We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place & family friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vilar do Golf to your Saves list
Vilar do Golf
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Quinta Lago, Almancil 8135-024, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning place & family friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We'd not had a great experience with one of the Diamond Resorts locations in the UK, so hadn't set our expectations too high. We were delighted when we arrived at Vilar Do Golf, villas are spacious, well equipped and very clean. We have young children and so the convenience of the on-site store was great.
Restaurant lovely, as is the pool bar/cafe which is very good value as I must admit we expected a bit of 'captive audience' price hiking, but not the case at all.
What really makes the difference is the customer service &
friendliness. Across the board friendly people but in particular a grey haired chap who works in the restaurants (wish I'd remembered his name) who was great.
All in all location great but it was the people & their attitude that stood out for us. Will definitely be looking to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We’re extremely pleased that you chose to stay at Vilar Do Golf, and that your stay here exceeded your expectations! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our team helped make your stay here such a memorable and enjoyable one. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    75
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently spent a week at Vilar do Golf in a Diamond Resorts International managed villa, which is approximately 20 minutes from Faro airport by car. This was my first visit, but my parents are regular visitors to this resort and rave about it. We were in a 2 bed/2 bathroom unit. Upstairs is the master bedroom with en-suite bathroom (large shower only) and the second bedroom which has a separate bathroom with a shower over bath. Downstairs is an open plan living/dining/fully equipped kitchen (washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge freezer and microwave) with two large sliding patio doors onto a private terrace complete with sun loungers and table and chairs. The unit was fully air-conditioned and the décor and furniture was modern and in good condition. The only slight criticism is that there is no downstairs toilet which can be inconvenient in the evening if kids are sleeping upstairs. There is a small shop on site which does great fresh baking every day and has the basic store cupboard essentials. There is a restaurant on site (Bobby Jones) which we did not use so cannot comment on this, but we did regularly use the pool bar at lunch time. There is a wide variety of meals available including salads, burgers, omelettes, pasta and a separate kids menu. All food is cooked to order, so sometimes had to wait a bit if the place was busy, but at least you know the food is fresh. The prices are very reasonable and the waiting staff extremely attentive and very friendly. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of sun loungers and parasols available. There are 3 pools - small baby's pool, medium sized one where inflatables and activities are held and a large one. There were plenty of activities for both adults and children, none of which are compulsory and no pressure is put on you to participate. In general all the other staff I encountered (reception, housekeeping, shop assistants, animators and DRI staff) were very professional and courteous and tried their very best to ensure everyone had a pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend this resort to others, but suggest renting a car for flexible transport due to location, although buses and taxis do operate in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently spent two weeks here on a family holiday and had a lovely time, however it could have been much better had the services in the resort been up to what you expect at a four star resort. The quality and consistency of housekeeping is terrible, as most days during our stay we had to go to reception to ask for toilet rolls and towels which had not been replaced or replenished when the apartment was cleaned. We were also not very impressed with the quality of the meals served at night in Bobby Jones (on one night a meal was sent back twice as inedible and replaced each time. On the third occasion we decided not to accept it and had it removed from our bill). The service at this restaurant is also very hit and miss, as each night we dined there the food order was wrong when it finally arrived. In contrast to this the food and service available lunchtimes at the Pool Bar is wonderful, albeit you need to allow a long time for your food order to arrive.
Our only other serious complaint was that when we checked- in we were told that they had lost the keys to the safe in our apartment and did not know when they might be able to get some more, as a result of this my mobile phone was stolen from inside our locked apartment on the third day of our stay. When I reported it to Reception they said "we will speak to housekeeping about it tomorrow". When I returned the following afternoon to enquire as to the results of their 'investigation' they said that their maids had worked for them for fifteen years and they were trustworthy, and that they had not seen it. The guy on Reception did say that he would report it to the Resort Manager in the morning and that they would want to speak to me about it. The manager made no attempt to contact me throughout the rest of our stay, and still has not contacted me !!!! As a result I had no alternative but to report it at the Police Station in Almancil as stolen.
There was one lady on Reception (I think her name might be Caria Madeira) and a two or three waiters who are all exceptional, but these hard working members of staff are being let down by the majority of other staff at the resort. Overall we had a lovely family holiday, but it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: The design of the resort is very good, though being located close to the Faro coastline you do hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your stay here at Vilar do Golf did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest who stays with us and we are sorry to read this was not the case on this occasion.
As far as the cleaning issue is concerned, we had an issue with the laundry linen delivering late and housekeeping needed to return later to supply the towels. We appreciate that this is not ideal and is not our standard at all, but regretfully we were conditioned by the 3rd party. However we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Referring to the restaurant service, we addressed this with our F&B manager and we regret if you were not entirely happy with the service, please accept our apologies on behalf of the franchise company.
Regarding the safety box key, we always try and inform the guests if the safe is not available and that we have alternative safety deposit boxes available in reception; we apologize if you were not aware of this arrangement or chose not to use it. We would like to assure you that we did our best to investigate the issue of your missing mobile in house. We are sorry if you were disappointed with the outcome of this investigation however and this is why we advised you to call or go to the police station to report the loss. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that we tried to address this you whilst you were still on the premises and considering that you were spending most time out of the villa, the receptionist suggested that you contact us when convenient, however regretfully we were not contacted. Should you wish to discuss this issue further please contact our Customer Service team who will be happy to assist you.
Again we apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 days at Vilar do Golf as part of a timeshare ownership exchange and we strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a golf outing or just a getaway in the beautiful Algarve region of southern Portugal. The villa we had was 2 bedroom/2 baths with a completely equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, breakfast area, small living room, and patio looking out onto the golf course. It was clean, quiet, well-furnished and the maid services were excellent. The property amenities are well documented on their website and they are extensive and uniformly excellent. I was particularly impressed with the Bobby Jones restaurant. The food was superb and the service sparkling. My only negative is that wifi is only available in the property offices.

