We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent family resort, if a little worn out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay

Save Saved
You added Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay
Nissi Avenua, Ayia Napa, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“decent family resort, if a little worn out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

overall, a decent budget resort. the staff try pretty hard, and the pools are large and well kept. the included buffets if you opt for the meal plans are varied and of reasonable quality, with some good dishes. the little snack bar nearer the beach is lower quality greasy fried food - only recommended if you have a hangover. the kids activities are good, and there's a decent mix of people from various (mostly Nordic) countries. the accommodation is a little dated, but the hardworking cleaning staff keep it clean. one night the aircon was out all night - not good when it's 32+C at night! Took the whole night to fix it, and no-one on the resort slept well. daytime a/c costs extra - but that does make you think whether you really need it. beware of the noisy discos and amusement park next door to the property. if you have teenage kids this is fine, but with younger ones, you will get some disturbed sleep. the nearby beach is rocky and not good for sea access, but there's a good jogging/walking path.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited in August 2011, and we loved it. All the staff are friendly, and they will help you with any request you might have. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The children loved Lollo and Bernie, they could not believe their eyes when Lollo and Bernie visited our apartment. The show at night was also hugely popular, we all enjoyed it even though we have seen the show in Mallorca.
The food is good, especially the Greek Buffet. The supermarked had freshly baked bread and pastries every day.
All things considered we think it was a fantastic family resort, and will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Have visited this resort two times together with my family (ages 12-80).
This is not only a resort for family with small chidren, even teenagers and retired people enjoy it.
The beach at Sandy Bay is close to the resort and nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was indeed a perfect resort for a family vacation; good appartments, very good restaurants, perfect breakfast, clean and warm pools, Sandy Bay Beach right outside the resort... you name it! I highly recommend this hotel and its friendly staff.
A tip: Ask for an appartment with balcony or terrace towards the garden or pool and not towards the nearby road/parking lot. We stayed in a 1-bedroom Family Appartment (no. 760) which had an excellent location towards the garden and with the balcony to the East, thereby avoiding the afternoon and evening sun (at that time of the day we have had enough sun!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel provides a protected community feeling and a relaxed atmosphere and is perfect for families! Large pools for all ages, including a shaded baby pool! Lots of entertainment for the kids and everything is designed for traveling with children, restaurants, menus, apartments, playgrounds, childrens club etc. But you also find a Spa and a gym for the parents.

The only disadvantage with this hotel is the location. It is quite a long walk into town and about 10 minutes walk to the beach. Therefore it is easy to get stuck at the resort and then yout can get a little bored of the local restaurants quite fast...

To summarize, this is paradise if you travel with children, but if not, perhaps you should consider a different hotel, at least during the high season...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have stayed at this resort at least four times. Every time we come to Cyprus we stay at this resort. It just has it all. Cozy apartments, lots of pools, great beach, great restaurant, and it's only 2 km from Agia Napa City - which is, like, nothing at all if you have two working legs. Also, there is often entertainment at night, including singing / dancing. Scandinavians might also be interested in the fact that some of the staff speaks Norwegian / Swedish / Danish.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

4 star complex, could be 2.. the rooms felt verry old - even more bad than avarage, the doors in the room was broken. Not at all a 4 star room! But i hope they have fixed that.. it was some years ago. We did not like the atmosphere here. First time we where in cyprus we lived at Panthea garden, it was everything we ever wished fore. We thought this hotel would be kind of the same, but not at all.. of every 4 star hotel we have lived in, this one was the "worst". But, it's ok if they just give it a 3 star, then you don't have to expect so much and it's ok if the rooms are broken and old. The garden and everything was verry nice. But, as i said.. not the atmosphere. It's a OK place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay

Address: Nissi Avenua, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#24 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.