We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vilar do Golf to your Saves list
Vilar do Golf
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Quinta Lago, Almancil 8135-024, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Reigate
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delightful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our third visit and facilities get better every time. We were in a 2 bedroomed fully refurbished villa and one of the best equipped facilities we have experienced. Added value was the Wi-fi access in the villa which was free to us as Diamond Gold members. The restaurant do however have to recognise that menus should reflect some vegetarian choices. You should not have to go and ask if anything is available. However if you do then self-cater then local markets and supermarkets are excellent. The on site supermarket was also far more competitive than most we experience. Externally, there are superb walking opportunities and the birdwatching opportunities are very special. Not a resort for those with limited mobility although to get back and forward to the local town and beach area, the resort bus was good. This must be our favourite Diamond resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you enjoy staying at Vilar do Golf, and that your most recent visit was especially good! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the restaurant menu, however – we strive to provide a wide range of food options for our guests, and we are reviewing our menu at the moment with the intention of promoting vegetarian and gluten free choices.

We really hope that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we hope you’ll get the opportunity to return – we have a constant programme of improvement across the resort, and our aim is to keep getting better and better!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    67
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Villa's at this resort are well equipped and we had a newly refurbished unit. There is Internet throughout the entire estate. The service was friendly. Only items for complaint is that they charge for all the extra's (i.e. Dishwashing tablets, Internet) - those items should be included in such a resort. The resort is close to the beach and many golf courses. There are lot of things to do and explore in the region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I had our 1st visit to Vilar Do Golf Sept 14th to 21 Sept and everything was perfect. We flew to Faro airport and booked our transfer to the resort via Resort Hoppa, we were taken by private taxi which I had prepaid on-line and cost approx £20. After reading previous reviews we decided that we would probably hire a car for 3 or 4 days direct from the resort, this didn't happen as we found we didn't need a car. The villa was superb with everything you could possibly want. I took my iPad and Wi-fi worked perfectly in the Villa, around the pool and in the bar and on bar terrace. It meant that I could face-time my family every day and could take them on a tour of the resort and show them the fabulous views. We took the free bus to the beach one day, just be aware that the cost of 2 sun beds and a brolly cost 15 euros for half a day and 20 euros for a full day. Another day we hired bikes (12 euros each bike for 24 hrs), we cycled to the nature reserve and spent a good few hours cycling along the reserve where we saw flamingos, turtles and many different birds-there are a couple of hides along the way. The weather was glorious every day and therefore did not want to spend hours driving to different places, the resort is stunning and we loved spending time strolling around. The pool area and pools are fantastic, the pool bar sold really lovely snacks at reasonable prices and the jugs of Sangria are to die for! Bobby Jones opened at 4pm and had happy hour from 4 to 7, the view from the bar terrace is something else. We met so many lovely people during these happy hours! We ate most nights at Bobby Jones, food fab and again very reasonable. Live music every night apart from Thursday when they had a karaoke night, we didn't leave the bar till after 2 am! The supermarket on site was well stocked and very reasonably priced. Try the rose wine (2.29 euros) absolutely delicious! A huge thank you to everyone of the staff at the resort, all professional but the friendliest people you could ever meet. Not forgetting the cleaners who kept our beautiful villa sparkling clean. We will be back!

Room Tip: Refurbished villa, I asked for a garden with sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are really pleased that you had a lovely time at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special! We’re delighted that you’d like to come back here for another visit – we can’t wait to see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked to stay for two weeks in August 2013, we have previously stayed here a few years ago and were very impressed with the changes to the resort notably the refurbishments and the addition of an indoor pool, but for us as a family the biggest change is the staff special mention to the animation team of Alex, Luigi and Christina all of whom entertained our children and charmed us but an extra special mention for Fabio the lifeguard one of the nicest, funniest, charming person you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. We hope to return in the future and would love to see the same staff at the resort. The standard of accommodation was exceptional as was the level of cleanliness. We ate at Bobby Jones the food was exceptional and the children enjoyed meeting up with their new found friends from around the pool, the pool area was quite busy and the sun beds did all get taken on a few days that we choose to arrive late at the pool apart from that no complaints our three boys cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you have very young children try and get a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review – we’re delighted that you had a great time at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special! We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a week here with my family including a 4 month old and 2 year old. It was the ideal holiday,

Accommodation is in town houses in terrace like rows off a network of roads/cul-de-sacs. Means you can drop your family off about 10m from the front door and park up 30-50m from there. The site is quite hilly and whilst there are plenty of paths interlinking these contain many steps so not navigable with the buggy so the road had to be used and this was the long way around!

The town house themselves were first class, though don't be fooled you'll see a golf ball whilst having your breakfast, I think there must be less than 5% of the houses actually on the course!

The best part was the pool, and more so the pool area. There is a combination of grass, around the pool sunbeds, sunbeds on the sun terrace (tiered) and a bar/cafe with cool spray blasting through. All this around 4 pools, one indoor (which required a hat which was a bit odd, not sure if this was law or something), a big pool for general fun, a small square one where games were played of water polo etc and a children's pool. Also in the area was a play area, under a shade roof, containing a slide, swings, ping pong, and a couple of rockers.

The restaurant on the complex was very good, and quite reasonable in price, we ate twice and spent about Euro50 both times.

That was the only real option to eat at a restaurant without going in the car, A car is a must really, I don't know what you do without one, the nearest real supermarket was 10 mins in the car.

Will be looking to book this again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We’re delighted that you had a lovely holiday at Vilar Do Golf, and that you’re planning to return here. We really hope you will get the opportunity to come back for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have just returned from a week at Vilar do Golf, our first time there, and was very impressed with the whole resort but most of all with the staff. Every single member of staff that we came into contact with was helpful, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable, they really added value to our holiday and made us want to return to this lovely resort. Our villa was very well-appointed and had everything we needed for a great holiday. The only tiny complaint would be that the Wi-Fi internet coverage is very patchy and we often couldn't get it at our villa , but that is no big deal and everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We pride ourselves on service excellence and we are glad to know that you were not disappointed with the standard of care and accommodation we offer. Please visit us again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being members of Diamond Resorts we are used to fabulous accommodation and Vilar Do Golf did not disappoint. Villa 98 was just what we wanted. Quiet and secluded with a lovely private garden. The sprinklers never failed to surprise us!! We spent a lot of time just sitting and relaxing and even adopted a cat who enjoyed our company. Air con was on all the time which affected sleep but rather that than too warm!! We are not poolside people but the facilities up there were very good and the staff at the bar were excellent as were the guys in Bobby Jones restaurant where we ate twice. Food was good and well served. The live entertainment was ok but not quite to our taste. It's a very affluent area and we chose to see some 'real' Algarve and rented a car. A must if you want to escape the rich and 'famous'. On site supermarket was more than adequate. The housekeeping staff were brilliant. Reception staff were efficient and helpful but someone needs to teach them how to smile a bit more!!

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool if you want piece and quiet during the day. Villa 98 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Address: Quinta Lago, Almancil 8135-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#1 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#2 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilar do Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.