We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family resort, for a one-week swimming/sunbathing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay

Save Saved
You added Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay
Nissi Avenua, Ayia Napa, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 104 hotels in Ayia Napa
Skanderborg, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent family resort, for a one-week swimming/sunbathing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was indeed a perfect resort for a family vacation; good appartments, very good restaurants, perfect breakfast, clean and warm pools, Sandy Bay Beach right outside the resort... you name it! I highly recommend this hotel and its friendly staff.
A tip: Ask for an appartment with balcony or terrace towards the garden or pool and not towards the nearby road/parking lot. We stayed in a 1-bedroom Family Appartment (no. 760) which had an excellent location towards the garden and with the balcony to the East, thereby avoiding the afternoon and evening sun (at that time of the day we have had enough sun!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel provides a protected community feeling and a relaxed atmosphere and is perfect for families! Large pools for all ages, including a shaded baby pool! Lots of entertainment for the kids and everything is designed for traveling with children, restaurants, menus, apartments, playgrounds, childrens club etc. But you also find a Spa and a gym for the parents.

The only disadvantage with this hotel is the location. It is quite a long walk into town and about 10 minutes walk to the beach. Therefore it is easy to get stuck at the resort and then yout can get a little bored of the local restaurants quite fast...

To summarize, this is paradise if you travel with children, but if not, perhaps you should consider a different hotel, at least during the high season...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have stayed at this resort at least four times. Every time we come to Cyprus we stay at this resort. It just has it all. Cozy apartments, lots of pools, great beach, great restaurant, and it's only 2 km from Agia Napa City - which is, like, nothing at all if you have two working legs. Also, there is often entertainment at night, including singing / dancing. Scandinavians might also be interested in the fact that some of the staff speaks Norwegian / Swedish / Danish.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

4 star complex, could be 2.. the rooms felt verry old - even more bad than avarage, the doors in the room was broken. Not at all a 4 star room! But i hope they have fixed that.. it was some years ago. We did not like the atmosphere here. First time we where in cyprus we lived at Panthea garden, it was everything we ever wished fore. We thought this hotel would be kind of the same, but not at all.. of every 4 star hotel we have lived in, this one was the "worst". But, it's ok if they just give it a 3 star, then you don't have to expect so much and it's ok if the rooms are broken and old. The garden and everything was verry nice. But, as i said.. not the atmosphere. It's a OK place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

I wonder such a big populair resort does not have more reviews. We surely missed it when we wanted to review this hotel.

We stayed there late August 2008 and enjoyed very much. Hotel is scandinavian and most staff there are Scandinavian with a majority of swedish.

We looked for a resort with a big variety of pools and we found it. We did however find the pools crowded some of the time. Pools are very children friendly.

There are two restaurants and the menu card can be found on their website including prices. We did however after a few days got tired of the lack of choices.

There is a lot of entertainment for children and adults during day and evening. However staying there more than one week - then you have seen it all and most of entertainment is done in Swedish.

If you book a tour directly with the resort (eg. boat trip) be prepared to walk as there is no transfer included. A walk to the harbour takes 30min and a lot of sweet.

The beach close to resort - Sandy Bay is ok, but we preferred Nissi Beach which is a 10min walk away to be much nicer and more child friendly - however it is a party beach and gets crowded.

Next time we will look at Adams beach which has more nice pools and is just next to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

The hotel is in fact a widespread complex of 2-floor row-houses with appartments of 1 or 2 rooms (we have stayed in a so-called 'Royal' appartment, which is a double-room appartment (dining room with small kitchen corner plus bedroom) probably slightly bigger than the normal two-room appartments. I believe none of the aapartments has direct sea view, but the beach is walking distance (few hundred of meters) from the appartments. The swimming pools area is very nice, at least in April when it was not crowded. There is an almost-free minigolf inside the hotel area and an open-air chess table with large pieces and many walking alleys, very child and baby-friendly.
Also for kids, there is a Play&Chat area, where children may spend some time (many activities are for free) when sun is too hot for example.
The staff has been very friendly and answered very promptly to all our requests.
To summarize, I believe it's a wonderful place for families with children (especially children aged 3-7, for which most activities are targeting at), especially at the beginning of season (April/May), when the weather is not too hot yet and the water shortages are not visible to the tourists.

  • Liked — The extensive gardens; the smell of flowers; the children pools
  • Disliked — mosquitos during the night :)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay

Address: Nissi Avenua, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#25 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay Hotel Ayia Napa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.