We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menta Pimenta

Menta Pimenta
Estrada de vale do lobo-Corgo da zorra, Almancil 8135-107, Portugal
+(351)289 398 901
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Menta Pimenta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I have been traveling to this area of the Algarve for 20 years, and have visited almost all of the restaurants in the area. This restaurant was formerly Chez Angelo, but is now under new ownership and management. We had a very pleasant evening on the outside terrace last week. The menu is not as extenisive as some of the other restaurants in the area, but the quality was excellent. Lamb is a speciality and when my father mentioned to our waiter that it was the best he had ever tasted, our waiter insisted on bringing out another three cutlets, cooked again to perfection. Over the course of the evening, we received very attentive service, and enjoyed a very pleasant meal. We will definetely return next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    57
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are staying down the road for a week and decided to give Menta Pimenta a try. They have only been open 4 months, so I think allowances must be made for that.

But....at best, the food was average - it was lacking taste and was simply uninspired, as well as being about 20% more expensive than the nearest upmarket restaurant with which it hopes to compete. The most annoying thing about it, however, were the decking on which we and other customers sat - it vibrated every time staff walked on it, and the staff bustled around, creating a rushed and busy atmosphere which was a bit off-putting.

But by far and away the worst aspect of our visit was the music! They have obviously decided that the mainly English 40+ middle class clientele wants to hear 1970s pop music - played too loud on a CD player which was faulty and skipped a lot!! It was not pleasant to listen to!!

So - a way to go for Menta Pimenta. If you are in the area, go to Casa da Quinta, about half a mile up the road - it is simply perfect!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic meal, very helpful staff, catered for children, beautiful setting and atmosphere. Excellent but well worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for any trip to the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have been coming to the Algarve for several years now and Menta Pimenta really stands out as a place to go out and have a lovely meal. For me, any good restaurant starts and begins with the service and its people. At Menta Pimenta you will find the most charming, pleasant and attentive staff I think I've come across in the region. And their customers having a nice time and great meal is clearly their priority. The food matches the level of service. Lamb is the restaurant's speciality and they offer it a variety of ways: the rack of lamb is particularly excellent. All the food is of a high quality, you can tell the owners and the chef really know their stuff. I've been back recently and sat outside on the wooden terrace that they've recently built, it has a lovely ambience and its hard to find a more pleasant place to spend a summer's evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We will definitely go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is my favourite restaurant ever!! (Josh aged 8). We're a family of 5 and visited this restaurant twice in the week we were in Portugal. The 2nd time we had friends with us and they also loved it. The food, atmosphere, setting, service were all excellent! Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menta Pimenta also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Menta Pimenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menta Pimenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.