We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bad reviews on here are accurate - worst hotel we've ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fedra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fedra Hotel to your Saves list
Fedra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bad reviews on here are accurate - worst hotel we've ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were aprehensive about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews which turned out to be very accurate. We arrived at 1 in the morning and straight away noticed rubbish everywhere in the reception, we then prepared ourselves to go to our room, which in all fairness could have been worse. The bedding seemed mostly clean, the bathroom was bearable (no toilet roll though- you do have to ask), we did have a few ants. The safe had been pulled out of the wardrobe so we went down to reception to ask if there was anything we could do about it as it defeated the object of having a safe if someone could just pick it up, but the receptionist didn't seem to understand our problem. Thankfully the rep was there and it was sorted the next day. We also had no toilet roll so we went down to reception again but he said there was none left and shrugged his shoulders so we took the box of tissues that were on the desk. The pool is really dirty - the rep said it was because people went in it overnight so it never had chance to clean but by the end of the holiday you could nearly see the bottom. There are a few cockroaches about but we never had any in the room, we did see a rat by the pool once aswell. We had read a review which said there was glass in the pool - there was. After a couple of days in the heat you do cave and go into the pool, my boyfriend stood in a shard of glass about 5cm long, the cut wasn't massive but was quite deep and he did bleed alot, we went to our favourite incompetent receptionist who came out to the pool area, said 'are you sure it was glass', stood next to the pool for a couple of minutes looking confused then made a sign which said 'pool closed - glass inside'. The next day we asked him if it was out as the sign had gone, first he said he didn't know then came up with 'oh yeah it is out they scuba dived last night to get it out'. The receptionists in general don't seem to have a clue what is going on. When we had approached the rep about the state of the hotel he basically said thats how all club 18-30 hotels are ie crap. Also the location isn't the best, about a 20minute walk to the strip/centre but we never got a taxi, always walked which wasn't that bad as theres loads of shops along the way, there is also a best buy supermarkert about a 1min walk from the hotel which was good - really cheap, alcohol wise 99cents for a bottle of beer etc.
Just don't stay here, believe the bad reviews, spend a little bit more and go somewhere nice :)

Room Tip: Don't stay here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    17
    15
    61
See reviews for
9
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean, pool was clean, rep was great. Very basic but it's ayia napa! You can't expect the ritz! Really enjoyed our hol and hotel was perfect distance from nissi beach and the strip (walked it every night).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

just don't stay there it's like inbetweeners, but worse. it was awful, we found a dead rat on the balcony and dried up sick in the sick bowl, if you're going- good luck. the maid stole our money, what a pikey! it was quite a walk to the strip but could get taxi for 2 euros each but it added up. it was soooo fun though and would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Whatever you do, do not stay here!!! First of all we booked an 18-30s holiday, so why when we arrived were we greeted by a party of 40 foreign exchange students aged from 10 to about 50???? Most annoying bunch of idiots to ever exist, they had 'The Horn' to wake them up at about 8am, then a one for breakfast, then a one for morning activity, need i go on.... fair enough you expect noise at an 18-30 hotel anyways but not a bunch of absolute morons being called to breakfast!! after getting over the inital shock that we werent in an 18-30s hotel as apparently arriving on 2nd september is 'out of season', we went to our room, to be greeted by a lovely little fella scuttling all over our floor, welcome to cockroach gate!! so we called for the rep Ayi who was actually brilliant, he removed this thing from our room, offered to move us to Pambos Magic but we were warned it was even worse, god help anyone staying there! on closer inspection we found broken chairs on our balcony, hair balls under our bed, allsorts of wires hanging around and then we went into the bathroom, i'm not particularly fussy on hotels (stayed 18-30 loads) but i find blood in the bath to be totally unacceptable and utterly disgusting! we were told our room probably hadn't been done properly as they were a maid down and they had only left an hour before we arrived- i'm guessing the missing maid was supposed to take care of our room. we headed out with the aim to get totally smashed to make sleeping in this hell hole bearable. we got back and you would think our room was a human barbecue it was so hot, air con costing 14 euros a day was a no go, we were just gonna have to burn!! we then got up and headed to the pool..... BIG MISTAKE totally green and slimey, we took to using the little pool yeah it was pretty sandy but at least it was clear water and you could see the bottom! we then went to our welcome meeting, the reps dont push you to do anything at all, we chose to do some of the events and they were well worth the money boat party especially!! we then returned back to our room it hadnt been cleaned so just decided to grit our teeth and get a quick wash and once again numb the pain of our crap hotel with vodka! the next day was the worst thing ever, 6 cockroaches in our bathroom crawling around the bath, coming out the plughole, climbing up the shower handle. it was awful at this point we did some research and were ready to move to a totally different hotel and pay for it out of our own money... in steps the rep, managed to convince us to stay, we got free air con so at least that was one problem sorted!! for the rest of the holiday we showered with the plug in the bath and made sure plugs were down in all sinks etc when we went out, managed to stop the cockroaches i suppose!. all in all this hotel is horrendous, not 18-30 and most definitely not CLUB CLASS as it was sold to us in the brochure! would be cleaner sleeping in a pig sty! stay well clear of it, not worth a penny!! Oh and the yellow hand print on our wall was particularly fetching... little tip for anyone unfortunate enough to have booked, there is a switch for your rooms air con behind reception desk just distract the receptionist and turn yours on!!

