almost contemplated not going however when we got there yes the outside looks a bit of a dive buts its not all that bad! Yes the main pool is skanky but just go in the little pool next door to it. I was in room 124 and my friends in 123 on the ground floor I felt perfectly safe in the complex at all times! The English receptionist was lovely and helpful and so was the bar man! It's an 18-30s your there for a party holiday it's basic it's nowhere near 5star but it's bearable! There was six of us so worked out 2euros each to get a taxi to the main strip we had a safe and nothing was broken into just make sure all your windows and doors are locked before you go out ! It's clean and the maid came daily don't listen to half the reviews honestly its not that bad! Just think you're in napa baby!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just recently got back from this hotel and i have to say i am disappointed. I went on an 18-30 holiday with 4 of my friends. It was nothing like the brochure, it was dirty and infested with ants and cockroaches. The strip is about a 2 mile walk away which was a pain to do every night. The workers at the hotel handed out fines for the pittiest of things and were very rude. Also the amount of added on costs in the hotel where rediculous, we had to pay 1 euro for a roll of toilet paper, 5 euros for a shower towel and 14 euros a day for air con which was well needed, if i added up all the costs we payed through the week and the cost of the holiday we could have had a 2 week all inclusive stay in a 5 star hotel haha. Apart from the hotel me and my mates had an awesome holiday, Aiya napa was rocking !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

From reading previous reviews i expected it to be much worse than what it was, On arrival rooms were clean and tidy, only thing lacking was toilet roll which you have to pay 1 Euro for...and air con which was way over priced but well needed.

After staying the night you then realized the reality of how bad the place you were staying at was. The shower would take paint off a car. The main pool area was an absolute joke, bottom of the pool couldnt be seen along with a few surprises in it hahaha it was referred to as 'The Swamp' by me and friends, The sea i would say was clearer/cleaner. The smaller pool was okay... but just okay.

Cleaners came most days but rudely woke you up knocking on back doors and just walking in. One receptionist named Maria or 'mi mi' was fine and seemed to help as much as possible when needed. The odd morning or two you would wake up to what seemed like the cast of bugs life in the sink but at the Fedra this was considered normal, neighbours had a nest in their room so it wasnt half as bad.

You can get fined for the most ridiculous things which included not having spotless patio/balcony areas etc. The strip itself was quite a walk when walking on the main road which is easily accessible, there is a shortcut though. The rep will tell you about that. Rapist lane i would call it, wouldn't be suitable for girls in the dark.

From reading the reviews i expected it to be much worse than what it was, but it was still a sham. Wouldnt go Fedra again but Napa itself was unreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

stay away from the fedra as the previous post says. my son has returned from there 3 weeks ago
whilst they were out they returned to find there apartment had been broken into and had broken into there safe and got into there safe even though it as locked ( total inside job) there was £2500 pounds taken in cash 3 i phones and a i pad (room 108) the rest of the apartments on this block had also been robbed. they even stole his trainers and good clothes. whilst speaking to a freind of his that works out there he was told that it happens every week at the fedra. absolutly seething about this and e are busy taking this matter up with thomas cook. please dont let your kids stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fedra Hotel

Address: 9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fedra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fedra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.