We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vale do Lobo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vale do Lobo Resort to your Saves list
Vale do Lobo Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-864, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumbrian
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“As always, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We will have been to VDL 12 times over the last 20 years staying at various places. We like it because it is of an excellent standard and is safe and private. The Praca is good although eating there is expensive for what you are getting! We generall head outside the area to some very good local retaurants towards Almancil and then go back and sit at the pancake place and listen to the live music. The beech is fine with plenty of space to lounge.

The last few times we have been we ave seen roadworks around the resort which seems to get completed very slowly. This year they had also just installed parking fee machines near the waterfront which seems a bit of a rip off.

A good palce to go if you are not on too much of a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Have been to Vale do Lobo year after year and always have lots of fun and relaxation!
Great place for all ages to enjoy - the golf courses are v.good, Barringtons also has a driving range.
The Spa at the Golf club is a must! just go and try it! v.relaxing
If you fancy splashing out on a very nice meal try the Alambique it will not disappoint! Equally the pizzeria in Quinta shopping is perfect for a pizza and beer
We rented Villa 910 - it was perfect, 3 lovely size bedrooms, great pool, just across the road from the tennis center and 10 min walk to the beach - would def recommend it. Its got AC throughout even marble floors. The plunge pool and BBQ made for some great nights in.
All in all would def recommend VDL and villa 910

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Had another fantastic week at the Vale Do Lobo, have been several times over the last few years and yes there has been alot of building work but alot is now finished. We went in september this time (usually go May/June) but what we have noticed over the last couple of years is even out of season has become quite busy which is good as it means more of the resort facilities are open.
I love the VDL as it seems to have something for everyone, the main pool is lovely, the grounds well maintained and staff are very friendly.
If you go I would advise you hire a car and get out and see some of the Algarve as it is beautiful.
Looking forward to next year...........

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We've stayed in a private Villa (without a pool but very near the beach) in Vale do Lobo every summer for the last 3 years now, and have been generally really happy with the place - so it seems churlish perhaps to only mention the negative bits...but these might be a bit more useful than just saying how nice it all is...
Our Villa's owners are not Members of the VdL Resort any more due to their steep charges. This means that, amongst other things, if we want to use the outdoor pool complex, we have to pay "outsiders" rates, which are extortionate - last year (2007)) from memory it was £9 each / day (even if you only go for the last couple of hours there's no concession). There is a week pass available, but it's not much cheaper unless you go in every day. Our owners belong to the Barringtons Club instead, which is very good indeed, but unfortunately not within walking distance.
The Supermarket at the top of the resort is the only place on site where you can buy supplies, and again, whilst very good is quite pricey - and again, too far to walk from 80% of the properties.
The beach used to be completely open and free, but in 2006/07 the main Hotel annexed a large part of it for their exclusive (for residents) / expensive (for others) loungers & parasols. If you try and put up your own parasol anywhere nearby a nice young man will come and tell you off.

But all - in - all, it's a really nice resort.

Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We booked the apartment as a cheap holiday for half term and were happy with the size and cleanliness of it. There appear to be a vast range of different styles of apartments and investigation of its exact position is worth while. Ours whilst having a small plunge pool had no view whatsover, which tended to make us go out rather than relax at home.
We found the whole set up rather fake and to some extent filled with the type of Britains that I would usually try and avoid. Vale do Lobo is not for anybody who wants to experience local culture. We did though enjoy eating out and the quailty of food and service was good throughout. We would particularly recommend Xenia's restaurant which we used twice.
I played golf twice and found the Reception at Dunas Douradas very useful with good discounts at some courses.
Overall whilst it provided a clean safe environment the whole experience was rather sterile and I am not sure that we would return.

  • Liked — Clean and safe
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Fantastic place. We stayed in a luxury vill on the golf course. The pool was enormous as was the gated garden. We have a maid to clean every day and a pool man came every other day. We were able to eat in the garden as it had a a fantastic barbeque. The only down thing was the pool was not heated and a little too cold for us on most days.

Stayed May 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

I think this resort is perfect for everyone. I have been with my family and with an all girls party and it works for both.
The praca which is an area of cafes, restaurants and 2 or so shops. The restaurants are mostly with sea views and are stunning. The food is amazing in all, I recommend Sandbanks and La Place.
This is a golfing and tennis resort but if you like good food, safe areas for children and lovely beaches then this is for you. I think it is well worth the money.
Well done Vale Do Lobo.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vale do Lobo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale do Lobo Resort

Address: Estrada Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-864, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale do Lobo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vale do Lobo Golf & Beach Resort offers a unique concept in luxury living. 1,500 residential and holiday properties, makes it the largest luxury resort of its kind in Portugal with endless facilities and services in a unique location in the Algarve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vale do Lobo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Do Lobo Hotel Almancil
Vale Lobo Hotel
Vale Do Lobo Resort Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vale do Lobo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.