Room Tip: Theres a bin round the corner, sleep there its cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fedra hotel...what a dump.
The pictures on the Fedra Hotel website are totally deceiving, don't fool for it. The swimming pool is a green murky colour...riddled with disease and you know the film ghostbusters, well it looks like that green gunge. As i stepped into my apartment i couldn't hide my disappointment. The place was filthy, dirty pillows, dirty sheets, the bathroom was disgusting. The staff at the hotel didn't have a clue what they were doing, as management was no where to be found. I stayed there for a week, and not once was my room cleaned. Had to ask for toilet roll and towels, which were stained !! There was one shop in the reception just filled with alcohol and expensive. This place reminded me of an episode of The Imbetweeners!
I dreaded getting into the shower every evening as the bathroom looks like something from a horror film. I even went to the supermarket and brought flash to give the bathroom a clean!! Who want's to do that on their holiday! The only plus was the location was near the beach. So the more time i spent out of that hotel the better. I do advise you if you plan to go to Aiya napa book early and stay at Pavlo Napa hotel which is all inclusive and A LOT nicer than this down right rotten place!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Even though I had an amazing holiday the hotel was awful! I don't expect much for an 18-30 holiday but I do expect it to be clean! When my friend and I first arrived we were greeted with a room which had a broken bed, one pillow case between two of us (which was covered in stains), damp walls, left over toiletries from the person before, dirty shot glasses in our room, dirty cutlery, a broken shower head....the list continues! I thought the idea of having to pay for towels as well as 14euro per night aircon was a rip off!!! They didn't even provide us with toilet roll most of the time with the excuse that they didn't have any left.

There are two pools which weren't cleaned during my stay, one of which you couldn't see through to the bottom and stunk of strong chemicals which you could smell strongly on your skin after leaving. The other pool wasn’t as bad (in the sense you could see to the bottom but still had sand, insects and food wrappers on the pool floor.

The location of the hotel is a pain especially if you want the night life aspect of Ayia Napa, taxis are 8-10 Euros as they warn you not to walk, and between two of us it added up! The only nice thing about the hotel was the restaurants which surrounded and the shortish walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Why waste your money on staying here when you can go somewhere nicer for the same price! This hotel should be shut down. You have to pay for everything! Air con is expensive but we didn't buy it seeing as it is ancient and people were complaining they were blowing out hot air. Paying for the towels is not worth it they are stained and disguting!There is no life in this hotel. Usually on a club 18-30 hotel you have everyone hanging round the pool with music playing... The hotel played no music and so there was no atmosphere. People don't go in the pool because it's so filthy! When we asked why the pool was so cloudy? The rep responded with "oh it's because it's hot here" bull!! It just hasnt been cleaned for yonksssss.. Even the reps were saying they wouldnt stay here! GET A SAFE !!! The maid stole from every room on our floor!! She is now in jail but still !! Which leads to the rooms... The rooms are just DEATH ... The decor is old and dated. The rooms are filthy! Especially the bathrooms!!! (probably because the maid is too busy stealing) .... Wear flip flops or shoes at all times you wouldn't wana catch anything! The beds and sheets are stained and old. Sleep on your towels! The balcony was falling apart with slabs loose and wobbly bars! Not safe at all. A rusty clothes airer... Please :/ as if anyone is going to want to put there clothes on it?!!!!
Our room was on the top floor but at the very end which meant a slight walk... But in darkness as there were no lights at all the whole way to the room. This does not help if your drunk on your way back from the strip! Also you dont know whos lurking in the darkness.This hotel is disgusting. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here. This hotel should have no stars and shut down. Apart from this experience my friends and I shared at fedra I must finish by saying ayia napa as a place is amazing! Nissi beach is beautiful and the strip is amazing! It's deffo the best strip we have been to as a group! We would deffo recommend ayia napa!! But do not stay at fedra! Save yourself !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fedra Hotel

Address: 9 Haveres Street, Ayia Napa 30030, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fedra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fedra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.