We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and very reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flor De Sol

Flor De Sol
Estrada de Vale Formosa, Almancil, Portugal
289355182
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 128 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and very reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Started with a lovely waiter who recommends done of the nicest red wines I have ever had, herdade da comporta 2008, followed by a cover of even better pata negra from the northern region if portugal (all Portuguese ingredients and then a main course of a Brazilian steak. 4 of us, 100euros, with wine! Perfect. A must for a nice meal, different to some of the normal places to visit in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Prima eten, zonder opsmuk.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nice restaurant with a very helpful and kind waiter. We took the Cataplana which was filled very well. There was no winelist and the wine which was recommended, was average. Yet, we will go back in summertime, with daylight, since the vieuw is supposed to be marvelous...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almancil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“8,5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

8,5 to lunch
a very good food done with a special touch of a International cuisine
a very friendly welcome a nice sea view in a easy and informal ambience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We always pay this restaurant a visit when in Portugal and have never been disappointed. A lovely family run resturant where nothing is ever too much trouble. Pedro is a great chief who is always very proud of his food; as he should be . Fabio is a great host and nothing is ever too much trouble.
The prawns in garlic starter, is sensational and the steaks are the best I have ever had. The kids are well looked after and have alot of choice and they love the puddings. It's definitely worth trying to find as very reasonable and great, great food. Really love this restaurant with a nice family feel. Must go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been to this restaurant every year since it opened at least once or twice when we are on holiday. We have never had a bad meal. The service is excellent as is the cuisine. They are most helpful with wine choices and prices are sensible. Hence could not understand why we were the only table last night on a Saturday at the height of the season.
They deserve support.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flor De Sol also viewed

 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Flor De Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flor De Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.