We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost in Quinta do Lago, Vale do Lobo or Vilamoura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Ancao | Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, Almancil 8135-172, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Sintra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost in Quinta do Lago, Vale do Lobo or Vilamoura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Apartment Hotel are exceptional to be close of the leading resorts at Algarve.
Near marvelous beaches Ancão or Garrão you can enjoy the sun and sea with high quality.
About 15 minutes by car form Faro Airport.
The quality of the apartments are quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for swimming pool view 1st or 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for four nights in one of the ground floor apartments. Overall we thought the rooms were clean and well maintained. Our only grumble would be the extremely uncomfortable sofa bed - never slept on something quite so uncomfortable! Trying to fold it away again in the morning was pretty tricky too! The pool area was usually very busy - lots of children in both pools.
We thought the breakfast selection was excellent each morning - definitely one of the best breakfast buffets that we've ever had in this type of hotel. Strangely thought that all the hot food all tasted a bit fishy, which happened on the two occasions I tried them.

Overall liked the hotel, thought it was a little expensive considering it's location as there is nothing nearby to see or walk to, but would definitely recommed and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a two bedroom apartment.
Everything in the hotel was clean and well run. The buffet breakfast had fresh fruit, ham, cheese, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausages, choice of breads plus juice and coffee or tea.
It does not pretend to be 4 star or offer a choice of restaurants. What it does do very well is give great value for money in a clean and well run apartment hotel. It is quiet, has a great swimming pool, its near the beach and within 5 minutes drive of numerous beach restaurants, shops and golf. You need to have a car or bicycles.
Good for adults, good for kids, good for golfers and as I say its great value for money. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Firstly be clear that this is the Formosa Park aparthotel - not to be confused with the Ria Park or the Ria Park Garden hotel both of which are nearby. The pictures should be different on TA.

The rooms are very spacious (the 2-bed apartment is enormous) and include a kitchen with microwave and fridge freezer if you prefer to self cater. The restaurant food is excellent and plentiful, the pool is excellent (and there is a separate 'kiddy' pool), you can walk about 800 yards downhill to the beach at Dos Pasos and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast selection was good with fruit, pastries, bread, toast, cheese, ham, salami, yogurts, cereals, eggs (scrambled & fried), sausages & bacon (the foreign variety which I don't care for), mushrooms and tomatoes.

It is well used by groups of golfers who are usually out on the course through the day and usually out in Vilamoura or Vale do Lobo/Qunita in the evening. Occasionally we heard some noise from the outside bar area in the late evening but as Euro 2012 was showing that is hardly surprising! The bar closes at midnight which wqas plenty late enough for us but there is little or nothing to do in the hotel so use it as a good value base to visit the many restaurants and bars in and around Quinta, Vale do Lobo, Vilamoura and Almancil.

Taxi fare from Faro airport to the hotel was €38 but a Focus estate car from Avis was £140 for 4 days. Usually when we got a cab to the Praca at Vale do Lobo it was about €15 each way. We have been coming to the Quinta area for 10 years now and stayed in flats, mansions,
5-star hotels and others and this does not disappoint, as long as you accept it is a cab/car ride from anywhere except the beach.

The 2-bed B&B apartment rack rate is €170 per night but I am sure we paid a bit less - the balcony is huge if skinny and stretches across the living room, kitchen and 1 bedroom. Bathrooms were large - WC+ bidet+ sink+ bath with overhead shower. All was very clean and everything worked. Like I say - hard to fault and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would have no worries about returning and I think it is excellent value.

Room Tip: All 1-bed apts are ground floor, 2-beds are higher but 3rd floor is as high as it goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was overall a very nice hotel to stay at. We caught the last week before the peak season started so had the pool virtually to ourselves. The apartment was clean and spacious and the general atmosphere very good indeed. Just one word of warning *** DONT LET THE HOTEL BOOK YOUR TAXIS, USE THE NUMBER WHICH FOLLOWS ***. When we arrived we got a standard no frills cab from Faro railway station to the hotel which cost 17 euros, however when we asked the hotel to order us a taxi back a posh car turned up (from a private firm used by the hotel) and tried to charge us 34 euros. FYI a good general taxi firm is Rotaxi (Faro 289 895 795). You'll see then all over Faro. A standard fare should cost no more than 20 euros from Faro airport or railway to the hotel.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms may sound nice but can be a bit noisy and not as private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights - 2 bed apartment on HB. The rooms were brilliant - excellent size and facilities.

The breakfast buffet choice was OK but we were bored after a couple of days. There is no chef to cook to order. Dinner was not buffet but the choice was reasonable and they had a separate children's menu and made a special additional meal each day for the vegetarian in our party.

The beach was close by but it was a 10 mins walk down a steep, rough path to get there. Getting back with young kids and grandparents was not good!

There are no shops, supermarkets, restaurants or cafes anyway nearby. Unless you are happy with just a beach/pool holiday and are All Inclusive or Half Board, you must hire a car. Return taxi fares to the nearest supermarket (5 mins away) costs 24 Euros return each time.

Most staff were excellent but not all. One or two were unhelpful.

There is a decent size play area tucked away on one side of the hotel which the kids loved. There is also a good sized children's pool as well.

The kids club is not at the hotel. It is at a kids play area about 15 mins drive away, You have to book it 24 hours beforehand and the hotel organises a shuttle for the kids/parents. The club was excellent but availability is not guaranteed. One day, the club had a kids party booked and so no children from our hotel could use it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

When my wife And I turned up to the restaurant to have our last dinner together before I flew back to Australia to be apart from her for 6 months the restaurant manager said
" you cannot dine here"
I replied with " I beg your pardon?"
He said " you cannot dine here, no shorts allowed"
I looked around the restaurant and there was one couple with a very young child and another elderly couple in the corner, it was a Monday night.
When I advised him I was staying in the hotel so could easily return to my room and put on a pair of long pants, however was that really necessary? He replied you must come back wearing suit pants and dress shoes or you cannot eat here.
I advised I would comply with his wishes despite having eaten breakfast and lunch wearing the same clothes I had on for the last 2 days in the same restaurant and he was the first person to mention a dress code, I also advised this "dress code" was not detailed in writing anywhere in the literature of the hotel or in the restaurant.
My wife took a seat and waited for me to change and return, when I came back she was visibly in tears.
Then this insensitive fool came straight up to us while I was trying to console my wife and interrupted us saying " are you ready to order yet?"
We both got up, without saying a word walked to reception and ordered a taxi (€15 each way) to a restaurant in Dunas Douradis
This man's attitude to paying guests of his hotel was disgusting and he should be ashamed of himself

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments

Address: Praia de Ancao | Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, Almancil 8135-172, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#6 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosa Park Hotel And Apartments
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments Portugal/Algarve - Almancil
Formosa Park Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.