Two tips: The resort has a shuttle service that can be used to get to Faro and other areas nearby, so use it to keep from being stranded at the resort. If that fails, taxis are always readily available or you can rent a car through the resort. You can also walk to a nearby shopping area. Second, if you want to see Lisbon, I would strongly recommend that you rent a car vs. the Petri Porto bus tour you can purchase through the resort. The bus tour takes 5 hours from the time you leave the resort until the time you arrive in Lisbon, and of course, 5 hours back again. You can drive the distance in half the time and have much more time in Lisbon for seeing the sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you were fully satisfied with our service and facilities and we truly appreciate your comments. It is important to us to know we have contributed to making your stay a more relaxing and enjoyable one. And thank you for sharing your travelling tips with our potential future guests! We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in early May - ideal temperature for the little ones, though the pool was a bit on the cool side. The recently renovated villa was very well kitted out, clean and comfortable. We had a family unit which included two bathrooms. The resort is very well kept, gorgeous gardens and pool area. We didn’t eat in the on-site restaurant as it looked a bit stuffy for our liking but there are lots of good options both for family friendly lunches and smarter evening meals close by the resort. Liked it so much we are already booked for next year and, on our recommendation, my sister and her hubby are there at the moment.

The only criticisms were:
the lack of a downstairs toilet in the villa - once the children are in bed, its helpful not to have to disturb them if you need the loo!
that you have to wear swimming caps in the indoor pool (including my 11 month old son!)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit as some of them are still waiting to be done-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've just had a fab week away at the Vilar do Golf complex in Quinta do Lago. The property no 15 was very spacious and very clean. The only downside to this particular property is the tree overhanging the patio area. For some reason it was leaking sap everywhere and we found the patio to be constantly sticky (ask for another unit). Having said that it was the only downside and we didn't let it spoil our holiday. The pool complex is amazing, one of the best I've seen. There is a pool bar and the snacks and drinks were a good price and the staff excellent!! The Bobby Jones restaraunt onsite is brilliant and I think under new managment. We ate there most nights as we found the menu to be varied and well priced. We never had a bad meal and again the staff are wonderful. Try the brazillian night menu only 19 euros for a three course with a cocktail included and live music..fab!!
All in all a wonderful stay and our first in Portugal. I was so impressed not only with the beautiful site and surroundings (only 20 mins from airport) but also with the Portugese people. You won't find nicer anywhere!!

Room Tip: All the apartments are lovely but ask for one without a tree overhanging the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf and will pass on your thanks to Bobby Jones restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon.

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week at Vilar Do Golf stayed with another couple in 2 bedroom appartment. Desk staff and all other staff very polite and helpful. Villa was excellent having a WiFi router fitted during stay. Pool side was excellent, Bobby Jones good could do with more varied menu. Had no car but managed to get about via taxi to La Quinta Shopping and resort bus to sailing lake and beach. Small shop on site had all we needed. Another restaurant within walking distance was Co Co Lane near golf range good food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
9.8 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
8.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Address: Quinta Lago, Almancil 8135-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#1 Best Value Hotel in Almancil
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilar do Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.