We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa 488 - closer to the sea impossible! Paradise in Algarve!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vale do Lobo Resort

Save Saved
You added Vale do Lobo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vale do Lobo Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-864, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Almancil
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Villa 488 - closer to the sea impossible! Paradise in Algarve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We enjoy our holidays since several years at VdL, and always came back home relaxed and with lots of great memories.
This time we spent the holidays at villa 488 - enough room for our whole family - we, our kids and parents. The villa has its private pool and only 3 minutes walk down to the beach and the good restaurants and bars.
Unforgetable - we will repeat for sure - is the warm comfort of the villa 488 and the view over the sea!
The resort Vale de Lobo is lovely and everyone of the family had something to enjoy! Golf, Tennis, beach and good food

Room Tip: Ask for villa 488!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited Vale do Lobo in October , staying in a private villa. The resort is lovely , very easy for uk families as everyone speaks English, and everything is set up for holidaymakers. The beach is beautiful, facilities good and restaurants good. Weather was extremely mixed but it was lovely and warm anyway ! Would definitely go back. Only issue was that the praca and shopping area were pretty deserted sometimes as it was the end of season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. Our peak times of year in Vale do Lobo are during the summer months and school holidays when the resort is at capacity. Many people enjoy the low season because there are fewer people around but both times of year are fantastic for families, couples and groups to visit us depending on your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been coming to Vale do Lobo on and off for the past twenty five years and always enjoy it. It is very safe, well looked after and has all the amenities for a great vacation. While sitting round the pool I read all the volumes of the Vale do Lobo Living magazine, after all the initial big plans of the new company which took it over in 2008 all of which were quoshed due to the global recession the CEO said they were turning towards a more customer based future. This to me does not seem the case. We visited in October, the majority of the Praca was closed for the season, what was left closed early or opened late. The price of food and drink was so overpriced, the menu's were very uninspiring the service very hit and miss, the people working in the overpriced boutiques and newsagents looked like you had just committed murder when you walked into there shop. i work in the industry and i know what it is like coming to the end of a season, but there are standards to keep up. All in all i wonder what the future holds for Vale do Lobo, a place we once loved, not everyone is a millionaire, there are more and more places of higher quality in Europe at half the price, It's time to reassess what Vale do Lobo has become and where it is going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for your visit to Vale do Lobo, it is great to hear about people who return over many years. While Vale do Lobo does all that it can to maintain luxury standards we are unable to comment on the running and service of the linked operators who have businesses within the resort. We aim to provide the highest possible service to all our guests and appreciate the need to be able to offer competitive prices which we aim to do through our various holiday promotions and packages. Full details of promotions can be found throughout the year on our official website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A 3 night golfing break for my son and my husband plus me as a non golfer. We had a standard appartment which was excellent with a private roof terrace plus jacuzzi and a seperate balcony (it's possible we were upgraded it really was that good). I cannot fault the appartment and with its barbecue facilities built into the roof terrace it would have been possible to self cater.
The golf package came with 2 rounds and this was extended to 3 at a 50% discount. The spa is great and although treatments are expensive they come with use of the sauna, pool etc which would normally cost 25€.
Others have mentioned the discount card when paying cash. There are lots of cash points and so it's well worth doing this.
I wasn't prepared for the vastness of this place. The bus is essential and never took longer than 10 minutes to arrive and usually quicker.
We found staff friendly. Spikes was best for lunch which we always enjoyed as there was a good choice of salads. The Praca has atmosphere but feels manufactured and is too expensive for the pub food on offer.
While I enjoyed the break and would certainly go again the downside was without an expensive taxi ride (or of course a car trip) you are restricted to the Vale do Lobo itself. The packages (golf or spa) are quite good value and it is the cost of food, drinks etc that really bumps up the total cost. 100€ for Dinner for 3 with no wine and only 2 courses for 2 of us in Monty's for what is really pub food wasn't untypical. Your budget needs to take this into account.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay in Vale do Lobo. We pride ourselves on providing a luxury holiday experience for guests, however we are unable to dictate prices charged by businesses operating within the resort. Many of the restaurants and bars within Vale do Lobo have promotional menus available and there is also the option of purchasing food to cook at home from the onsite supermarket. Holiday promotions including the provision of some meals are available from the tourism department, please visit our website for further details and we hope to welcome you back to us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very nice gated community type of golf resort, perfect if you are on vacation with babies and small children. On site supermarket, gym, doctor, golf, pool, tennis, restaurants, pools, spa and much more. The villas are equiped with fully functional kitchen with all appliances and a washing machine, which is very practical if you travel with children. It's like having a five star resort in your own holiday home. The staff is very discrete and professional. Also nice for groups of grown ups. Nice beach and park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbrian
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have probably been a dozen times over the last 20 years and the place itself is clean, safe with a very good beech which has always been one of the main attractions. The Praca has lost some of its attraction, over priced with surley staff seem to have forgotten they are there to look after visitors.

The Tennis club is the exception and work hard to keep everyone happy and are cheerful about it! With an early checkout from our Villa we also found this the ideal plce to spend a day around the pool at minimal cost and good facilities we could use.

So another pleasant holiday in VDL but perhaps its time for teh management to change things a little at the Praca.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, these have been passed on to the tourism department of the resort. We value all feedback from clients in Vale do Lobo and are constantly working to improve customer experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe villa with infinity pool. It was the first time we had been away with our children for a number of years (25 & 23) the apartment was superb all it said in the details well equipped and well positioned. I thought that the villa was fantastically positioned and had all of the amenities that you could need. It was extremely modern and felt like a home away from home. It was close to some wonderful restaurants which catered to everyones taste. We will definitely be returning and couldn't ask for better accommodation and resort to stay in. A 5% discount card is given to all of your party to use in the Praca and such things as crazy golf etc. also a free resort bus which you just call reception to travel. Lots of wonderful golf courses in surrounding area.
We will say we think the Praca needs some better facilities and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your fantastic comments. We are very pleased that you and your family were able to enjoy Vale do Lobo to the full and hope to welcome you back here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vale do Lobo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale do Lobo Resort

Address: Estrada Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-864, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale do Lobo Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vale do Lobo Golf & Beach Resort offers a unique concept in luxury living. 1,500 residential and holiday properties, makes it the largest luxury resort of its kind in Portugal with endless facilities and services in a unique location in the Algarve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Vale do Lobo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Do Lobo Hotel Almancil
Vale Lobo Hotel
Vale Do Lobo Resort Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vale do Lobo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.