We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For!! 18-30's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmary Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salmary Apartments
Save
You added Salmary Apartments to your Saves list
Ayia Napa, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You Get What You Pay For!! 18-30's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this holiday a while back and being a group of lads we didn’t do any background work on the hotel. So when we finally did a week before we were due to go panic set in and we was worried what we lets ourselves into. There was no need to worry at all, it’s what you expect from a hotel like this (18-30's) Big Momma and Poppa are really nice people and we had no problems with them at all. The rooms were basic but for the amount of time you spent in there it didn’t matter. bar staff were all sound and looked after you with good measure of drinks. Ayia Napa was amazing and would defo recommend the Silent party! Reps will put you on spot as soon as you get there and try sell you everything! we got DONE CLEAN!!! but we still had good time met some class people would defo go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    15
    14
    35
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading the reviews we really considered not staying here, but then no-one ever writes good reviews so I though I would. Typical budget apartments (You get what you pay for), excellent location just off the strip but far enough away to be quite. Rooms are basic but clean, (The odd cockroach but you learn to put up with that), our room was cleaned every 2nd day. Found the staff to be quiet friendly. We arrived at the start of the season and the place was freshly painted and the pool and bar were always clean and inviting. We were terrified of meeting big mama after reading reviews before going, but she couldn't have been nicer always making sure everything was ok and asking if we needed anything, and Mario and the other staff were equally excellent hosts. I would definitely consider going back again. Just don't think I'd bother with the 18-30's package the rep's try sell you as you are tied to doing everything they want you to do and not your own thing. Most the stuff they sell you in the package is free or you can buy it at a later date but they force you to buy as soon as you arrive and really put you on the spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot believe how dramatic people have been on the reviews below. You are supposed to evaluate the scores based on value for money - you don't pay much money so why are you expecting The Ritz Hotel? The £260.00 I paid for flights and hotel for 7 nights at The Salmary completely reflected the value I got. Yeah it's not the cleanest place in the world and you wouldn't put your head under the water in the pool but you are getting exactly what you pay for. Me and my friend stayed in Room 18 which was a little apartment. It was completely fine and we are fairly girly girls so were quite scared after reading the reviews. I didn't see a single cockroach in our room once although there was an ant invasion on the last day. The thing is, you won't even be in the hotel half the time - it literally serves as a base. We had no problems with theft or noise or anything at all. There were a few fights in the hotel but that was between guests. Shower was fine, cooker was fine, beds were fine. You will need to stock up on washing up liquid and toilet roll and Super Noodles and you will be fine. You get along with all the other guests fairly well and we ended up having pre-drinks with some of the others in order to save money before going out. Went with Club 18-30 Thomas Cook - our rep Dave Robertson was amazing. Had the best holiday ever in Napa and would 100% go back to The Salmary - Request Room No.18!!

Room Tip: Room number 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aglangia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here with some friends, had a Great Time!! Room was clean, service was ok, (really didn't ask for anything), pool was cool :) . To be honest, I just stayed here for sleeping and getting something to eat when i was hungry. The most time we were away, at the beach, cafes, and clubs. They also have a club "Starskys", and they give you tickets at the reception if you want to go.

If you're not looking for quality hotels, first class services, an excellent location and you're with a bunch of friend just having a great time at Ayia Napa, i strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

1 week stay, Booked this through Thomas cook. Was told it was a great hotel when in fact it was possibly the worst stay I've had abroad. There is no service at all. Cleaners just come in without knocking and do hardly anything. Pool isn't very big and wasn't cleaned often. Bread fell in the pool and was there the whole day. The only good thing is that the hotel is right at the strip but does not make up for other things

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Four of us stayed stayed here for a week courtesy of Thomas cook, who willfully assured us that its a good hotel. This was back in 2000!, It was a complete dump back then, and after reading the current reviews, its still the same if not worse!

Cleanliness is an international standard, NOT at the salamary apartments. This is where old used beds, sheets, cleaners, toilets, air con units, mouldy fridges and the the rest go to die.

The hotel/ Apartment owners attitude hasn't changed in the best part 13 years, they said it had been refurbished back then (LIES) Avoid at all cost.

The only redeeming quality is the location, it fails at everything else!

They should have a website for dumps like this, maybe call it LASTCHOICE.COM

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Firstly, it is as bad as everyone says - The rooms are disgusting, the bed sheets and towels are black and covered in blood, the walls are stained yellow, the fridges are full of mould and even worse there are ants and bugs crawling over the bed 24/7 - Plus, out of the 4 rooms we had, only 1 air con worked!. The hotel owners are Mafia gangsters, and will charge you for every towel etc you use at the end and you are threatened if you don't pay up - whilst we were out there 5 people were and you don't mess with the mafia. Infact the hotel was that disgusting we had about 15 people in 1 room on most nights due to the ants and disgustingness of the rooms - Whilst we were there, all 4 toilets backed up and got blocked!!!

On the plus side, it is right next to the strip and the location is spot on - go to Ayia Napa, get messed up and have a right laugh!!! Raj the barman is a good crack, and do not get on the wrong side of 'big mumma' or she will make your life hell!

I do warn you though, if you are a girl or a bloke for the faint hearted then don't stay here as it is actually disgusting!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmary Apartments

Address: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 187
Also Known As:
Salmary Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmary Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.