We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food made with good ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Tapas and Vinho

Simply Tapas and Vinho
Estrada de Vale do Lobo N 862 | Escanxinas, Almancil 8135-016, Portugal
+351 289 391 145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 125 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Tapas, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Simply Tapas and Vinho has taken the locals by storm and has quickly established itself to be the place to be and the place to be seen in. After considerable research in Spain, chef Paul has put his own slant on many well known and traditional favorites as well as other more adventurous and interesting fare. If you are with a large party the Chef's Table provides the perfect setting. Whilst there check out the wide selection of gourmet delicacies on sale as well as a great selection of fine wines at reasonable prices.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good food made with good ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant, with lovely food. The terrace is by a well used road, which didn't interfere with conversation and is nicely shaded. We had a taster menu of tapas and added a few dishes which was well worth doing. Service was very relaxed so no high scores, but no problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On our must visit list each year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We started visiting Simply Tapas last year with our family of four & returned again in 2013. Something for everyone on the menu & a great way to share food. Service was friendly, helpful & fast. It remains a must visit restaurant on our annual holiday in the Algarve.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“All in the name!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Succulent, meaty chicken and cracking value, especially with the half carafe (enough wine for two at lunch) deal for E12.50 The chicken pie was massive and got a thumbs up from the kids. Substantial side salads reduced the guilt of the yummy chips. Deserted for Sunday lunch which was a real shame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Frango! (and more)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

our friends, who have a villa in Santa Barbara de Nexe took us to this restaurant and we didnt really know what to expect, but we wasnt disapointed! It was very good value for money with large portions and the option of included wine (was happened to be very nice). My daughter had the BBQ spareribs and we the nicest ribs she has ever had. The chicken salad was really really lovely, along with all the other chicken dishes our party had.
The only fault here is we ended up there on the hottest day in August and although we were sitting under the veranda, it was quite stuffy. but this would not put us off going again! highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good services but the quantity could be better. Great selection of wines and the atmosphere is really nice. Since we were during the summer being comfortable and fresh is always nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Tapas and Vinho also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Simply Tapas and Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Tapas and Vinho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.