We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches and ants are having a party inside the rooms...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thalassaki Holiday Village

Save Saved
You added Thalassaki Holiday Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Thalassaki Holiday Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5343, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 102 hotels in Ayia Napa
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cockroaches and ants are having a party inside the rooms...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I accidentally visited the hotel because members of my family had to stay there for some days.
I totally agree with all the previous poor visitors regarding the dirty rooms and rude personnel.. But OK, i thought its only for some nights sleep... But when i got into the bathroom i was totally shocked..A "colony" of ants were moving around the bathroom.. The picture was fulfilled when i saw a dead cockroach in the room close to the balcony.... This is not just a bad hotel... Its a danger for the visitor`s health... The Cypriot health authorities should pay them a visit..But till this thing happens, you stay away...

PS: I have pictures of the the cockroach and the ants, but i decided not to upload them, so anyone who sees this review wont feel disgusted.. I keep them just in case the hotel management tries to deny these accusations... In that case you will see by yourself..


Regards,

Nikos Konstantinou

Room Tip: Stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    10
    10
    18
See reviews for
25
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had the worst experience ever in this hotel!! I never thought I would meet such unprofessional and ignorant employees in my whole life. Food sux, rooms are dirty and the most surprising part is that when i wrote the complaint sheet (which was a big one!!!) and handed in person to the manager he was reading it without even asking me 1 question or even apologizing for all the problems that his hotel has caused us. But of course, I am not shocked, if this is the manager's behavior, no wonder why the staff are so rude!!! I don't recommend anyone to go to this hotel not even my enemies..

Room Tip: Just don't choose this hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

very dirty ... smells like [--] ! we had to pay to house keeper everyday to clean my room !!! to give us towels !! the staff is very impolite !!! the manager is careless ! i will never forget this hotel ! and his staff !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The apartment smelled of humidity and mould, all the walls had humidity stains, one door had several holes in the middle - please see the pictures, if you find this hard to believe. All the chairs and the sofa were full of stains and judging by their style and condition seemed at least 40 years old, same as the rest of the furniture. The curtains were stained, the cupboards were filthy and smelled of mould inside. The refrigerator was extremely old and its door was borken. In contrast with what we received, the internet page of the hotel http://freijresorts.com/ proudly displays a modern, nicely decorated room, with brand new furniture. The receptionist admitted that there is only one such room in the hotel, all the rest being same as the one I've got.
The towels were extremely worn-out and I was told that they get changed only every third day. Shall I add that ants were regular visitors in the bathroom ? The maid never actually cleaned the whole bathroom, but just some parts, with obvious dirt being left everywhere. I had moved the dustbin from its place, just to discover a lot of dirt and a dead cockroach behind it. It was extremely unpleasant to use the bathroom, as I constantly had the feeling that it is filthy. The beds were extremely hard, the pillows were filled with a sort of knots, the covers were extremely worn out. The lamps on the wall were hanging in their fixtures, half broken. Everything was of low quality and worn out, torn or broken. The remote control for the air conditioning was also badly damaged. We paid 10 Euro deposit for it and another 10Eur for the TV remote control.
Outside, the parasols by the pool were torn and hanging in pieces -again check the pictures if you find it hard to believe. An attentive, good service could have compensated for the worn-out, poor quality, old infrastructure. But the receptionists were agressive and mean, the cleaning personnel was not doing their job and were not checked upon. There was no supervision, I have often found the room even filthier after being "cleaned". There was no customer satisfaction feedback form in the room.
Judging by what I was offered, the hotel is at most 2 stars, but it is sold as a four star hotel!!! I cannot understand how this evaluation was done. In August the room was sold at 5 times its real value and the price in internet changed daily. On one occasion I noticed that the price doubled from one day to another!!! There are no fixed prices for a season, and as I said the hotel takes the liberty to raise the prices from one day to another.
The hotel insists on the advantage of being close to the beach. Indeed, after crossing an unused piece of land there was the so called beach: a narrow strech of sand with rocks and garbage that discouraged anyone willing to get into the watter. The next beach was actually about one km away.
The majority of the tourists in the hotel are russian, with a few english and rarely other nationalities.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the hotel homepage, the one with the modern furniture. But I doubt that this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Officially the hotel has 4 stars, but the real number is ONE star!
Here are the arguments:
- the furniture is old and in bad condition;
- the bathrooms are dirty and the toilets are not working properly;
- there are signs of old water damages on the walls;
- the hotel's personnel (reception, bar, cleaning) are extremely unpolite and rude.
- there is no luggage room: if your flight is after 11:00 then you have only one optionm: leave your luggage somewhere at the entrance hall where ANYBODY from the main street can come!
On top of all, there is a deposit, 20 EURO, you must pay for the AC and TV remote controls!
My recommendation: unless you don't have any other choice while being in Ayia Nappa, do not book a room at Thalassaki Holiday Village!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we stayed for two nights.the appartments are good and clean but they have to change their beds and pillows.they have big balcony and a very good pool.
only 6-7 minutes walk from the centre and the shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

A group of 12 of us stayed at Thalassaki Village back in 2009 and absolutly loved our stay here! The rooms we spacious and clean and all had a decent size balcony - the one that I was in was on the ground floor and had a little garden which was nice. The rooms could do with updating but as long as they were clean then it doesn't bother me really.
The pool area was fab, one big main pool and then a smaller pool with a volleyball net - being a big group we had fun playing volleyball :).

We did go to Ayia Napa for the bars and clubs but chose to stay in a hotel that was situated slightly away from the main square so that it was a bit quieter in the day which was perfect because it was only a 6 or 7 minute walk into the square in the evenings.

There is a shop in the grounds of the hotel that provides most things you'd need but their is also a larger shop just across the road. There is a large bar area that overlooks the pool, we spend most evenings here before heading up to the main square, they have a happy hour between 8 and 9pm where all cocktails are half price i think they were 2E each, the barman was called George (not sure if he is still there) but he was great fun :).

The hotel also backed onto the beach which was nice but we didn't use this beach often as it was more of a stoney beach but was still nice to walk along in the evenings. We usually went to Nissi beach or Grecian beach - both with crystal clear sea and sandy beaches, plenty of sunbeds and had little parlours you could get food, drinks and icecream from which was nice.
Next door to the right of the hotel was a little restaurant that we used every morning for breakfast and went there most evenings for dinner too as it was a lovely place and wasn't too pricey.

I really enjoyed my stay here and so did the rest of the group and would definatly consider going back as i love Ayia Napa too. Hope you found this helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thalassaki Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassaki Holiday Village

Also Known As:
Thalassaki Holiday Village Hotel Ayia Napa
Thalassaki Holiday Village Hotel
Address: 33 Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5343, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassaki Holiday Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Thalassaki Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thalassaki Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.