We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Reggae Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Reggae Apartments
Save
You added River Reggae Apartments to your Saves list
Ayia Napa, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

All these people who keep moaning about this place are to stuck up and need to sort there lives out me and two mates went for two weeks and only paid 500 each so you know your not paying for 5 star. The reps in the hotel are wicked and will help you with anything you need. The staff are also helpful and even though the rules are strict they still let you off a few things. So the rooms arnt the best but you spend most your time by the pool which is amazing or down the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    13
    14
    49
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I was supposed to stay at the river reggae for 2 weeks starting from 6th july, today is the 12th and im home. I booked the first flight out of that place! when we arrived on the 6th the reps were fab!! thats the only good thing i can say about it. We got to are room, there were ants crawling all over the bed, there is no hot water after 4/5 o clock and the shower just drips on you, you'd be better off washing your hair in the swimming pool in which we found a condom!! The hotel is a free for all as the club opens at 4:30am until 8am. and everybody can come in and out of the hotel as they please, so watch your valubles! your lucky if you get a full nights sleep, i woke up one morning to two boys fighting outside are room. There are no fans in the rooms and aircon is 70-80 euros per week which only works in the bedroom! I didnt expect luxury as its 18-30 but come on being bit to death is not my kinda holiday! Good luck if your going!

Room Tip: Dont stay unless you like dirt or ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

You pay for what you get. We came expecting 2star but it was more like 3.5star and the pool was 5 star, so we were chuffed.

We had no problems with the hotel at all. The man at the front desk was extremely helpful when we had any questions and let us into the room for free when the key was left in the room. Cleaners came in every day to wash the floors and empty bins etc. The 1830s reps were really good and took us on some good bar crawls. The pool was very clean and was cleaned every morning from 8 till10, so any stupid comments on here that say the pool isn't clean or you can get pink eye from it are ridiculous. There is a pool side bar which is alright value for money however it can be easier to purchase a few beers from the hotel shop.

The hotel is less than 5minute walk from the nearest set of bars and restaurants, and just over 5minutes from the main night clubs and bars. A tip for going to the bars is barter for more alcohol for you money if there is a group of 4 or more of you, as the bars are able to give you more than they first say, playing a bit of hardball makes your money go a lot further on the strip.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay then I wouldn't suggest River Reggae Apartments as it has an after party club at the pool from around 4am till 7am. The music at 4am isn't particularly loud if you do want to crash before then especially if you are at the front of the hotel (my friend said he couldn't ever hear it).

Room Tip: Purchase Aircon for €10 night extra well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Other than location there is not a single other positive about this hotel!!!! Rooms are vile everything is worn or rusty or broke, when brushing my teeth the sink begn to fill up with what can only be described as vomit from plug hole, shower head thick with mould, mould growing in kitchen cupboards, blood on floor under bed, dirty sheets n pillows, shower broke, what looked like human poo on curtains n still wet, the customer service was appauling wouldnt turn on air conditioning coz we didnt request it first night, we had to keep all our money n tickets etc on us as they couldnt find key to safe, they kept our passports in case of damage n only kept them in a drawer which was worrying! When i shut bathroom door mirror fell of wall n they blamed me n refused to give me my passport untill i gave them €60 n the hotel staff who were all teenagers thought it was funny! I wouldnt stay at this hotel if it was offered free of charge, i aint no snob i live in a council house in the middle of a council estate n coming home felt like my house was 5* hotel, one more thing any taxi drivers or waiters who asked where we were staying laughed when we told them, oh yeh you have to be under 18 to fit in do yourself a favour save your dignity DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I went along with a friend and stayed here. when we got there we wernt impressed with the room but we laughed it off how bad it was. The rooms are very basic but we didnt spend much time in it. The place was full of ants and crawled over the bed at night. we stayed around the pool sometimes in the day, it was quite quiet in the day and was nice for relaxing. We heard alot of stories about the pool however we thought it was fine. We didnt really like the river reggae night club, it was a bit creepy in the inside club. The outside bars was okay if your coming back from town to sit at around 4am or so but its not great by any means. We paid £550 self catering for a week which was very bad value. but if u happen to have got a good price for here then i would definatly go as long as you dont have high expectations. We had a brilliant partying holiday and loved it !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Well where to start went out in a group of 6 friends as a clubbing holiday - we're slighty older in the 18-30's bracket, but hey we've done it all before and were expecting to slum it, but oh god. this is something else, seriously dirty room tiles cracked bathroom disgusting hairs everywhere!! and fair few ants? we were greeted in our hallway by a pile of vomit and a condom(used) . But hey we laughed it off its Ayia Napa after all and 2/3am. This is the place to be for location but not for sleeping or relaxing or anything of that sort of holiday if your 16-30 and literally only want to spend say 2 hours sleeping in it thats it, but thats only bearable, all in all i'd avoid this place, opt for the Bella Napa Hotel! amazing, 10 min walk from Ayia Napas main nightlife central but wicked pool, and beach just across the road! we spoke to a group of 20 year old's who loved it there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We got the holiday really cheap so didn't expect much and after reading the reviews we prepared ourselves for the worst. It did very much live up to the bad reviews and it was a good job we prepared ourselves.
The swimming area was disgraceful and because the pool was open 24hrs a day people were having sex in it. The showers were SO bad in the room we decided to go and use the showers near the pool area and they were rusty and didn't work. The toilet was dirty and the sink was leaky.
My bed had a spring which had come right through the bed I had to sleep on top of my towel so it wouldn't dig in. We used to get back to the hotel for 5am-6am after clubbing and just wanted to sleep!!! but the music in the club downstairs went on til 8/9am!!
Location was great!! the only thing that was any good!! the only time we had to get a taxi was to Nissi beach and between the 4 of us it was cheap! there was also another quiet beach we found not too far a way in walking distance too!! all the nightclubs were also in walking distance and shops/resturants ect.
Overall, I would definately reccommend not staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Reggae Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Reggae Apartments

Address: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
River Reggae Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Reggae Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.