We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet hotel, very well situated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ria Park Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ria Park Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Ria Park Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet hotel, very well situated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ria Park Garden Hotel for a short break in August, just for a few days. Found the hotel quiet and relaxing, but only a few minutes walk (Or shuttle bus ride) from the beach.
As our stay was a short one we spent most of our time down at the beach and only ate breakfast at the hotel before immediately departing to the beach; the breakfast provided was absolutely exemplary, and left us full until evening (Although we did have a light lunch at a Restraunt on the beach known as 'Izzie's', where the food was also outstanding!)
The rest of our holiday was spent in a similar manner, catching the shuttle bus back up to the hotel at around 18:40, and relaxing there for the rest of the evening.
Finally, we stayed in a 'junior suit', which contained a double bed and two twin beds, with a small lounge area and a balcony overlooking the two swimming pools.
To conclude, the hotel was tidy, quiet, in a perfect location in relation to the beach, and the staff were always helpful - can't compliment them enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel has nice rooms (we had a family room), pool is quite nice but unfortunately no view of sea (and is middle of quite deserted holdiay area). Food was very average - very mediocre buffet at night. Beach is lovely, only 5 minute shuttle, but as wehave small kids we had to have lunch at the hotel pool bar. This is the major gripe of our stay - £5 a beer, £10 for a very average and ham and cheese sandwich. Simple lunch for 2 adults and 2 kids came to over £50 every day and as there wasn't another option we ended up feeling ripped off by the hotel (and Mark Warner). The hotel staff were quite rude too. A couple of nice waiters but on the whole they weren't particularly helpful and often a bit moody. We have holidayed with Mark Warner in 4 different resorts so we know how good they can be when they get it right. We won't be returning here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

friendly staff, average food and rooms but short walk to great beach
drinks outrageously expensive - £5 a beer and £8 a g&t
all a bit run down and will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Put in this hotel while waiting flights as partner had had operation. Had to ask for room service, still waiting for breakfast in spite of paying full price! I suspect snobbish staff are waiting for tips! No ATM for miles so you need a car.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at the Ria park at the end of a villa holiday. We booked a seaview room and when we arrived the seaview room was if you went outside on to the balcony and looked around the corner!! All seaviews are like this so really don't bother with it - the rooms all over look the hills!

The bathroom was nice but the room was dated - but clean and fine for a few nights!

The hotel is quite tired and could do with new furniture, but the staff are all so friendly and willing to help. It is 800m from the beach and they have a shuttle bus which takes you down there - again they were willing to pick us up after hours which was really kind of them.

Breakfast was good and the barman made a delicious hot chocolate - other than that we ate down by the beach - don't bother with Xenias restaurant opposite (not part of hotel) as food isn't good, but Julias and Izzys were both divine!

When we stayed here the hotel was only a third full and it really felt like an empty cruise ship - I wouldn't stay here again but that is mainly because it is totally not my type of hotel - I like small boutiquey hotels and booked here on a last minute deal!

Also there isn't really a spa - its a room with an empty jacuzzi and the swimming pool was absolutely freezing - i am pregnant so didn't go in as it was that cold!!! They could really do with heating it if only to take the edge off..

I have put i would recommend but thats because it wasn't awful it just needs to attention and it is really close to the beach!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I great hotel but a bit far out, staff were friendly and views from the rooms were great.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

i think that ria park was beautiful but the room service was awful they never came on time the shuttle bus as brill but not very promt we to went on b&b and breakfast was always the same and slightly cold with non optional hairs! On the whole a lovely place good sun spots lovely beach and gr8 pool if you have a map id say use it as dinner at the hotel was a bit overpriced and not as good ,as it was the most expensive meal and we wet were there for 2 weeks lovely reastrants round like julias beach bar gr8 fish entertainment by the beach with sunset id also like to mention i am 11 and i enjoyed it greatly! (it helps to hire a car ) go to zoomarine and aqua land their gr8 too!!!!

  • Liked — the lovely scenery
  • Disliked — the standred of the camp beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ria Park Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Garden Hotel

Address: Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#9 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ria Park Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Ria Park Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Garden Almancil
Ria Park Garden Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ria Park Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.